We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overstressed Working Mother's Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spring Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Spring Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Spring Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, WA
1 review
“Overstressed Working Mother's Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

This was the first trip I ever had without my husband, children, other family members or friends! (yes, pretty pathetic!) Found it on the web. Room rates seemed very reasonable which was important since I really needed some spa treatments. (The Zen Facial and the Sea Salt Body Scrub were incredible!) The staff were all very welcoming, especially as a single traveler. They assured me that I would feel comfortable and I would never feel intruded upon. Which was true.
I must admit, the surrounding area where the spa is located, is not the greatest. So if you are looking for activities right outside of the spa, this is not the place for you. However, I can almost guarantee that once you get inside those walls and into the courtyard, it doesn't matter. You will not want to leave.
I know I will definitely be back, with or without company. Thank you Martin for being so great when I checked in!

  • Liked — Small and intitmate. They stressed the use of quiet voices. Relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — My room could have had better sound proofing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    36
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
172
44
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

Our stay at The Spring really met and surpassed our expectations. While Desert Hot Springs is still not much of a destination in and of itself -- one might call it the desert town where time has stood still -- The Spring certainly is. From the great, friendly service to the sparkling spring fed pools to the beautiful view, everything about The Spring is relaxing. The attention to detail: comfortable bedding, extra towels, spring water for the room, nice bath products, makes this a special place to unwind. In addition the basic but complete spa facilities are enhanced by the well qualified and efficient staff. It's the perfect and affordable place to get away and truly relax. Unlike most smaller, charming places in Palm Springs, The Spring is truly quiet and tranquil and with many fewer rooms you often have the pool(s) to yourself. In addition to treating ourselves to spa treatments including an expert massage, we spent a day hiking in Joshua Tree National Park, an easy drive from The Spring. The only shortcomings are 1) the bathroom in our room (#1) was very small with no tub and had weak water pressure in the shower and 2) the fact that if you want any fine dining you need to drive down into Palm Springs. That being said, The Cottage Too is a hidden gem of an old fashioned cafe for brunch or an inexpensive lunch just west of the main drag, Palm Drive in "downtown" Desert Hot Springs. Some might find the absence of a TV a hardship but if you're really trying to unplug from the grid, it's perfect. We'd highly recommend a visit to the Spring. Leave the Blackberry at home, grab your reading material and book a massage.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

My husband and I have been to many amazing places, but The Spring has stolen our hearts. The staff made us feel like kings, the atomsphere was tranquil, peaceful, beautiful - so clean and every detail attended to with thoughtfull care. The bed was fabulous, sheets amazing and the water!!! Soaking in the mineral pools and the best sauna ever. Just when I thought my skin could not get any softer... a spa treatment and massage that was close to a religious experience. I am already planning our trip back. Healing, rejuvenating, relaxing... filled my body, mind and spirit with renewed energy.

  • Liked — The peaceful surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2007

Please do not hesitate to visit this resort. It is small but EVERYTHING is done with tremendous care and emphasis on the well being of the guest. I booked a room for 5 nights and stayed 8!
The aesthetic of the grounds and rooms is lovely and all is pleasing to the eye. The service is comparable to a 5 star hotel where your every wish is their command. However no one is obsequious or invasive. The treatments I had and I tried 4 or 5 were all excellent. I especially loved the scalp massage and relexology with Margo. I often went hiking in the area -Joshua Tree
National Park is glorious-and also enjoyed Indian Canyons near Palm Springs. Then in the evening one could retire to their CLEAN and well kept jacuzzi and sauna. The area is gorgeous -mountains and big sky and this little resort is the ONE that could. You will enjoy privacy and relaxation at a very reasonable price.
I highly recommed The Spring.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

The Spring was an amazingly beatuiful place... Once inside the resort you are instantly transported to paradise... with 3 different soaking pools... there's something for everyone!!! The rooms are simple and elegant, and I recommend getting one with a kitchen... since you will probably not want to leave the spring even to go get food... The mineral drinking water is delicious, and even if you don't get any spa treatments... you'll leave the spring absolutely glowing... All of the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and you can't beat the moderate year round climate... it truly felt like springtime in January!!! I will definitely be making a trip back to the spring, hopefully sooner than later. It's the ideal weekend getaway for total stress relief!!!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

We were travelling from Ireland and I did quite a bit of research (a lot of it on this site) to try and find a nice relaxing hotel in the desert which made use of the local hot springs. The reviews of the Spring were very favourable here so we booked two nights.

It has to be said that Desert Hot Springs is not the most attractive of towns, there are many chain and fast food outlets and little personality is evident on the main streets (we later had a terrible experience at one of the larger resorts). The hotel gave me directions which skipped the main drag and they asked that we didn't follow the google or mapquest directions. This was actually very sensible as a trip through the town would have given us a bad impression and maybe darkened our mood. As it was the drive was scenic and put us in relaxed mood on arrival.

The Spring is very small, I think there were 9 rooms and has the feel of an intimate retreat rather than any kind of large commercial enterprise. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff and some refreshing water from the spring before a tour of the premises.

We had booked a room by the pool and it was excellent. There is no television (but wi fi access). The main plus is the bed, probably the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The owners of this hotel clearly care about the comfort of their guests. The sheets are made of Egyptian cotton and there is none of the bleach often associated with hotels. The bathroom comes kitted with excellent shampoos, washes and soaps. The room next to us came with a kitchen which was only $20 extra.

Even late at night we got to try out the finnish wood sauna (excellent but a little cramped), the spring water hot tub (fresh jets of water and very warm even on a cold windy night)...and the small indoor pool (again, perfect refreshing sping water, lovely temperature and atmosphere).

The mineral water swimming pool is also excellent, very refreshing and easily large enough to swim some lengths.

Whilst we were there, we were unfortunate that the weather was very windy although the sun was out. But the atmosphere at The Spring is calming and refreshing. There's a very warm comfortable living area (where you get breakfast as well) where you can relax after being in the pool with a book or some newspapers. The breakfast is basic and healthy (yoghurt, muesli, coffee, perfect for the setting) .

We didn't get a chance to do any treatments as we left to visit the living desert but the Spring is a wonderful, calm atmosphere run by people who pay attention to every detail. They will even order food in from local restuarants (there's a nice homely Italian and good mexican, little else) should you get comfortable and decide not to move form the hotel for your stay.

We will return as soon as possible. Thank you the Spring!

  • Liked — the calm atmosphere and spa faclites
  • Disliked — the loungers may need updating but everything was excellent otherwise
  • Tips/Secrets — perfect retreat, beware of the large resorts in the same town
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

The Spring Resort and Spa located in Hot Springs, CA is a tranquil oasis in the desert and is easier to get to than Palm Springs due to it’s proximity to the highway. They have the best drinking water in the world and the hottest spring in the area, making this a perfect winter retreat. You can melt away the stress in their sauna imported from Finland and rejuvenate your skin in one of their two high mineral content untreated pools or Jacuzzi. Their spa facilities and staff are top notch.

  • Liked — Tranquil oasis
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room with a kitchen and order groceries (they will grocery shop for you with one days notice) or bring groceries (there is a Von's supermarket nearby) because you can enhance your destressing experience by not driving anywhere. Their breakfast is cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, and yogurt. If you want something hot, you need to make it yourself or go out. They have a nice wine selection at very reasonable prices so you don’t need to bring wine. Also, the drinking water is amazing and they fill up you pitcher with ice, lemon and water in the lobby as frequently as you like. I would recommend getting a room with a kitchen, asking them to grocery shop for you (at least one day in advance), order the wine from the spa, bring nothing but a bathing suit or two (everyone walks around in robes the entire time), and just relax. If you are coming from the West, the Morongo Casino is on the way and has an awesome buffet at very reasonable prices..
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spring Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Resort & Spa

Address: 12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spring Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPRING Resort & Spa is a magical place. Overlooking Palm Springs w/dramatic views of snow capped mountain peaks, magnificent mineral water emerges from the earth at 170 degrees, charged with healing, restorative minerals. Luxurious, romantic guest rooms surround 3 mineral pools, featuring king pillow-top beds, down pillows, duvets and 100% Egyptian cotton linens. THE SPRING Day Spa offers a complete line of spa treatments, massages, buffs, wraps, and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spring Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spring Hotel Desert Hot Springs
The Spring Resort And Spa
Hot Spring California
The Spring Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spring Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.