We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Living Waters Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Waters Spa
Save
You added Living Waters Spa to your Saves list
13340 Mountain View Rd., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Clothing Optional Hotel
Alameda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Jeff and Judy, you run an amazing spa, (resort) If Tripadvisor had a higher rating you would get hat too. this is a converted hotel, built in the sixties. This property is not brand new, however Jeff and Judy have given this place a first class make over and they keep it clean, clean clean. The morning breakfast is wonderful, fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, cereal, yogurt and Starbucks coffee. they have two coffee makers, as one runs out, another started right away, the last thing I want to see when I wake is an empty coffee pot.... the couples massage the best. ninety minutes of pampering, WOW ! (thank you Judy) the pool and spa are very clean and that water so nice on the skin, the spa was about one hundred degrees, the pool a little cooler both very relaxing . I will take away one half star ( now a five and a half stars) because of the smokers, if we could change one thing we would make this spa a no smoking facility, the smoke was blowing toward my wife while she was doing her morning yoga, PLEASE understand this is the ONLY thing that was not PERFECT, do not let that keep you away, this place rocks. one last item......the price.....very reasonable !

Room Tip: All the rooms are right next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingWatersSpa, Owner at Living Waters Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We are so thankful for guests like you who "get" our spa and enjoyed everything we have to offer: our mineral water pools, our restored mid-century modern building, our magical massage (BTW, this IS our passion and why we started Living Waters almost 10 years ago), and yes, our morning breakfast complete with Starbucks coffee.

We would like to comment on and clarify our smoking policy. At Living Waters Spa we have ONLY one place for people to smoke, it is at a table (and only AT the table) at our south end. All rooms are non-smoking and we have a stiff penalty if someone violates this policy. The vast majority of our guests do not smoke and we can go weeks without having anyone who smokes - really. We are truly sorry that your wife was bothered by this inconsiderate smoker and we'd suggest that next time you let us know. We'd have no problem asking the rare smoker to please not smoke while someone is doing yoga in the south end of our property.
- Jeff and Judy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    8
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
216
42
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights last week at Living Waters and came back more relaxed and rejuvenated then any other nudist resort we have been to so far. The first 24 hours was an adjustment for me personally but by the next morning I realized that tranquility was their business. I got into the quiet zone and Zen like atmosphere that embraced this little oasis in the desert and quickly conformed. It was clean, cozy, comfortable and most of all one of the more peaceful places that I have ever been to. Jeff and Judy were very welcoming, soothing and the perfect compliment to their establishment. My girlfriend and I also enjoyed a wonderful couples massage given to us by Judy and Lily.We will be coming back here for years to come.
Thank you so much for sharing with us your little slice of heaven in the desert,
Dorian and Heidi

Room Tip: We chose room # 4 which had a great view of the snow capped mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was our fifth stay a LWS. Everything was perfect and the people were great as always.
Jeff and Judy have a very special place and we feel lucky to have found it. The pool and spa are both filled by a natural spring which is continuously replenishing itself so there is no need for chlorine or other chemicals. The water has a silky feeling to it and has no odor like some high sulfer springs at other resorts. And, it's clothing optional!!

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms at LWS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Wifey and I had a great, relaxing 3 nights at Living Waters and loved every minute of it. Turned out we were the only ones there except for the owners, so it was like our own private resort! Spent most of our time floating in the pool or laying in a chaise lounge. Room was clean and basic, pool area is nicely landscaped and very private. Owners are great and very available without being intrusive. We got a couples massage while there, which I would recommend highly! This place is a real desert gem!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

It was mine & marlodean1919's first time at a clothing optional location, so I was very nervous when we first got there! I didn't know what to expect, but I'm so glad that we followed through with it! The owners were very welcoming, as were the other guests! It was such a great experience and very, very relaxing. The couples massage was AWESOME. By the end of our stay, we both fell in love with LWS and we didn't want to leave...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

First off this was me and my girlfriends first time at any clothing optional location. We were a young, confident couple looking to expand our horizons but in the process found a total gem in the desert. The hospitality, generosity, private setting, and assortment of great people from all over was an experience we will never forget. I will definitely be coming back to this place and recommend it to anyone looking to escape the grind and enjoy life. Get the signature/ couples massage!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We've lost count of the number of times we have visited Living Waters Spa, which is our perennial favorite bed-and-breakfast in the Palm Springs area. LWS is located in Desert Hot Springs (North of I-10) and gets an extra hour of sunlight compared to resorts down lower in the Coachella Valley, a welcome hour during the winter months.

The hosts are lovely, caring people who make every guest feel at home. Indeed, we now look forward to traveling to LWS with friends and sharing the simple relaxation, world-class massages, great conversation with other guests in the conversation pool, comfortable beds and the quiet of a TV-free resort. It's a place where one catches up on missed sleep, unwinds from the tensions of 'real' life, kicks back with a book, a crossword puzzle...and simply enjoys the clear desert air.

It's worth noting for TripAdvisor readers that LWS is a clothing-optional resort. While all guests are warmly welcomed regardless of their state of dress, most visitors come to enjoy simple nudity. This is a great place for those who want to try their first nude vacation experience. Yet the rate of return among guests is very high, and we were delighted to run into several guests who we had met on prior trips. We also made several new acquaintances and look forward to seeing them again on a subsequent visit.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: When we travel with another couple, we choose rooms 4 and 5. They are connected by a common kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Living Waters Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Spa

Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$199. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort
Living Waters Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Waters Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.