We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The water is the draw and you can relax and enjoy sans bathing costume.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Living Waters Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Waters Spa
Save
You added Living Waters Spa to your Saves list
13340 Mountain View Rd., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Clothing-optional Spa!
Behind the Orange Curtain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The water is the draw and you can relax and enjoy sans bathing costume.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

JUST KEEPING IT REAL: Although this little 7 bed inn is the owners home and they do not let you forget it, reminding you often of the rules and their wishes, you can still have a fairly nice visit. I saw one of the staff carry "wine in a box" and not sure if this is in their sangria they serve afternoons, so I avoided that. Unless you are a total lizard and can bake in the sun all day, you will not be excited that no umbrellas or shade can be found. If you look at the old postcards in the dining room, the original owners used umbrellas widely and with success. They have no misting system so avoid hot days unless you can stay in the pool all day. The rooms are nice, but take some shin guards because the beds have an oversized platform that protrudes out and busts your shins every time you enter/exit. All of the windows are original single pane glass with aluminum frames and tracks, none of the windows in our room could be opened or closed without considerable effort and were very noisy due to worn out bearings or worn tracks. The sliding glass door entries about the same. The owners seem more intent on buying up the block then upgrading the inn for their guests and it shows. They keep the place very controlled and if you talk a bit too loud, don't expect a smile. They used to have a no alcohol policy that they enforced, but with the current economy, it appears that they have had to ignore this rule. Unless you are a cigarette smoker, you will not be able to sit at the table that is in the lower level, I would have loved at table to dine at in that area, but I do not like smoke. As for the only other outdoor table, it sits in the spa area and the people in the closest room sat their most of the time. One of us got a massage and found it too rough so will not be getting a massage again unless this improves. We have noticed the massage staff (1 person) seems to change on each visit, not sure if its busy enough to keep an employee or if they are on call. We have stayed at many other resorts in DHS and Palm Springs and overall, find this a nice place to visit and stay although a bit monastic.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingWatersSpa, Owners - Jeff & Judy at Living Waters Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
As the owners of Living Waters Spa, we want every guest to have a wonderful visit and we’re sorry that this guest didn’t love his/her visit as much as the thousands of other people who have loved their stays. (Just see some of the other reviews on this website!) And the same with our massages: nearly everyone tells us that they got the best massage of their lives here at Living Waters Spa. (Again, see our other reviews on TripAdvisor.) Just for the record, our mineral water spa offers plenty of shade (the large overhanging eves off our Mid-Century Modern building provide ample places to escape the sun, our smaller pool is under an awning and we don’t use umbrellas as they block the views of Mt. San Jacinto), almost all of our windows are brand new, all our windows and doors work well, and we are devoted to keeping everything clean and sparkling. We are a true “spa” in every sense, not a place to “party as our website clearly states. Our motto is: Relax, Rejuvenate, and Restore. We hope to see you soon.
—Jeff and Judy Bowman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    8
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
208
40
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

This was our 2nd. trip here. Our first over night stay at the pool side rooms.
Not only is the place very relaxing, and the 3pm snacks wonderful, the rooms are better than some 5 start hotels that we have stayed at. The library is great, and the massage's are to die for. I have had many massages over the years, theirs is truly the best i've ever had.

I took my boyfriend to a local steak house for his birthday dinner, and it was very good and reasonably priced. We loved being able to skinny dip late in the evening and just be with each other in such a quiet atmosphere. We enjoyed the silky waters, which left our skin so smooth.
Judy and Jeff, the owners are very nice and easy to talk with.

We look forward to our next trip there.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

This is our second visit to Living Waters Spa and certainly not our last. The owners, Jeff and Judy, take great pride in ensuring that each guest feels welcome. The facilities are gorgeous and well maintained. Also, check out the beautifully furnished and spacious condos across the street which are also part of the spa. For those visitors who may be somewhat intimidated by the clothing optional billing, your anxieties will be allayed within minutes of your arrival.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A. suburbs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Quiet, relaxing and friendly - like a day visiting friends. Premises clean and inviting without pretense, hosts extend personal touch. Massage wonderfully relaxing by skilled, attentive professionals. Great stress reliever in home-like atmosphere away from city, with nice views. Also nice get-away for day if staying elsewhere. Will return often.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

My husband and I haven't been away since our daughter had been born and all we needed was to relax and reconnect. At Living Waters Spa not only was that more than accomplished but We were treated like five star guests as well as finding all the other guests an utter delight!!! Never have we felt more welcomed and special as we did at the Living Water Spa!!! They were more than accommodating as well as respectful of our privacy and the need to do our own thing. If you ever stop into Desert Hot Springs you need to visit the five star resort, Living Waters Spa at the Kismet Lodge!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Our trip to Living Waters was in celebration of my husband's birthday. The entire experience was a "living gift" for us both. Jeff, Judy, and staff are delightful people who did everything they could to make our stay special. Having the luxury of a kitchen in our room was perfect for us. The people we met were kind and friendly, the views, the water, and the surrounding area spectacular; what a wonderful retreat!

P.S. For a GREAT Scrabble game, be sure to challenge Judy. Be prepared.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I have been to clothing optional resorts before but nothing like Living Waters. Jeff and Judy are the ultimate hosts. I had a massage everyday I was there. Dez is amazing and the hot tub and pool are so wonderful. You are surrounded by desert mountains and blue sky. We had great weather most days and being able to just relax here was a blessing. I was sad to leave but hope to return soon. Remember, nude is not lewd. Having the freedome of not wearing clothing is a very liberating experience. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Living Waters Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Spa

Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$199. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort
Living Waters Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Waters Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.