We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spring Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Spring Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Spring Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I just finished staying three days, two nights at the SPRING resort. I have been very overwhelmed and needed a get away by myself. The staff is amazing, the rooms are clean and have everything you need. The spa services I received were excellent. This will be my "get away" spot from here on! Thank you for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at The Spring Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the review Gwen! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    30
    8
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
165
41
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

At first, it was hard to imagine what we would find inside the doors of the The Spring. Don't be fooled by the outside! Once in, the experience was amazing! We truly appreciated the "no talking on your cell " policy by the pool. It really added to the calmness and peacefulness of the place. We have never felt so rejuvenated, and we could not stop drinking the water. The staff was always ready to help, and everything was fresh and clean at all times.
Thank you for a wonderful time, we will definately be back to this little peace of heaven.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a kitchen. There's not much around unless you go into Palm Sprin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My daughter, husband and I stayed here this week. The resort was fabulous, pools heaven and the rooms were great. Joe was a wonderful member of the staff. He made excellent suggestions for dining experiences and things to do and was most attentive. Only one suggestion, maybe have some soft spa music playing in the background by the pools.

We will definitely be back again. Thanks Joe, we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The beds are soo!! comfortable and the sheets are soo!!! Soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I recently visited The Spring for our second visit. We loved it the first time and love it even more the second time around and are already planning our return trip soon. The staff are angels in human form. Joe, one of the managers, went out of his way to stay late to accommodate us when we made the serious mistake of booking a room at a different resort in the area (just to try something new ... haha! we won't make that mistake again!). The open space, the greenery, the quaint rooms and availability of full kitchens in some of them ... the healing waters and the deep peace and quiet make each visit and unforgettable and deeply healing experience. And for those of you who love mani/pedicures, make sure you book a session with Kim. It was by far the most comprehensive and pampering pedicure I have ever experienced. And I've experienced a lot of them across the country because I travel for my work. Can you tell we love this place? You betcha! We'll be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful and some have full kitchens so if you like to cook your own meals this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the Mountain View Suite, which is a secluded room behind the spa building. Used a Groupon deal which saved us like 40-50%.

Pros: Located in a quiet neighborhood amongst other hot spring hotels. Convenient parking right in front of the building (the Mountain View Suite has its own reserved parking spot) - though some may not like that the parking lot is so open (literally next to the street). Staff are friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, with most residents trying to keep their voices down (most, not all). The three pools are warm and the water quality is good. Their drinking water is delicious and refreshing. Complimentary breakfast was healthy and delicious (rye breads, hardboiled eggs, fruit, coffee/tea, yogurt) The Mountain View Suite itself is spacious. Amenities are from Lather, a high-end boutique in Pasadena.

Cons: The pool water could use some cleaning/filtering (a noticeable amount of hair, bugs, twigs in the water). The towels are a bit rough and frayed - could use replacing. Our biggest gripe is the Mountain View Suite climate. You get a wall unit A/C which badly needs to be replaced. Every time it runs, it emits a loud whirring sound, waking you up every 5-10 minutes. Also, you're not supposed to set the temperature below 76 degrees, (which is fine since that's what I set my home thermostat at) but the room never gets to 76 degrees. It's 100+ degrees outside and the room never got any cooler than 80. Needless to say, we couldn't sleep very well from the A/C noise and the high temps. Also, not sure how carefully the room is cleaned - some dust and hair were visible.

Overall, a unique concept, nice layout, friendly service, but the Mountain View Suite (maybe the other rooms too) need repairs or updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at The Spring Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Ensuring our guests have a 5 star experience at THE SPRING is our top priority. Feedback like this is greatly appreciated.

We apologize for the poor night’s sleep our guests endured during their visit. We take pride in all of our rooms being cooled by whisper quiet mini spit air conditioning units. When the guest made us aware of the problem with the air conditioner we immediately investigated and the unit has been repaired.

We are proud of our award winning mineral water and while our healthy, delicious mineral water is wonderful to drink, mineral water is hard water and is absolutely punishing on fabrics. We purchase the finest, high quality linens and towels, but sadly after a shocking few launderings, they too have absorbed all the healthy minerals but not in a good way! We’ve tried a host of natural softeners, baking soda and vinegar and of course, we don’t want to use chemical softeners. If anyone has any suggestions we’d love to hear them. In the meantime, from time to time we have to remind ourselves that guests come to THE SPRING to enjoy the gifts of nature and nature’s gifts are… many.

Know that we always have our guests’ interests and comfort at heart and endeavor to consistently improve your experience at THE SPRING.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found this place on line and wanted to get away from it all. We found the room very clean and comfortable. Loved the pools and service. We also used the spa treatments quite a bit, and especially enjoyed the scrub. The spa ladies were great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found this place because I wanted a real spa that used the waters from the natural hot springs in the area, not another hotel with chlorinated pools. There are only 11 rooms on the premises and most look out onto one of the three pools. It's a lovely layout and we were thrilled that you are allowed to bathe all night long if you wish. Having said that it's definitely a place to relax not to party! As soon as you step in you are aware that the owners care very much about excellent service and attention to detail. I stayed with three friends in two rooms with king sized beds, everything was clean and comfortable. It's the perfect place if you are out hiking in the sun and discovering Joshua Tree park - we highly recommend staying there and enjoying the spa waters then catching the park when the sun is low and it's cooler out. Did not try the spa services but cannot imagine them being bad... Wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spring Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Resort & Spa

Address: 12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spring Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPRING Resort & Spa is a magical place. Overlooking Palm Springs w/dramatic views of snow capped mountain peaks, magnificent mineral water emerges from the earth at 170 degrees, charged with healing, restorative minerals. Luxurious, romantic guest rooms surround 3 mineral pools, featuring king pillow-top beds, down pillows, duvets and 100% Egyptian cotton linens. THE SPRING Day Spa offers a complete line of spa treatments, massages, buffs, wraps, and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spring Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spring Hotel Desert Hot Springs
The Spring Resort And Spa
Hot Spring California
The Spring Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spring Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.