We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spring Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spring Resort & Spa
12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found this place on line and wanted to get away from it all. We found the room very clean and comfortable. Loved the pools and service. We also used the spa treatments quite a bit, and especially enjoyed the scrub. The spa ladies were great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    28
    7
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
157
36
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I found this place because I wanted a real spa that used the waters from the natural hot springs in the area, not another hotel with chlorinated pools. There are only 11 rooms on the premises and most look out onto one of the three pools. It's a lovely layout and we were thrilled that you are allowed to bathe all night long if you wish. Having said that it's definitely a place to relax not to party! As soon as you step in you are aware that the owners care very much about excellent service and attention to detail. I stayed with three friends in two rooms with king sized beds, everything was clean and comfortable. It's the perfect place if you are out hiking in the sun and discovering Joshua Tree park - we highly recommend staying there and enjoying the spa waters then catching the park when the sun is low and it's cooler out. Did not try the spa services but cannot imagine them being bad... Wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff is so very friendly and helpful. They are amazing. The atmosphere is very peaceful, zen like. No cell phones at the pool area which makes it very peaceful. No televisions in the room which makes it very relaxing. I pod dock in room so you can play your favorite music if you have an ipod. Free breakfast in the morning consisting of yogurt,,european bread, cereal ,fresh cut fruit, orange juice, coffee. When I arrived they brought me a fresh pot of coffee as I had worked all night. Very impressive service. They bring you fresh pitchers of ice water, offer to get you more coffee in the morning while you sit out doors and eat and take in the beautiful landscaped grounds. They have a kitty cat on the property named Rocky. A roadrunner visited when we were there chasing bugs across the lawn. Very delightful t o watch. Hummingbirds are flying around getting nectar from the flowers. There is a big swimming pool with free flotation devices to use. A mineral hot jacuzzi around 95 degrees. And also an indoor under a gazebo soak hot tub no jets on that one. It was a very relaxing wonderful place. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a calming get away from the everyday stressors of life.

Room Tip: If you want to cook get a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not knowing what to expect of this Desert Hot Springs resort, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was more spa than resort. Small, very, very quiet, calm, lovely grounds and rejuvenating mineral pools. I went with a friend and we stayed at the villa, which was actually not on the property but just up the street. The villa was huge and very private, but I think we might have used the pools more if we were on the property. I also had the "Spring Buff" treatment, which was a 2-hour exfoliation and massage - they even washed and deep conditioned my hair! My skin felt like a baby's after that, and trust me, I'm no baby! Speaking of which, this is a completely child-free zone, which lent to the serenity and quiet. Will be back!

Room Tip: You might want to reserve a room rather than the villa, the villa is wonderful and spacious, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at The Spring Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you took the chance on us while "not knowing what to expect". I would definitely suggest trying one of our poolside rooms next time for the convenience of being just a few steps away from the pools. However, if you still like some privacy we do have our Mountainview suite which has a private patio, a full kitchen, a large open floor plan and is still only about a 30 second walk to the pool area. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day getting pampered at this great spot in Desert Hot Springs. The natural mineral pools were amazing, as was the aroma therapy massage. The friendly staff and the beautiful grounds will keep me coming back for more!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I and my boyfriend visited this place for the day spa, without any treatment. We called in advance and Mike told us, that if it is only two off us no reservation needed for the spa use. This place is AMAZING. The landscaping, the pools, the sauna and of cause the service was incredible. The most amazing thing is that it is so quite there. We spend whole day going from one pool to another. We would probably stay there till the closing time if we weren’t so hungry. (They do offer snacks, but it would be better to bring your food with you.) I will definitely recommend this place and will for sure return there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and hubby were looking for a relaxing getaway as part of our 15 days trip to USA. The weather was very cold in January, so we were happy to find a nice hot spring resort where we can actually enjoying the outdoors in January. The weather is warm in the day but windy and chilly at night in Palm Springs. Sunset around 5.30pm. (FYI for visitors planning a visit in Jan).

We had the poolside room with no kitchen. The room is very small but we had no issue other than there was no TV in the room! We didn't check before booking as we thought it was pretty standard to ve TV in a resort/ hotel room! We asked the staff and he replied that it was meant for guest to really unwind so no TV was installed. But watching TV can be relaxing too! Not a big issue though. We enjoyed the other aspects of the resorts. Free wifi provided.

The Selling point of the resort is the three hot spring pool. Three different pools with different temp. The largest one is also the coolest. The lukewarm water is perfect for swimming laps. The medium temperature pool is sheltered. Perfect for windy days or night dipping. The smallest and hottest pool has also jazzucci. Very relaxing
indeed! The pools are opened 24 hours.

I also like the fact that it is a small establishment. There are only 12 rooms. The place is never noisy nor crowded. Perfect for a relaxing getaway. There are spa and sauna but we didn't try any of that.

Breakfast consists of fruits, cereals and hard boiled eggs. We enjoyed having breakfast outdoors at the sofa near the pool. Or outside our room.

Free parking outside the resort. We drove out to eat everyday. The staff recommended us the "Lulu California bistro" at downtown Spring palms. Good food.

Overall a delightful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Spring Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
The Spring Hotel Desert Hot Springs
The Spring Resort And Spa
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Resort
Hot Spring California
The Spring Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA
Address: 12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPRING Resort & Spa is a magical place. Overlooking Palm Springs w/dramatic views of snow capped mountain peaks, magnificent mineral water emerges from the earth at 170 degrees, charged with healing, restorative minerals. Luxurious, romantic guest rooms surround 3 mineral pools, featuring king pillow-top beds, down pillows, duvets and 100% Egyptian cotton linens. THE SPRING Day Spa offers a complete line of spa treatments, massages, buffs, wraps, and facials. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spring Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Spring Resort & Spa to your Saves list