We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz - but good at what it does” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miracle Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Miracle Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10625 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Pghoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz - but good at what it does”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the 4th time we have visited Miracle Springs Resort and Spa in Desert Hot Springs, CA. It is an older motel, and not very upscale in comparison with some of the newer resorts; but it has something special to offer, and it does that very well indeed. The charm is in the hot springs, and the way that this place manages its prime feature. There are two natural aquifers beneath Desert Hot Springs. One has hot water - 134 degrees Farenhiet, while the other is a cold water source. The hotel has one large pool and six smaller, spa like pools holding from two or three to perhaps ten people. By varying the hot/cold input, the temperature in each pool is set at a different level from the others; ranging from quite hot, to pleasantly tepid in the large pool. If you move back and forth between pools, you get the greatest benefit. Both my wife and I love this place for its hot springs. There is no aroma, and you feel very relaxed and luxuriously treated by the water.
We strongly recommend asking for one of the rooms facing the pool area on the ground floor. Rooms 101 through 119 on the north wing (odd number only) are expecially nice since you can walk directly out through a small patio into the pool area. There may be some similiar rooms on the west wing ground floor also. You should make your preference clear when reserving rooms. I expect it is easier to get what you want if you book a few months in advance, and avoid weekends. The entire Palm Springs general area is very quiet from May through September, since it is one of the hottest places in the United States (or the world for that matter), so staying here in that stretch of time is not such a grand idea. But things get a lot busier in the winter.
The hotel has a restaurant, the Capri. We did not eat here on this trip (see our review of the Trio Restaurant); but we have done so in the past, and it was quite good. Desk service is a little slow, but friendly, and maps of the area are provided. One has to ask for pool towels at the front desk, and they are just adequate, so if you have room to pack your own beach towels, that might be a good idea. It is a bit of a drive into Palm Springs proper, and the rush hour should be avoided; although the speed limits on local streets are fairly high, but should be followed since enforcement is evident.
This is a rather social establishment, since guests are sitting very near each other in small pools, so be prepared for converstaions with strangers. But as noted, this place offers a unique feature, and if you like hot spring pools, Miracle Springs is a great place.

Room Tip: Book a room on the ground floor that leads directly out to the hot pool area. Odd numbers between 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    185
    85
    56
    69
See reviews for
122
185
42
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was there for Chrismas. And it was obvious that the hotel was understaffed.
But when you pay a premium BECAUSE it's Chrismas, there's a problem: price up, service down.
The result: glass bootle, empty cup and dirty towels in the pool area. And don't make me start on the restaurant.
Regarding pools, you have to check each one to find the good temperature for you and that can change during the day.

Good: - clean room

Bad: - dirty pool area
- no idea of the temperature of pools

Overall, it's was ok and it's familly friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your balanced review. Keeping the pool area pristine is a tough challenge, especially during periods of high volume, and we obviously failed in your estimation. I am passing your valuable suggestion of listing the pool temperatures to front office. Perhaps we can add them to our next run of property maps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Mountains
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the end of Nov. 2012. This place needs some serious maintenance. Very outdated, dirty, dilapidated rooms. We had bugs on the ceiling and walls, the pink tile in the bathroom was missing all it's grout (how do you clean THAT between guests?), the bathroom fan was so loud that the people above were complaining, the room floor had ripples that crunched when you walked across the room. We were supposed to have wine and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in the room, but I had to go to the desk and remind them (because the phone didn't work) . The pools are old and also in need of resurfacing, a lot of tile and concrete missing. The hallways have the worst paint-wallpaper-carpet, the elevators have missing paneling inside, and the stairwell smelled of skunk...

The best part was the amazing massage from a tiny Hispanic woman, I am so sorry I forgot her name, starts with a "C"...SHE is BRILLIANT! Give her a raise now for enduring this cesspool of a hotel...if you can call it a hotel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
It's hard to respond to such a scathing review without making excuses. We are a family owned and run hotel and care deeply about our customers' satisfaction, which is our #1 priority. I must add that our rates are very resonable, and refer you to the ratio of good to bad ones.

BTW: We greatly appreciated the shout out to the Massage Therapist whose name starts with "C," and I'm tracking her down for special commendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Miracle Springs Hotel and Spa went above and beyond to take care of my entire crew. We were in town for a movie shoot and stayed in two villas part of the resort. We had access to the beautiful amenities of the resort. We had an amazing view of the mountains and the town. The service from the resort staff was outstanding from top to bottom. Special mention to Bonnie, Ross, Stanley, Crystal.

Chef Tyrone Love is the reason we never wanted to leave! Chef Tyrone Love and his team (Ellen, Chris, Diana, Deb et al) spoiled us from check in to check out. Every meal was special and always with "love." When I look back on my time in DHS I will remember the food and the special attention to detail that Chef Tyrone Love gave to the vegetarians and gluten-free members of my crew.

Room Tip: Groups with more than five should rent a villa instead of five rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We go for the pools. They are free and nice. Last year was during Easter break, which made everything worse. The food service was rated a one and there was no bar service. We had reservations for massages. My friends were finished with massages and I was still waiting. My masseuse went home and they were trubg to find a sub. The whole place needed a power washing. I asked that the manager call me, but never heard again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am forwarding this directly to the Spa Manager, and it will also be discussed at our monthly company meeting. Customer service is, and must remain, our #1 priority. Thank you again for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the last week of December. There were 2 rooms we stayed in. One room had ants coming out of the toilet bowl. The other room the toilet wouldn't flush. We called the maintenance and told us not to flush toilet paper down the toilet and to leave the toilet paper in the trash after we used it. It was disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for writing. This is totally unacceptable, right up to the advice not to flush paper. i'm forwarding this to all relevant department heads, especially housekeeping and maintenance. Our apologies, and again, thank you for the heads up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went for a combination package - massage, pedicure and facial. Although the massage and facial themselves were reasonable the facility, ammenities and staff interactions were seriously below par. I waited around for 20 minutes before anyone even came to the reception desk. The change room was horribly dated and had what seemed to be old high school lockers...which went with the 80's interior. When I sat in the "waiting area" it seemed that the staff were more interested in chatting and gossiping than acknowledging their clients. It was a strange vibe. As I say, the massage itself was fine and the facial was as well. The pedicure was terrible as the foot bath station was so loud you couldn't even hear someone speak. I spent much of my time watching HUGE bug crawl around and the staff just said that they must need to spray again. Yikes! I would not recommend this spa to anyone. The advertising and photos are very deceptive. The photos definitely aren't from THIS spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The situation you described is just as unacceptable to us as it is to you. I am forwarding your review to the department head and this will be discussed at our next companywide meeting. Thank you for alerting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miracle Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miracle Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 10625 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miracle Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miracle Springs Resort & Spa presents an array of elegant spa therapies and beauty treatments in a relaxing hot springs resort environment with spectacular mountain views and miraculous healing waters. 110 large rooms and suites surround a lushly landscaped acre of 8 natural hot mineral water pools and Jacuzzis open 24 hours. Poolside and mini-suite rooms have private patios with easy access to the pools. Balconied rooms overlook the pool courtyard and mountain view rooms enjoy a spectacular view of the San Jacintos. 4 Vacation Villas are fully furnished 3-bedroom homes adjacent to the resort with easy access to all hotel services. Enjoy fine indoor & outdoor dining at The Capri Restaurant & Bar. Miracle Springs Resort & Spa is the perfect weekend escape from LA or a gorgeous venue for your wedding, corporate event or banquet, or group retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Miracle Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miracle Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Miracle Springs Desert Hot
Miracle Springs Resort And Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.