We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet place to go to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Living Waters Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Waters Spa
Save
You added Living Waters Spa to your Saves list
13340 Mountain View Rd., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Clothing Optional Hotel
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A nice quiet place to go to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

All I want is a quiet place to rest and not to have to wear any clothing. Living Waters fits the bill for us. We have been coming back time and again for the last six or seven years. We have a specific room that we always choose, that fits our needs. We stay a week, so we need to have kitchen facilities, which this room has. Always special treatment from the owners - Jeff & Judy, who we consider a part of our extended family. Jenna was a real pleasure to meet for the first time - a wonderful bubbly personality. We have always preferred to stay in the poolside rooms rather than choose their condos outside the grounds as we don't want to have to bother with clothing any more than we have to.

This trip we arranged to meet some friends there who arranged their vacation to match ours for the week.

We spend a lot of the time there in the pool or the hot tub which is a great enjoyment.

We suggest you add a stop here the next time you are passing through. Tell them Michael sent you and you will be given a choice lounger in the sun to enjoy and relax.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    8
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
216
42
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, OR
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

If your criteria for a place to stay is clothing optional, then this is a good choice. Other than that, the place is worn and devoid of much character. The water is nice but only 99-100 in the hot pool which is not warm enough. The patio area barely any vegetation and that's what it feels like--bare.

The rooms are okay, comfortable and clean, but again, no character. I understand not having televisions and phones in the rooms and can appreciate that, but for the price, there are much better options in Desert Hot Springs and better values.

It is located right on Mountain View so the car noise is loud and the air conditioner in the room was quite loud also. I only saw the owner when I checked in and once in passing, so it's hard to say what the level of service there was because I don't think there was any so I will just put average.

I cannot understand how this place is rated number 2 unless there are a bunch of nudists that post, or if it is friends but there are much better places in the area and I know because the three other places I have stayed are all better and this is rated higher than any of them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingWatersSpa, Owner at Living Waters Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
When we created Living Waters Spa 8 years ago we created an “oasis” in the desert, a place that would be different from the norm. By design, Living Waters Spa is decorated in a euro / minimalist style (character) as our website demonstrates this in pictures. Consequently we an eco-friendly desertscape and do not have non-native plants or grass (we are in the desert!) and this is part of the unique sensory experience for our guests. The “difference” of no TVs (for poolside rooms), desert plants, fresh air, pure mineral water (the temps of which are set up for long term soaking) and a true “spa” experience – in a clothing optional context.

We are highly rated because guests really like the experience we offer. As owners who live on site, we are readily available to guests. We care about our guests’ experience and it shows. Of course, we understand that no place is perfect for everyone and for whatever reason, this reviewer didn’t see these things as listed on our website and/or had expectations that we were like other places he visited. But the reason that LWS is so highly rated by other reviewers is simple: guests love staying here!

-Jeff & Judy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I love this place! If we could stay here all year round, we would. Jeff and Judy are simply awesome and the rest of the staff is wonderful and kind. I would say that really the best part about the place is the way everyone makes you feel welcomed and at home. We're "regulars" and visit on our anniversary because it's the only place to go. Kudos to LWS! See you next time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you're looking for a high activity, high energy place to go, this isn't it. What this is, is a very quiet, relaxed, serene place with great hosts and staff. This also isn't one of those pretentious places with all the fluff, so don't expect modern do-dahs and other useless fluff. The architecture is a little dated, but what do you expect from a resort that was built in 1960? Even yet, there are no disappointments, as the rooms are clean and well maintained, the beds are great, and most rooms have kitchens. There is free wireless internet, if you need to stay in touch with work or family, but there are no TVs or phones in the rooms at the resort itself to distract from the relaxing spa feeling. The adjacent 2 bedroom condos that the Spa owns do have flat screen TVs and DVD players, if you simply can't do without TV. But seriously, why not take time off from the hustle-bustle of the world and simply enjoy life?

The spa itself is naturally heated by the mineral spring, as is the pool. Since the water is constantly turning over, there isn't the need for high doses of chlorine and other chemicals that are harsh on your skin and eyes.

If you're looking for a massage, look no further. You can get a great massage in a private room for a very reasonable price. Jeff and Judy also do a couples massage, and can teach you great techniques to keep the romance alive when you leave.

If you're looking for a place to experience your first clothing optional experience, look no farther. My wife and I have been to several other clothing optional resorts, but this is the first one that accepts single men. At first, we were apprehensive about single guys being there perhaps just to gawk, but this isn't the case. We have met NO ONE who made us feel uneasy, just regular, friendly folks that are there for the same reason we are...to relax.

We just made reservations for our third trip to Living Waters Spa for November. We'll see you there!

Room Tip: Room 8 faces east, for those who would like afternoon shade. Room 7 has spectacular views of the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I can only echo the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor regarding Living Waters Spa; all are spot on. Similarly, their website and brochures accurately describe their property, as well as the relaxing and comfortable atmosphere that you will experience. Although we vacationed in the Palm Springs area on a number of occasions in the past, this was our first stay at LWS. Nonetheless, we were warmly welcomed as if we were old friends by Jeff and Judy, as well as their great staff, Jenna and Kathy. All were very helpful and worked hard to ensure our stay was perfect. Although the majority of reviews on this forum relate to the rooms surrounding the pool, we stayed in a condo unit which is across the street and less than a one minute walk to the hotel/spa area. We found our condo to be very spacious, clean, and well furnished and maintained. The bed was very comfortable and because the condos are located on a quiet side street, traffic noise was never an issue. We chose a condo based on the fact we vacationed for an entire week and were able to garner an excellent weekly rate. Be advised however that breakfast is not included with a condo unit. For anyone planning to stay at LWS for more than a weekend or a few days, I would highly recommend reserving a condo unit.

As so many previous reviewers indicated, LWS is a very serene, relaxing, and comfortable venue where you can totally decompress – whether just lounging out in the sun, or relaxing and soothing in their mineral water pool and therapeutic Jacuzzi. During our stay we had a massage (my wife had two); both Jenna and Kathy are very adept and skilled massage therapists and you can only wish the message would never end – totally awesome! Despite the hot weather, we also utilized their authentic Finnish Sauna which only added to our feeling of nirvana.

Another positive aspect to the spa is the many wonderful and interesting people we met during our stay. Predictably, LWS caters to many like minded individuals – those seeking a restful, peaceful and relaxing vacation in a C/O atmosphere. It’s so refreshing to stay at a resort minus the loud thumping music, kids running around screaming or splashing in the pool, or some loudmouth that is obsessed with their cell phone. In this respect, LWS parallels the many fine spas we visited throughout Europe.

Negatives? Sure, everyplace has at least one. At LWS, you do eventually have to leave and return to the real world. We couldn’t believe how fast one week flew by. For all past reviewers and guests lamenting their brief weekend stay, my recommendation is to stay for a week next time.

My final observation is that it is quite evident that the owners, Jeff and Judy, take a great deal of personal pride in their spa and possess a great passion for operating and fostering a very welcoming, relaxing, friendly and comfortable C/O spa experience. As well, Jenna and Kathy are extensions of the owners who serve their guests very well in their respective capacities. Both are very charming, gregarious and convivial ladies.

We can only reflect positively on our stay at LWS and will reminisce about those relaxing times when we encounter our usual stresses and the forthcoming cold winter. We’re very much looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Condos are very spacious and located on a very quiet side street less than a one minute walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I can't possibly add anything to the numerous excellent reviews for Living Waters Spa. The owners, staff and facilities are accurately described and you will not be disappointed. LWS offers a safe, comfortable environment for total relaxation.

We just returned from another visit and had a truly rejuvenating experience that was desperately needed. The summer visit was an added bonus since we enjoy the desert and the great rates.

I wish I could say we received special treatment as return visitors, but we have always been treated as long time friends by Judy, Jeff, Jenna and Kat. Each trip has provided the same excellent level of comfort, care and relaxation. The consistent level of service is provided by owners and staff who work hard and have a passion for people. Judy and Jenna gave us another awesome couples massage which included some specialized attention to a nagging back problem. We arrived as a bundle of stress and left 3 days later totally relaxed....and got a great tan during the stay.

So if you want to be treated like a regular.....book your first trip and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I went by myself, looking to relax, enjoy a good soak & some good books and just get lost in relaxation. This is not an opulent Palm Springs style spa. This is clothing optional, for adults who just want to be. No phones or TVs, expect a comfy bed and really clean, nice room & resort.
Being a solo woman I was really comfortable as the owners set a tone of normalcy and respect.
The color palate of the place are blues of the water & sky, white and colors of the desert for the rooms, furniture - just came together nicely. The water was so nice I almost fell asleep floating.
Had a great massage, enjoyed afternoon appetizers, hibiscus tea, amazing chocolate chip cookies, in the small pool and excellent company.
The best part was the lack of things to do, lack of distractions - just relax.

Room Tip: Some rooms have full kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Living Waters Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Spa

Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$199. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort
Living Waters Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Living Waters Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.