We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience Not To Be Missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattlemen's

Cattlemen's
250 Dorset Ct, Dixon, CA 95620-9217
(707) 678-5518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Dixon
Price range: $12 - $50
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An Experience Not To Be Missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Several friends recommended Cattlemen's in Dixon. We planned our trip to include a stop here for dinner, Made a reservation (thankfully) and arrived 15 minutes early. I have rarely seen so many people in a restaurant which is this large. Being early we found a table in the bar with our pager. Ordered a drink and appetizer. Pager went off exactly at our reservation time, and we were escorted to a booth. There are staff everywhere and all are well trained and pleasant. We had Glen as our server, very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant while not being overbearing. Checked back on us often. My wife had the steak and Alaska King Crab which was delicious.
I enjoyed the 14 oz Rib Eye, again very delicious. Salad was fresh and crisp. Baked beans were tasty. We will definitely visit Cattlemen's again and will probably plan our trip south to again visit this restaurant. Cannot say too much about the efficiency and pleasantness of the staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Cattlemen's restaurant in Dixon California is by far the best and friendliest steak house we have ever eaten at. From the minute you walk in they make you feel like one of the family. Their management and staff are really second to none, then, if that was not enough, their extensive menu is full of the finest meals you will find anywhere. They keep it interesting with nightly specials during the week and we especially live Wednesday nights when you can get a $10 sirloin steak meal with all the fixings and 1/2 price bottles of wine. They also have a lighter bar menu that is full of delicious food items at cheap prices. We love it there and spend a lot of time enjoying the place! Give it a try!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food and Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I decided to go out to dinner for date night. We desired to have a good quality steak dinner. I took a look at the reviews for several steakhouses in the area, and decided to stay in town and enjoy Cattlemens. We have eaten there on previous occasions and always enjoyed it.

I made reservations for the two of us for 7:00pm on a Saturday night. Upon arrival the place was packed. We checked in at the desk and were told it would be about a ten minute wait. After 15-20 minutes we were seated. I have never found their booths to be all that comfortable, but I am there for the food...

Our server was a nice young gal. She greeted us within a couple minutes. We both decided on the T-Bone steak. I usually go for the ribeye steak when dining out, but wanted something different this time. The bread and salad arrived very quickly. As it is an all you can eat salad, i enjoyed two servings and my wife had one.

Dinner arrived within a short while. The steak definitely filled up our plates. My baked potato was good, and my steak was cooked just right (medium-rare). My wife's steak was about the same, although she ordered her's rare. Dinner comes with a bowl of beans. We always enjoy their baked beans. We both ate about 1/2 of our meals and were nice and full. Our server brought us some to-go containers and a bag.

She delivered the check fairly quickly, but we did have to wait for her to return to pickup our payment. All in all we were out within one hour. The service was good. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was rustic and nice.

As I previously stated, we have enjoyed Cattlemen's in the past, and this visit was just as good, if not better. We recommend this place for a good steak dinner.

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Junction, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“cowboy cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

It's a steakhouse. Big menu for carnivores. Fun busy ranch decor. Great service. Excellent steaks, stiff drinks.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Celebration of 'New Life' and Good Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We Come To Cattlemen's For 'Big' Events, Like Birthdays and Other Milestones. On This Day (Sat. March 1st, 2014) We Were Celebrating My Good Friend John's 83 Year Old Father 'Richard' Who Just Got Released From Sutter Medical Center In Sacramento Following Open Heart Surgery. He Recovered So Quickly, I Was Amazed!!! So We Celebrated By Eating 'Hearty' Steaks. (I Had The 6oz Filet Mignon with Fries) and That Famous San Francisco Sourdough Bread ('Best In The West' IMO). Bummer They No Longer Have The "Beefy Wings" As They've Revamped Their Menu, but The "HOT" Buffalo Wings Was Great. Overall, We Had A Grand Ol' Time. FIVE CLAWS UP!!!!! Thanks, Cattlemen's In Dixon. Joe "The Bear" from near L.A., CA (I'm Visiting Rio Vista, CA - Where My Friends Live and Where I'm Typing This Review)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattlemen's also viewed

 

Been to Cattlemen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattlemen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.