We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you need to feel you are away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Palms Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Palms Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12801 Tamar Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what you need to feel you are away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

For our spring break from law school, my fiance and I wanted to be able to sit by a pool all day and night and take a break from thinking. After researching Las Vegas we realized the prices were beyond our budget ($200+/night) and that we would most likely have to fight for poolside chairs, deal with expensive drinks, and listen to other people's children. (Note: we actually love kids! We just really wanted to get away!)
We then researched Desert Hot Springs and found Lido Palms. We booked a two-night stay based on advertising describing inexpensive clean rooms and very reasonable massage/spa treatment rates. The experience absolutely exceeded our expectations.
Lido Palms is not your typical location for spring breakers. Instead of crowded pools and patios, Lido Palms immediately felt like it belonged to us. Our room was spacious with a fully loaded retro-looking kitchen that had everything we needed--including a bottle opener. The pools were amazing. The silky water and all the flotation devices at our disposal (available without having to pay a rental fee) made us feel like kids again (well...at least no longer in our 20's) as we waded for hours while sipping our drinks and eating the fresh fruit we brought from home.
When we did leave the Lido Palms, we were able to drive about 5 minutes to Palm Springs to experience a more "spring-break" environment and grab a good meal at a trendy restaurant. It was good to know that if we needed a little excitement, we could just drive over to Palm Springs but in the end, it wasn't necessary.
Last, the service was amazing. Because Lido Palms is quite small (11 rooms), you really feel like the place is all yours and also the staff is there for you only. Martin, the Manager, went above and beyond for us, whether it was to find the best massage therapist for me, guide us to the best restaurants, or to simply give us a tour of the place. Jill, the Owner, is incredibly friendly and her dog, Lucy, is so sweet. Also, Rosa was always willing to see if you needed anything.
If it was possible, we would have stayed in the pools all day and night relaxing, soaking up the minerals, and watching as the local roadrunners came to be fed. We will definitely be back to the Lido Palms. Personally, I would suggest visiting for any young couples looking to get away or for a group of friends looking for a chill, relaxed place to lay by the pool and barbecue all day and night. Lido Palms is exactly what you need to feel as if you are away from it all.

  • Liked — Fantastic service from friendly, welcoming staff
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
56
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Our third winter (December to March) at the Lido was terrific as always. A peaceful place with hot mineral pools just outside the door. Reasonably close to restaurants, theatres and shopping - if you have a car. Excellent birdwatching in the area. First class help with in-room wireless internet access. Jill, Martin and Rosa treated us well. We'll be back next winter!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

I'm a newcomer to the desert. With that being said, there are lots of choices on where to stay. I researched, called(more than once), and e-mailed my choices. I then made a decision that I would not regret.

The Lido Palms has a very quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are spacious, very clean and they even have a full kitchen. All equipped with dishes, silverware, pots, pans....everything you could want. There were no phones in the room, but there's a courtesy phone in the lobby for local calls. Also in the lobby is internet access, or if you have a laptop, they have wireless. There are so many books to read. Some autographed by very loyal guests.

The pools are great! There are 3 different ones to choose from. The main pool is about 90 degrees, the outdoor jacuzzi is about 104 degrees and the indoor pool is about 100 degrees. By the way, I had a watsu with Tal in the indoor pool, it was heaven.


If you'd like to go somewhere quiet and relaxing, this is the place. The owner and her staff will make you feel right at home.

Good value for what you get there. No gimmicks!

  • Liked — The pools, staff, room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

I was a bit apprehensive about going to a spa. Frankly, I don't look all that great in a bathing suit. What if everyone else had a perfect body in a size 2 thong? I need not have worried. The Lido Palms is a relaxed place where cellulite is perfectly normal and acceptable. Most of the guests in the eleven rooms are retirees, and most stay 2-3 months at a time. (It's easy to see why!)

Jill, the owner, is friendly and helpful. The three pools are an absolute delight. The largest, a 42' swimming pool, is kept at about 90 degrees, while the jacuzzi (outdoor) and spa (indoor) are a bit warmer. There are lots of flowers and bird feeders to attract wildlife, and that adds to the relaxation.

If any tension remains after you soak for a few hours, you can get a splendid full hour massage right in your room for a very reasonable $75. Be prepared for a long nap afterward.

There is a computer terminal in the lobby but no Internet (and no phones) in the rooms. There is a fairly large lending library for light reading(honor system). Most rooms have full kitchens.

You do need a car here, as restaurants and shopping are a bit far. But so are noise and bustle and traffic and congestion. This is a place to relax and recharge your batteries. I hope to return for a longer stay soon.

  • Liked — The three naturally-heated mineral water pools.
  • Disliked — No restaurant within walking distance.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Palms Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Palms Resort and Spa

Address: 12801 Tamar Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lido Palms Resort and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lido Palms Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Palms Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Lido Palms Desert Hot Springs
Lido Palms Resort And Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Palms Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.