After reading amazing reviews about Living Waters Spa in Desert Hot Springs I decided to spend a night there with my wife. After a pleasant drive from Los Angeles we arrived at DHS and were appalled by the poor conditions of the town. We were instructed to park our car by the side of the premises and do our check in first. We were received very amicably by Jeff that took his time to show us the place, its rules, and accept our credit card payment for $200.
Our room was just between the pool and the jaccuzi both filled with mineral water from an artesian well. We took our clothes off and joined the water area filled with couples, and single men and women all basking under the bright and strong desert sun. As time went by some of them introduced themselves and told us they were old time regulars. As we got sweaty and tried the pool we were disappointed by the water temperature not being as hot as we expected for a Health Thermal Spa.Then we tried the sauna, also below the heat we normally like and after staying in, found out that the shower was broken and being used as a box storage. It is my understanding that it is considered hygienic to rinse in a shower prior to entering a sauna and jaccuzi...However, that aside, I will say that all in all we had a wonderful time. The light in the desert that surrounds the Living Waters Spa was absolutely beautiful. We were delighted when daylight broke Sunday, knowing that we had one full day until 5:00 pm as shared with us by Jeff, to enjoy the facilities. My wife and I helped ourselves to the continental breakfast. As I was helping myself to the breakfast I noticed Jeff's wife Judy, coughing and sneezing while she was preparing and arranging the pastries...somewhat concerning to me. I joined my wife at the pool and proceeded to use the sauna and the jaccuzzi. While I was in the jaccuzzi enjoying a conversation with 4 other guests, Jeff's wife approached me and told me in a loud voice that we had to leave our room by noon and that if we wished to stay we could store our things in the lockers and use the communal bathroom. I had received an email from Jeff prior to my arrival stating that the room would be ours until 5:00 pm. I was quite surprised and taken aback by the rudeness of his wife. Her abruptness in front of the other guests was unnecessary, uncalled for and made me feel unwelcome. My wife and I were going to come back and recommend the Living Waters Spa to family and friends. However, this attitude soured the experience and rubbed us in the wrong way.
Ask for the number 7 away from the noisy jaccuzi motor
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry that these guests did not have the experience at Living Waters Spa that they anticipated. It is our goal to live up to and exceed our guests’ expectations and the “Lexus” level of customer service that we expect of ourselves. They wrote: “I will say that all in all we had a wonderful time” and we are glad they did. We are happy that they WANTED to stay in their room until 5:00 and we are sorry that we could not accommodate them. Our policy regarding check-in and check-out times are as follows: you can arrive as early as 10:00am and if your room is available, we'll get you right in. If your room is not ready when you arrive we promise that it will be ready by 3:00pm and you'd just enjoy a "day use" on us until your room is ready. On your day of departure, if your room is not booked, you can stay in it until 5:00pm! If your room is booked, you can still stay on premises until 5:00pm by using our day use facilities. We are proud that we are different than other hotels where you cannot arrive before 3:00pm or stay past 11:00am (and that is not even 24 hours) unless you pay more. If you book a night with us, you can get more than a 24 hour vacation if you take advantage of our 10:00am arrival time. Many times guests can have their room all the way to 5:00pm but sometimes, as in this case, we need to get the room ready for the guests checking in that day. This was also a holiday and we were full and we are sorry they misinterpreted our policy and confirmation email and thought we promised them the room until 5:00pm. Regarding our sauna and showering, we’ve had numerous guests from Europe tell us that our sauna is the best in America that they’ve experienced. In keeping with the European traditions we’ve taken the outside shower off line and encourage our guest to go directly to the mineral water pools! Unlike most “stale water” pools (where you would want to shower off), our water flows at the rate of 20 gallons per minute from our private hot mineral spring well through our pools. So, going directly in our pools from the sauna is more than appropriate, it is the best thing to do in keeping with sauna standards. BTW, the water in our spa is replenished every hour and half! Judy was at the tail end of a cold/allergy and we can understand that this concerned this reviewer. Judy has been thoroughly trained in food preparation and has her county issued “Food Handlers Certificate” and in no way would we compromise the health of our guests. Finally, there really is no good way to tell a guest, who wants to stay in their room, that they need to vacate the room so we can prepare it for the incoming guest. We truly did not mean to rude or cause any embarrassment to them and we cannot blame them for wanting to stay in their room until 5:00pm – people who come to Living Waters Spa, just do not want their vacation to end. Respectfully, Jeff and Judy - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.