We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68187 Club Circle Dr., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240 (Formerly Highland Spring Waters)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have been coming to Tuscan Springs on and off for many years now and recently got married. My husband and I are both extremely busy working but wanted to take a small honeymoon to relax and get away. Of course I came to Tuscan Springs and we had such a wonderful time I had to write a review.

The place is so cute and adorable and every time I visit it seems to get even cuter. The decor is elegant and the place has a great romantic atmosphere, which was so perfect for our honeymoon weekend. The spa services were divine! Definitely one of the best massages of my life!!! The customer service was excellent and they were beyond nice. They couldn't have been more accommodating. Once they heard we were on our honeymoon they went out of their way to make sure we felt special. Just absolutely amazing!!!

The rooms are super cute and the beds are comfortable and clean. For sleeping in a hotel bed I felt like I was at home. Its nice to have a bed that doesn't have an old comforter but white, clean sheets that feel good when you lay on them.

Our short honeymoon was perfect and I can't wait to come back!!! So much love for this place!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I frankly do NOT like giving these types of reviews, browse my reviews you will take notice that I like to be "fair". I am a business owner myself, we all know that this economy needs boosting & I am ALL for it! I LOVE PROMOTING BUSINESSES that "EARN" it! People work hard pleasing customers with no "validation" I go out of my way to ENSURE people are aware that I appreciated their hospitality. I could not get myself to turn a blind eye to this FILTH, no reason for it, whatsoever. I AM SORRY, I NEED TO POST WHAT OCCURRED!

THE HAIR WAS ENMESHED IN THE BEDSPREAD SO BADLY IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO REMOVE! IT WAS A GROSS NIGHTMARE!!!

I thought "maybe they cut someone's hair on the bed & never washed the bedspread" but once I lifted the fitted sheet off the bed I realized their was DRIED UP OLD PAINT CHIPS & who knows what else! My husband & I quickly placed the sheet back on the bed & grabbed towels & wrapped ourselves in the towels (believe it or not we slept on chairs in the room wrapped in bath towels). We were so disgusted & discouraged we QUICKLY left once we found availability.

WHY...did we not leave that night....
It was 11 p.m. & unfortunately the places we called were booked & over 25 miles away. This place is NOT WORTH your hard earned money NOR your time!!! Too many nice hotels, B&B's, villas to take a RISK at this property. Not to mention CLEANLINESS should be a priority before DECOR...not at this property!!!

Neighborhood?
Nothing to be desired, very unpleasant, nothing but a field across the way that looks like it has not been touched in over a decade, the surrounding area is not mediocre it is less than. I have NO IDEA why the reviews do not comment on any of this. YEA! If you ONLY care about esthetics this is the PROPERTY for you! Who would ENJOY Disneyland if it contained rats.... It's obvious the grounds have not been hosed down in a long time, no thanks!

I have been vacationing in the P. Springs area for over 35 years & I have NEVER in my life seen such a filthy room! NOT EVEN IN LOW BUDGET HOTELS, THIS IS THE HONEST TRUTH! I have traveled to CUBA (3rd world country) & the B&B's were SPOTLESS!!! Not "1" bad experience. I travel often all OVER the U.S. & NEVER have I encountered such lack of hygiene :(

The reason this PLACE has high ratings is due to the esthetics of the property. YES THIS IS TRUE! The spa, the metal lounge beds, the wood beams, the warm interior of the lobby is FANTASTIC! Very impressive actually, I was stunned that the interior has nothing in common with CLEANLINESS. The decor is AMAZING!! The woodwork alone is a standout. TOO BAD they do not have "HYGIENE" on their list of priorities :(

The property needs to be STRIPPED down & cleaned thoroughly!!!!!

BTW...the customer service was indeed EXCELLENT.....

*Noteworthy
Management really needs to have checks in place for cleanliness!

FIVE STAR'S FOR THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUSCANSPRINGS, Owner at Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We take all of our reviews, whether positive or negative into account and always try to address any issue. I understand that you are saying you had a bad experience with us however, we do not understand why our "excellent" customer service was never given the opportunity to address your issue or even be notified about your experience. When you arrived at the hotel you were already noticeably upset because you weren't located in the heart of Palm Springs. We are located in Desert Hot Springs and though this area is not like Palm Springs guests come to our Hotel & Spa to enjoy our place. Most of our guests hardly leave our hotel and come for relaxation and to enjoy our mineral water pools. All of our guest rooms have their own fridge so many of our guests bring food with them or have food delivered from a near by restaurant. You mentioned in your review that you are surprised why most reviews don't address this issue of location. This is because guests come to our hotel FOR the HOTEL and not the location. Our hotel creates an atmosphere of relaxation and a feeling of serenity. From the moment you step into our lobby you feel transported to a magical place. I noticed in your review that you used the example of Disneyland and that makes sense since like Disneyland we are in fact a special place and strive to give our guests the best experience possible. Our hotel is not a cookie cutter basic hotel with minimal amenities. And therefore guests come out to Desert Hot Springs for our Hotel & Spa. In fact most of our guests say they prefer Desert Hot Springs over Palm Springs because it is a more relaxed city and not crowded with too many tourists. You mentioned that the land around looks like it has not been touched for ten years and that is in fact correct because we have surrounding the hotel natural native untouched desert land. So for once and for all we are not located anywhere else but Desert Hot Springs and we have owned and operated this property for over twenty years and we are very proud of our city with its beautiful mountain views and magical healing mineral waters that only this city has!
Now as far as you saying that our guestroom is "filthy" that comes to us as a complete shock. First of all you mention that we have bed spreads in our rooms, this is untrue. Every guestroom has a white duvet (sheet) that covers the down comforter on the bed which is replaced and washed after each guest. So you say that this white sheet was covered in so much hair that it looked like someone cut their hair. This cannot be true since I the owner double check every guest room before each check in. You also say that you found "paint chips" in the mattress this also cannot be true since the mattresses are completely taken out of any room being renovated. Also we do not paint our rooms we have them Venetianed Plastered which would not look like paint chips. I went back and checked each mattress and cannot identify anything. You mention that you yourself is a bussiness owner and that you thought we had excellent customer service then I wonder why would you not come and address these issues with us. With each guest we do a tour of the property and escort you to your guestroom. I (the owner) personnally stood at the entrance of your room while you checked out your accomodations which included you touching the top of the bed. I asked you if everything is ok and you said yes. If later on you discover an issue, and feel you have to sleep on chairs why would you not come inform me since we are there 24 hours a day? When you checked in I informed you that I am there 24 hours a day and always accessible if you need anything. Also if you had to sleep on a chair why would you not tell me the next day since again you felt our customer service was EXCELLENT? If someone has a bad experience at our Hotel & Spa we will do anything to help rectify the situation in any way we can! You mention you are a avid travelor then why not discuss this issue with us?
All of our guestrooms are newly renovated and are thoroughly cleaned daily. We pride ourselves on keeping everything well maintained including cleanliness and making it beautifull! How can we have excellent customer service, beautiful detailed decor, a "fantastic" lobby and spa area, as you state, and yet leave a bed covered in hair? We pay close attention to every detail and are bewildered at such a harsh claim!

You mention in your review that you like to be "fair" however you never gave us a fair opportuity to work out this issue that you have stated occured. At Tuscan Springs Hotel & Spa we are not happy that you had a negative experience and wish we could have given you that wonderful experience that so many of our guests have. We wish you well on many more of your future travels!
Camelia
Owner Tuscan Springs Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Tuscan Springs 4 times in the past few years for 3-5 day getaways. I decided to write a review because this place is so perfect. The rooms are beautiful and romantic. The mineral springs are healing. The breakfast area is easy and excellent. The hosts are excellent at helping make everything suitable but also giving you your privacy. The views of the mountains and the deserts are gorgeous. And the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, but if you want an extra bonus then go for the room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here President's Day weekend 2013 because we decided to go to the desert "last minute" and everything that looked good to us in Palm Springs was booked. We discovered this gem after we expanded our search. I cannot say enough nice things about this place. Relaxing. Beautiful. Wonderful staff. Gorgeous rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My daughter and I were in town for Thanksgiving and decided to spend a day at Tuscan Springs. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The pool area is beautiful, with comfortable poolside chaises, couches and poolside beds. There are three pools, each offering a different temperature of therapeutic, detoxifying, natural mineral water. The pools themselves are lovely, tiled in shades of blue with stone accents. Since the facility is adults-only, the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. After we had soaked for awhile, it was time for our treatments. We each had the European Rose Mud Wrap, followed by a massage. These were provided by very expert therapists, and we were more than happy with the entire hedonistic experience. We spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and soaking. Next time we are in the Palm Springs area we will stay at Tuscan Springs. Its absolutely more than we hoped for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a nice Day Spa in the Desert Springs area. This place did not disappoint. If you book a treatment at the spa, you can use their jacuzzis and mineral pools. So we decided to arrive early and enjoy some jacuzzi time before getting a couple's massage. The place was beautiful. The spa area had cute cabanas set up around the pools. There was a place to make tea or coffee. That in itself was relaxing. But the massages were amazing. Gloria and Shamera were wonderful. We got the signature massage that incorporates aromatherapy. We both were so relaxed after leaving. We enjoyed our day there so much, we plan to come back later and stay at the hotel. The owner was so pleasant to chat with. We will come back here for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

This place is like a home away from home. The owner is very welcoming. The coffee was amazing. The rooms are cozy and beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa

Address: 68187 Club Circle Dr., Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240 (Formerly Highland Spring Waters)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscan Springs is a lavish Italian inspired Hotel & Spa tucked away in Desert Hot Springs, Ca just north of Palm Springs, Ca. Come and enjoy your stay in any of our newly renovated Garden View or Mountain view Jacuzzi rooms. Treat you or someone special to any of our wide array of spa services. Wrap yourself in your plush robe and grab a light snack in our Tuscan Lounge before going to relax in one of our three hot mineral pools. Here at Tuscan Springs we look forward to transporting you to a comfortable and relaxing reality. Tuscan Springs Hotel & Spa is a Sixteen Room Boutique Hotel which features two natural mineral water Jacuzzis and a large natural mineral water pool. All of our water is pumped from a 350 ft aqua well that is naturally volcanically heated to 115 degrees. All the pools are held at varying temperatures for swimming and soaking comfort. Tuscan Springs offers a complimentary expanded continental breakfast which features Starbucks French Press Coffees and a variety of fruits, breads, bagels and cheeses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscan Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Tuscan Springs Hotel And Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.