We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to unwind and relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Morocco Inn & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Morocco Inn & Spa
Save
You added El Morocco Inn & Spa to your Saves list
66810 4th Street, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Discounted Spa Packages!
Certificate of Excellence
fullerton, ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The best place to unwind and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

I can't believe I took this long to write this review. I've actually been here twice in one year and I LOVE IT! I'm what you would call a hotel snob and love fancy schmancy hotels and resorts. My husband and I are not big on small hotels where you mingle with the owners or other guests. But El Morocco Inn has changed my ways! From the beautiful decor to the eucalyptus wafting through the entrance, once that door opens and Bruce and Steve greet you, you are swept into a another world. The rooms are just the right size and have such attention to detail to them. Of course there is their famous happy hour, and unlimited selection of movies and games. The breakfast is great with a wide variety, the coffee is out of this world, and they have the best turkey burgers I have ever eaten! The pool is always perfect and even though there were 4 other couples there during out stay, I hardly saw them! I swam in the pool at 1 am and drank so many humphrey bogart's (mint lemonade). I've traveled all over and by far, this was the most memorable trip for my husband and I. Bruce and Steve really go out of their way and are the most gracious host. What makes this place so different from anywhere else, is Bruce and Steve. They make you feel at ease and are just really wonderful people.

Darlene

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    32
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
195
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

The El Morocco Inn & Spa is the epitome of a unique and personal boutique inn. You enter the front door and are welcomed by your friendly hosts, given a personal tour of the property and then invited to a nightly happy hour. After the rosewater hand washing, you can enjoy your choice of drinks, including their Morocco-tini, and mingle with the other guests. Bruce, John and Steve are wonderful hosts and clearly enjoy every minute they spend with their guests, sharing stories, recommending sightseeing, dining and so on. We also met Nicoleta who was also so friendly and helpful.

The rooms are decorated in a lavish Moroccan theme with extremely comfortable beds. In the small lobby and common living areas you can find beverages and snacks any time of day or night. DVDs are also available for those who want to see a movie, either in their rooms and in the large living space where friends can gather with a large screen TV and enjoy a sherry, of course entirely in a purely Moroccan setting. All of this is free of charge. Breakfast is included each morning as well with a very nice selection.

The hot spring fed pool and huge spa are clean and inviting and are open 24 hrs. Sitting in the hot mineral waters, staring at the stars, you can watch the warm desert breeze waft and billow through the Moroccan silks and fabrics. With Moroccan lanterns aglow, it all makes for a magical experience. Because of the small number of rooms you truly have a feeling of being at an exclusive riad-style luxury resort. There is a wide range of spa services available as well. The ratings speak for themselves and are 100% deserved.

We hope to visit you again soon. J & B, San Diego

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

This place is everything everybody says it is, but having been to the real Middle East, I can assure you that it is not like being there. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE the owners and will likely go back (when I have the dough) but it's all just too polished and perfected, like a mall shop. Where is the grit? Why not even one middle eastern employee? Not even a tea boy? One of the owners has made a trek to Morroco - he should hang some of his pictures of his trip, or at least have a little journal on hand for folks to read.
This place will REALLY come alive once they have completed the outdoor tented area that will be used as a massage area. I feel guilty even mentioning anything crititcal as the guys who run this place are beyond awesome and they are gay-friendly, too, which is a huge plus. I liked it but saw little ways that they could make it more authentic. Get working on that outside area, guys, it will be great! The oversized chess pieces are cool (very middle eastern) and the idea of a Morrocan garden is great but come on, build a higher fence so we won't see those ambiance-wrecking houses over the fence.
Now for some more clear cut positives: Having both gay and straight owners is a smart move - you will assure that you have customers for years as you can market this spot as both couples friendly and gay-oriented. Those little hot room saunas were a God send, and the wispy blowing curtains do add a Moroccan touch. Love the cookies and little video room playing Lawrence of Arabia.

  • Liked — It's Peaceful and the Owners are cooler than me
  • Disliked — It's all good but they are in DESPERATE need of a few Middle Eastern employees - NOW!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Myself and my husband stayed here in May and have written reviews on all our other hotels on our trip, except this one. We just couldnt do it justice, so all I will say is....There is a reason why every single review has given it 5 stars. Everyone must stay here once in a lifetime.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiterock british columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

An oasis in the desert! Decompress; swim; watch Casablanca at 3:00 a.m.; sip Morocco-tinis at happy hour. Bruce and Steve are incredible hosts. Talk mid-century modern architecture with Bruce and local hiking trails with Steve. Desert Hot Springs itself isn't much to look at and it's a bit of a drive down the hill to Palm Springs. But the El Morocco is one of the most relaxing places we've ever been. Outstanding!

  • Liked — Hosts Bruce and Steve; Moroccan furnishings; breakfast; peace and quiet
  • Disliked — it's in Desert Hot Springs; a bit of a drive down to Palm Springs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My husband and I just got back from our 3 day stay at El Morocco and just loved it! This quaint, cozy little inn sits in an unassuming neighborhood in Desert Hot Springs and from the moment you step inside, you feel like you've been transported. Everything is dripping with Moroccan charm and style. The rooms are cozy and comfortable; the best beds! The breakfast spread is fresh and ample. The afternoon cocktail hour with the Moroccan hand washing ceremony is truly special. The pool is clean and beautiful. The spa services are amazing. I suggest the Moroccan rain massage with Art or Esther, it was the best massage I've ever had. Bruce, John and Steve really made this get away weekend truly memorable for me and my husband. They are such accommodating and gracious hosts and will get you pretty much anything you need. If you are looking for a quiet retreat to rest and rejuvenate, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

If you want to step into Morocco, this is the place to go. My husband and I absolutely loved the place!!!!

The breakfast is wonderful, the rooms are great, the temperature of the pool is perfect/just walk right in, the hot tub is huge.

"Moroccotinis" and wine during Happy Hour are free and fun. If you want, you can have your hands washed in warm rose petal water at the beginning of Happy hour.

The owners who also live there take excellent care of the facility and they are great conversationalists. They were also a great help in recommending things to do and see during the day and evening.

Also, we really enjoyed the many kinds of tobacco that you can smoke in authentic hookahs.

There are also many spa options and we enjoyed them!

One of our all time favorites!!! We cannot wait to go back!

Dean & Mel from Seattle

  • Liked — A great adventure!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 25 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#12 of 25 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#7 of 25 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#17 of 25 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#6 of 25 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
#10 of 25 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Morocco Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Morocco Inn & Spa

Address: 66810 4th Street, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to get away and feel like you've really done it without the high cost??? Slip into our warm and natural spring-fed mineral swimming pool & jacuzzi spa around the clock! This Moroccan inspired getaway features 12 guestrooms, each with a Cal King "Dream Deeply" bed, microwave & minifridge, exotic textiles, bistro tables and chairs, beautiful lamps,Moroccan furnishings & artwork. A Lavish complimentary continental breakfast is set out daily in the Kasbah Lounge and we offer our complimentary nightly signature cocktail,the "Morocco-tini"! Besides having 2 pools filled with those healing geothermal spring mineral waters, you can also choose from a wide range of deeply relaxing Spa treatments including Massages, Body Scrubs, Clay Wraps and Facials! We also offer Discount Spa Packages year 'round! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Morocco Hotel Desert Hot Springs
El Morocco Inn And Spa
Hotel El Morocco
El Morocco Inn & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Morocco Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.