We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YIKES!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miracle Springs Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Miracle Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10625 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
California Mountains
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“YIKES!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the end of Nov. 2012. This place needs some serious maintenance. Very outdated, dirty, dilapidated rooms. We had bugs on the ceiling and walls, the pink tile in the bathroom was missing all it's grout (how do you clean THAT between guests?), the bathroom fan was so loud that the people above were complaining, the room floor had ripples that crunched when you walked across the room. We were supposed to have wine and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in the room, but I had to go to the desk and remind them (because the phone didn't work) . The pools are old and also in need of resurfacing, a lot of tile and concrete missing. The hallways have the worst paint-wallpaper-carpet, the elevators have missing paneling inside, and the stairwell smelled of skunk...

The best part was the amazing massage from a tiny Hispanic woman, I am so sorry I forgot her name, starts with a "C"...SHE is BRILLIANT! Give her a raise now for enduring this cesspool of a hotel...if you can call it a hotel...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
It's hard to respond to such a scathing review without making excuses. We are a family owned and run hotel and care deeply about our customers' satisfaction, which is our #1 priority. I must add that our rates are very resonable, and refer you to the ratio of good to bad ones.

BTW: We greatly appreciated the shout out to the Massage Therapist whose name starts with "C," and I'm tracking her down for special commendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    182
    82
    55
    68
See reviews for
119
180
42
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Miracle Springs Hotel and Spa went above and beyond to take care of my entire crew. We were in town for a movie shoot and stayed in two villas part of the resort. We had access to the beautiful amenities of the resort. We had an amazing view of the mountains and the town. The service from the resort staff was outstanding from top to bottom. Special mention to Bonnie, Ross, Stanley, Crystal.

Chef Tyrone Love is the reason we never wanted to leave! Chef Tyrone Love and his team (Ellen, Chris, Diana, Deb et al) spoiled us from check in to check out. Every meal was special and always with "love." When I look back on my time in DHS I will remember the food and the special attention to detail that Chef Tyrone Love gave to the vegetarians and gluten-free members of my crew.

Room Tip: Groups with more than five should rent a villa instead of five rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We go for the pools. They are free and nice. Last year was during Easter break, which made everything worse. The food service was rated a one and there was no bar service. We had reservations for massages. My friends were finished with massages and I was still waiting. My masseuse went home and they were trubg to find a sub. The whole place needed a power washing. I asked that the manager call me, but never heard again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am forwarding this directly to the Spa Manager, and it will also be discussed at our monthly company meeting. Customer service is, and must remain, our #1 priority. Thank you again for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in the last week of December. There were 2 rooms we stayed in. One room had ants coming out of the toilet bowl. The other room the toilet wouldn't flush. We called the maintenance and told us not to flush toilet paper down the toilet and to leave the toilet paper in the trash after we used it. It was disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for writing. This is totally unacceptable, right up to the advice not to flush paper. i'm forwarding this to all relevant department heads, especially housekeeping and maintenance. Our apologies, and again, thank you for the heads up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went for a combination package - massage, pedicure and facial. Although the massage and facial themselves were reasonable the facility, ammenities and staff interactions were seriously below par. I waited around for 20 minutes before anyone even came to the reception desk. The change room was horribly dated and had what seemed to be old high school lockers...which went with the 80's interior. When I sat in the "waiting area" it seemed that the staff were more interested in chatting and gossiping than acknowledging their clients. It was a strange vibe. As I say, the massage itself was fine and the facial was as well. The pedicure was terrible as the foot bath station was so loud you couldn't even hear someone speak. I spent much of my time watching HUGE bug crawl around and the staff just said that they must need to spray again. Yikes! I would not recommend this spa to anyone. The advertising and photos are very deceptive. The photos definitely aren't from THIS spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
The situation you described is just as unacceptable to us as it is to you. I am forwarding your review to the department head and this will be discussed at our next companywide meeting. Thank you for alerting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best thing about this location is the 24 hour access to the Mineral Springs Hot Spas. The acomodations are below par; the Spa Services better than average, but not fabulous. The rates are reasonable. The restaurant serves homemade Italian dishes with large portions. However, a more Spa oriented menu would be preferred.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Mountian View or Pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

No, this is not a fancy boutique spa, but neither are the prices. The rooms are a bit shabby but very clean. We came for the waters, and there were plenty of hot springs at different temperatures. Most importantly to me, the guests were all well behaved and quiet - this is a family-oriented, adult place, not a party spa. The desk receptionists were very friendly and accommodating (we needed to change our room). Breakfast was hearty and quite satisfactory. My dinner companion loved her lasagne but I did not like the pasta primavera. If you want a quiet place to enjoy the waters and not pay a fortune, this is it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miracle Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miracle Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 10625 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miracle Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miracle Springs Resort & Spa presents an array of elegant spa therapies and beauty treatments in a relaxing hot springs resort environment with spectacular mountain views and miraculous healing waters. 110 large rooms and suites surround a lushly landscaped acre of 8 natural hot mineral water pools and Jacuzzis open 24 hours. Poolside and mini-suite rooms have private patios with easy access to the pools. Balconied rooms overlook the pool courtyard and mountain view rooms enjoy a spectacular view of the San Jacintos. 4 Vacation Villas are fully furnished 3-bedroom homes adjacent to the resort with easy access to all hotel services. Enjoy fine indoor & outdoor dining at The Capri Restaurant & Bar. Miracle Springs Resort & Spa is the perfect weekend escape from LA or a gorgeous venue for your wedding, corporate event or banquet, or group retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Miracle Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miracle Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Miracle Springs Desert Hot
Miracle Springs Resort And Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miracle Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.