We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa to your Saves list
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14500 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Got a groupon to this place and checked it out online before purchasing. BEWARE: their website photos bear absolutely no resemblance to the real thing. Calling this place a spa is ridiculous, there is no spa, they have motel rooms they have transformed into treatment rooms and bring in outside therapists. In their defense, my therapist for a facial was quite good. Also, it's clean and the staff is nice. But bottom line: we were expecting a hotel spa resort in the dessert and we got a renovated motel on the side of the road with a nice pool and a couple of hot tubs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    108
    71
    23
    26
See reviews for
48
155
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My best friend and I stayed here for a girl's weekend. We did enjoy the courtyard area that they had as the pool was very nice and a nice temperature. They also had a lot of cool hang out spots through out which was nice if you just wanted a quiet spot to read or chill. The hot tub in the gazebo was also really neat to have. These were all the positives.

The rooms I was less impressed with. The bed was so/so and it was very dark, there was hardly any lighting in there. The bathroom was nice and that was probably the best feature of the room. The room just did not lend itself to relaxing but rather made we want to only be in there when I had to be.

The hotel is also not very close to many places which while not a big deal is something to consider. It took about 25 minutes to get to Palm Springs downtown. Desert springs just did not have much in the way of places to eat so you had to drive for it all.

I also want to comment on the restaurant that is attached. I did not let this affect my review of the hotel as they are technically separate but as I mentioned earlier there are not many places that are close by so we went to the restaurant for breakfast. It was the WORST! The food was terrible, my potatoes were burned, my friend got the wrong food. Our waitress was non existent and when she finally brought my drink out (20 minutes after I had my meal) it was the wrong drink. Then at the end when we paid, she stood over me and wouldn't hand back my card until I signed the bill. I just had never had such a bad experience at a restaurant before.

So go enjoy the courtyard and relax outside but don't expect too much from your room and please do not eat at the restaurant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from San - Francisco to Vegas with 2 night stop in Desert Hot Springs, and we glad we did. But first thanks to groupon, and thanks to management to have employees who make our stay unforgettable.
I will highlight few Ella, I believe operations manager, our lovely housekeeper Olga, and sweet server Gabi and everybody who work there, Thank you, we will return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I like this hotel. The room are big and clean. The pool and jacuzzi are perfect. Very friendly staff, especially front desk manager Ella Mnatsakanova. We forgot my shoes in the room at check out time and figured it out in couple of hours when we were very far from hotel. Ella found it and sent to our home. We adore this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

KISS THIS
Rated by Tina O
Staying there before we check into "We Care Cleansing Spa" dow the street for a week.
Its a great place to plop your head and dip into the hot springs. Its an older charming hotel and clean. We adore this place and the people are so accommodating with an accent.
Reasonable is more than fair its out right perfect for the dollar spent. Anyone who has written a bad review is not well traveled an most likely complains about life in general.

RATING 1 out of 5 Kisses or Kissed off

Aqua Soleil Hotel has earned 3 Kisses

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We wanted a relaxing "mini getaway". I was weary about this hotel based off the reviews I read. I couldn't disagree more with any of the bad reviews. People are silly and will complain about anything. We thought it was fabulous. Everything we were hoping the weekend would be and MORE!

You can't beat the mineral pools being open for use 24 HOURS A DAY. It honestly doesn't get better then that. When I read that AND that my dog could stay, I was sold. There aren't many pet friendly hotels in the Desert Hot Springs/Palm Springs area for a reasonable rate.

We went solely for the mineral pools and to be able to just relax. And that we did. The room was great, loved the shower and hard wood floors in the bathroom area. The rooms were decorated very nicely. Very simple, not too much, but very modern and elegant. The bed and pillows were comfy too. Our housekeeper, Holga ( I believe that was her name) was so nice. Every time she saw us, she asked us if we needed anything and to make sure we told her if we did. So accommodating, I love that. Kudos to her.

Not so sure I can say the same for the front desk gal. Didn't catch her name, I think she was new. That would be my biggest complaint about the hotel; the front desk staff. We weren't greeted when we arrived. We weren't told anything about the hotel, check out, where our room was, where to eat, what to do...etc. That was the only downfall. You expect that sort of thing when you stay at a place like this. If they can work on that then they get an A+++++++

If ever in the area again, we will definitely stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an older hotel that seems like it is slowly being renovated. The rooms we stayed in, were renovated, and while not the finest rooms I've stayed in, were clean and comfortable and certainly appropriate for the price we paid. We had a balcony, with a beautiful view of the Mountains, unfortunately it was toward the front of the hotel and overlooked a very noisy, 4-lane street. I would recommend that you ask for a room towards the back of the Hotel. The TV was a flat screen that got an odd assortment of channels several of which were in Spanish. The wifi was sketchy at best, I never got above one bar anywhere in the hotel. The bathrooms were clean and had a very large shower with nice, hot water. It did not have a bathtub, if that is an issue to you. The highlight of the hotel is the 2, large, hot tubs, one indoor and one outdoor, and the good sized heated pool All were very clean and in great working order. They had more than adequate seating of various sorts around the pool area, which was very attractive with palm trees and various plantings. They also had an outdoor fire pit with comfortable couches surrounding it. We had breakfast in the restaurant, which has recently been renovated. The food was very good as was the coffee (I tend to be a coffee snob) and the service was excellent. On the down side, the elevator is really in awful condition, sort of scary really, the stairways and hallways were dark and badly in need of fresh paint and even featured a bare wire hanging from the ceiling at one point. The pool area seemed to constantly be out of towels. In order to get ice, we had to trek down 3 floors and go to the bar in the front of the hotel. The parking lot is very poorly lit, which could be a safety issue. Palm Springs is about a 15 minute drive,if want to go to a decent restaurant or shopping etc. On the bright side, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. I get the impression they take pride in their place and are working hard to make it better. All in all, I think this place is a relative bargain and I'm guessing it will continue to get better as they continue their renovations.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the back of the property away from Palm Drive. We stayed on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa

Address: 14500 Palm Drive, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the San Bernardino Mountains and at the edge of Joshua Tree National Park is the city of Desert Hot Springs, California, where you will find one of the best kept spa hotel secrets called the Aqua Soleil Hotel and Mineral Water Spa. Our hotel features three gleaming pools filled with hot mineral water drawn from the Desert Hot Springs aquifer deep beneath the earth’s surface by our onsite well. For centuries this odorless and mineral-rich water is believed to hold curative powers. We offer a variety of well-appointed room types to fit your needs, all of which have been recently remodeled. Our Single Queen and King rooms afford comfortable accommodations with unique and radiant color schemes. Our Double Queen rooms offer a second queen-sized bed and are ideal for guests needing additional space. Our Soleil Suites feature a huge 6x10’ private, jetted mineral water pool inside of the suite.Our full-service spa, The Spa at Soleil, offers a number of relaxing and rejuvenating body treatments, facials and massages. When you get hungry or thirsty, our onsite restaurant and bar, Kafe|Bar, is open daily to take care of your food and beverage needs.The Aqua Soleil Hotel and Mineral Water Spa is the ideal getaway spot for those looking for a serene and relaxing atmosphere at an affordable price. Some might say we offer a taste of Palm Springs, just 15 minutes away, without the Palm Springs prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Desert Hot Springs
Aqua Soleil Hotel And Mineral Water Spa
Agua Caliente Hotel
Agua Caliente Resort
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.