We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a trip with the girlfriend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Mountain Inn Resort to your Saves list
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
3.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   66540 San Marcus Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
Government Employee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a trip with the girlfriend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Very unique resort. It is very intimate and cozy.

The girlfriend and i have been to several nude beaches before and this was very similar but better in many ways.

It was the end of winter when we were looking to get some warmth and sun and this place popped up in the search engine.

Pros:
-Hot Tub, Pool, Dry Sauna. Not the largest but very nice!
-Pack light. You don't need much here. Wake up, slip into your flip flops, and you are good for the day!!
-You and your significant other can be intimate anywhere you want.
-Mineral water....ok..i don't know if i felt any different... I will say i definitely did not smell like chlorine when i got out of the pool or hot tub. I spent many hours in each over the brief period of time i was there.
-the pool was very warm, almost like a bath. Yet, it was refreshing.
-The bed is SOOOO COMFORTABLE.
-Complimentary margaritas (VERY GOOD!!!), occasional shots, coke, diet coke, water.
-Great weather. Among the warmest climate in the US (during the winter months at least.)
-complimentary breakfast
-complimentary lunch
-Party on Friday and Saturday nights... maybe even other nights???? Ladies bring your sexiest clothes
-My girlfriend appreciated the lifestyle and appreciated that nobody was trying to push you into anything you don't want to do.
-Very nice hosts and guests. Everyone was such a pleasure to talk to. We enjoyed it even though, generally, we tend to keep to ourselves.
-The music is fantastic. I really feel everyone could enjoy everything that was playing. It starts playing in the late morning and doesn't stop all day. Played at the perfect sound level. Not too loud and not too soft.


CONS:
-complimentary breakfast but limited selection. Nothing hot but the coffee.
-complimentary lunch but it was Fried Chicken and potato or macaroni salad both days that we were there.
-Dinner- They either order out for you with all sorts of surcharges or you go off property. Its tempting to stay so you don't have to get dressed. If you do go out, if you stay in Desert Palm Springs don't dress too nice. Mostly small very informal restaurants. Palm Springs has a much better variety of food. You can dress up a bit for down there.
-Pro or Con...Music can be quite loud during Friday and Saturday night so you may have some noise... great to party by. Bad if you want to get to sleep early.
-Pool is a little small. Space tends to be a bit of a premium. Get out of bed early and claim your lounge chairs.
-Rooms are a little pricey.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    50
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
2
291
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

What can we say that hasn't already been said about this unique resort? Dewey and his "girls" have created an ambiance that has not been duplicated, although we wish he would duplicate it on the East Coast! We spent an unforgettable weekend immersed in a sensual overload with a healthy dose of fun tossed in! Dewey is the master at reading his clients' moods and his entire staff manage to blend in with the crowd while retaining their professional demeanor throughout the day and night! The music mix was outstanding and the drinks were plentiful, but the real star of this resort are the rooms, which are definitely 5 star! We can't wait to return, over and over again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Greetings from Rhode Island! Yes, we traveled all the way across the country to experience this truly unique resort to celebrate my girlfriend's 40th birthday and we can't wait to plan our return visit. We only wish it was closer and we're envious of the left-coasters who can take the easy ride out to Sea Mountain Inn for the day, night or weekend anytime they feel like it.

The resort itself is tucked safely away in a residential neighborhood off the main drag in Desert Hot Springs. It's not much to look at from the outside but once you're escorted inside through the security door you quickly realize that you've made a GREAT decision to come here. Our room (#3) was fantastic -- spacious, clean, great shower, AWESOME bed, mini-fridge, LCD TV and DVD player, etc.

Dewey, the owner and resident mac-daddy, gives each set of guests the grand tour of the facility -- which seems 3 times larger on the inside than it looks like on the outside. There's a zen-like feeling to this place and the incredible music mix keeps everyone in the right state of mind.

We really loved everything about this hidden oasis. Everything was super-clean, the pool and hot tub were at just the right temperatures around the clock, the people were all fun, sexy and interesting, and we even loved the free breakfasts and lunches each day! Free tasty margaritas are served 'round the clock by Dewey's able (and topless) assistants. And Dewey himself does the honors of pouring various concoctions of fruity shots down your throat, or on your chest, or in your lap... You get the idea! He and his staff clearly take great care to make sure everyone has a fun and memorable time at SMI.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernCalifornia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Ten minutes into our first trip here two weeks ago, we were already booking a return stay for Valentines weekend. You must stay here...it will put a smile on your face that lasts for days. The top-notch staff here could not be more professional or more helpful. They make this delicious place a joy to come back to. This wonderful paradise is clean, stylish and first-class...all the way. No need to bring anything with you except SPF 50. Allow yourselves to have the time of your lives!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

A FANTASTIC PLACE WHERE ADULTS CAN FEEL SAFE TO PLAY! The grounds are clean, lush with plants and palm trees, comfortable lounge chairs abound surrounding the pool. Steps away, a dining room is always stocked with snacks, fruit & drinks. You don't want for anything here! Free of clothing and inhibition in a beautiful environment decorated as if you were in Bali. The ambiance is safe and inviting, allowing you to relax, be naughty and passionate….the most amazing feeling. You must spend some "quality" time in the disco!! The music and sound system rocks….I feel like we found nirvana! It is a jewel in its uniqueness. The fantastic staff and host, Dewey, take trips around to check on how everyone is doing, always serving shots of delicious spirits!!! I felt like I was at a friend’s house with so many wonderful sights. I promise you will NEVER be bored here. And by the way, we can't wait to go back! THANK YOU DEWEY.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

if you come mid-week (as we did) you risk being the only ones there (as we were.) having read all the previous reviews i knew what to expect in terms of the quality of the rooms and the food, but didn't expect that the place would be completely empty on a wednesday.

let's get real: there are many far nicer places in Desert Hot Springs and surrounding areas to spend over $200 a night on a private, romantic retreat. as it was our first visit, i can assume the real reason to stay here would be the fun / sexy / romantic crowd to interact with... in short, our very expensive one-night stay here was, well, disappointing.

when we arrived, maintenance crews were cleaning up the pool and appeared to be renovating a room off the spa (where we headed first.) it irked me that the staff member who checked us in told us that there were currently other people at the resort but that they'd gone shopping (we didn't ask) when a later staff member told us that we were the only reservation for the day/night. it's not clear to me why she just made up the story. to note, however, they were both very nice.

we called and booked our stay last minute, and i feel it would have been nice of someone to tell us we've have the place to ourselves. clearly it's not the hotel's fault if they're under-booked, but i wouldn't have refused a consolation prize of a free day-pass to come back at a busier time. for us, we'd have been much better off spending (what is a whole lot of money for us) on a luxury room at a spa, or at a private retreat with a hot tub out in joshua tree (of which there are many)

hope to come back, once we've saved up again, and see a different scene on the weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seamountaininn1, owner at Sea Mountain Inn Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
We are sorry the guests were there On a day used for maintaining the spa resort. At $200 they were also give a special $100 discount and an offer is out for a free return visit. That particular day because of unusual weather rain etc. Bookings were not as heavy as usual There were other guests in rooms that night too. Rest assured SMI has plenty of guests from around the world on every day of the week. The sea mountain spa is often sold out mid week and thus we do ask people book ahead of time. We welcome all feedback as we strive to continue to maintain our 5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Travel dates: June of 2009 (went twice)

I went to Sea Mountain Inn with my new wife in 2009 and wanted to share our experience there. Now keep in mind I had been to Hedo II (5) times prior to going to SMI so I had experience and something to compare this new resort to.

We live in LA so we hit the freeways and 1 hour and 40 mins later we found ourselves pulling up to SMI in what is an otherwise residential neighborhood. This at first throws you off but you can can tell it's clearly the resort from parking and the giant sign on the wall. When you get to the front gate you'll find it locked but you push a button and one of the staff will see who you are. (I think it's on camera too). In a few moments a staff member came to let us in and take us to the office.

Now the staff at SMI is what makes it great. They take care of you and make you feel at home from the start. We were handed drinks and filled out the sign in sheet. In about 4 mins we were off to our beautiful room. The rooms are VERY nice, no kidding. If Hedo II is a 5-6 (on a scale of 1-10, then SMI has 8-9 rooms on that same scale. Big beds, VERY clean and all the bedding/towels are high quality. The room is Zen like. Big flat screen TV on a mount in the corner of the room with a DVD player built in, a mini fringe, and a very nice shower. Again, the rooms are awesome. BTW, they give you a welcome package including lube, condoms and a porn DVD, score! lol

Dewey is an owner at SMI, he's not only a nice guy but a complete riot. I swear he's drinking Red Bull 24 hours a day, the man never stops keeping the party alive and well.

Outside the room there is a nice pool and bubbling hot tub. The resort itself is not huge, perhaps the size of the nude pool at Hedo. Lot's of naked people engaging in open sex, there are NO sex police at this place, that's for sure. It seems a lot of the guests were there for the sex and sharing. The pool was very busy during the day and the hot tub got busy at night.

The music at the resort rocks, a nice mix of party tracks that get you going. In the morning it's chill music till about 10am. There's also a disco room with stripper pole that got it's share of use while we were there. Also a bed in the disco got used more than a few times as we soaked away in the hot tub.

Food: Snack foods are free to guests but it is snack food. If you want a nice Hedo like meal, either order from anywhere or go out. We went to a market prior to going where we got drink and food to help us with our munchies. I'm pretty sure there was a microwave in the room. If not, I know the staff would warm up your snacks in theirs, they're very nice.

Speaking of staff, unlike Hedo they will walk around either topless OR naked, that's a switch. As they stroll around you'll be offered drinks often as you lie there asking yourself if you're in Jamaica or America.

Here's my ratings:

Staff - 10
Rooms - 10
Music - 10
Pools - 9
Food - 5 (snack food)
Party atmosphere - 10
Price/value - 8 (mostly sold out each weekend)

So as a summary, if you're looking for a Hedo like escape here in the states, you'll be very happy. For us SMI is a great 2-3 night place, any longer than that we'd jump on a plane and head to the Tropics. We're thinking of going this weekend, can't wait.

I did a review of the resort here as well: http://vacationbarefoot.blogspot.com/search/label/Sea%20Mountian%20Inn

Chad

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Address: 66540 San Marcus Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mountain Inn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mountain is a luxury nude resort and mineral water boutique hotel for couples and women. The sea mountain was named best of the USA by AOL and MSN and Maxim and FHM including ranked as best celebrity secret by MTV VH1. There are 15 awarded rooms with king beds egyptian linens flatscreens and mineral water in the showers and sinks. There is a 24 hour dance lounge and 24 hour pools available for day spas night spas and vacation stays. There are No single men on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sea Mountain Inn Resort Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Mountain Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.