We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Areolas Spa and Resort

Areolas Spa and Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Areolas Spa and Resort
Save
You added Areolas Spa and Resort to your Saves list
11740 Mesquite Ave, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awful !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a joke not a resort ! This place had no management , no room service , no nothing . We stayed for 2 nights , nobody even came or offered us to clean our room . We originally booked a suit and they gave us just a regular room. They didn't even have reservation services , I'm not even talking about reservation number . Just do not go there, don't waste ur money , book it somewhere else .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a room for the nite at this clothing optional resort now know as ANAHATA springs in Desert Hot Springs. This is an adults only hotel. We have stayed here before but never had the problem we are having today!!! We arrived at 12 (check in is 10 am) and a wake was going on. There are children here...so we have been camped out in our room for 4 hours, air conditioner not cooling, can't go in the pool because no one bothered to let us know we need a swim suit. I am so angry...will never stay here again and will contest the charges if they try to make us pay for the room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Areolas, Owner at Areolas Spa and Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our manager's Mom had a tragic death. We offered our retreat to her family from Indonesia to have a wake. The wake was to be over by 5pm, 2 hours after our normal 3pm check in time. We were very sorry for the inconvenience and before we could give these folks a free 2 night stay, they left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

it is so relaxing!!!!! not posh, down to earth, and therapeutic. Staff is simpatico. good for couples, solo or with friends. bring your own food and beverages. Tuesday is best day for women, 1/2 off massages.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I have attended Areolas about 5 times since the summer of 2011. We typically go there during the week because we really enjoy the peace and tranquility. We have stayed the night for the weekend and it was quite pleasant. We intended on staying for the day on Friday, was invited to stay the night, and did not end up leaving until Monday morning. It is quite apparent the owner (very nice man) has put a lot of money into the resort as the paint and accutraments are new.
If there is a negative about the place, it would have to be the new policy that men must cover up if they walk anywhere. It has been said from other guests that the girlfriend of the owner made this policy because of some hanky panky in the jacuzzi. All I can say is it takes two to tango, and do not shot gun the resort and ALL of the guests because she does not like the site of mens genitalia. It is a clothing optional resort for peets sake. We will not be attending if we know she is there. That is the reason we go during the week. We know big sister will not be watching our every move.
On a separate note, Kat has done a superb job and we feel very welcome when she is there.

Room Tip: All of them are good. There are some with a full kitchen. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We enjoy Areola's periodically. While it IS a bit off the beaten path, we find that that is also one of its charms, as "impulse guests" are a rarity and as a result you seldom find people who have never been at a clothing optional spa and who may be uncomfortable with the human body and all of its forms.

We sun and splash in the pool and spa nude, but do conform to the managements request to wear a sarong to cover "bits" in the bar/bbq/dining area and while walking about. While that may be cumbersome to some, it's a normal thing at some of the other "clothing optional" spa's we have attended.

We have done both day trips and overnighters there for the last couple of years, and enjoyed both aspects. Whether there for the day or overnight, weekdays are low key and relaxing, a great time to bask in the sun or read a bestseller you haven't had time to enjoy. Weekend days are busier and great for chatting with other guests, whether strangers or friends, but still fine if you want to simply bask or surf the net in peace.

If staying overnight, we usually take a "suite" to take advantage of the opportunity to cook and eat in, and be able to be naked (or saronged) for the duration of our visit. And we always bring something to bbq for dinner, thanks to the fact that they have a bbq available for guest use. A time or two, we have taken one of the available menu's for nearby eateries that deliver or offer take out, if we didn't feel like cooking, and have always been happy with what we ordered and received.

We are particularly fond of Rooms # 4 and #2, both being "Shiva" King suites. Both have separate kitchen areas with sliding doors so if one of you has insomnia, the other can read, surf the net or snack with the light on and not disturb the other. We have also stayed in #3 and #6 ("Shakti" Queen suites), and #15, ("Om" Queen room) all are very nice as well, but we prefer the roominess of a King bed. When staying overnight, we particularly enjoy being able to swim quietly in the pool as late as we want or wake with the sun to a hot cup of coffee and a peaceful morning swim.

We've never taken advantage of the massage services, but they are offered.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

It is sooo sad when a place you have enjoyed on several visits changes without warning!
Areola's WAS a low key clothing optional experience with a nice warm outdoor pool, indoor pool(even warmer) and a staff who were pleasant although never actually welcoming or really helpful.
We always overlooked the lackadaisical management style because we really enjoyed the natural hot springs water in the pools and the freedom to swim and sun in the nude!!
Yesterday we returned early after only spending 1 night(we had planned on 2) because without warning the "rules" changed!! We understand that sometimes a group takes over the hotel and then there is no room for others to come. THIS time a group had not taken over the entire place so we were booked to be there and NEVER told that the quiet clothing optional resort we enjoyed was turning into an event that included a DJ and would only allow us to be topless. You folks who don't ordinarily go to clothing optional resorts may not understand why this was a deal breaker for us!! It was the total lack of consideration for us as previous guests that made us feel NOone cared if we were happy or not during our visit!! NO consideration = NEVER returning!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

First time at a clothing optional spa and loved it. The people are so friendly and the staff are a amazing. We arived late and they left the key out for us. It felt so wonderful to relax in the spa and going swimming at 11:00 at night.
We BBQ, met new freinds and hung out all day enjoying the warm sunshine. I felt so comfortable being there and can't wait to go back.
Thank you Kathy for being an exceptional host. Almost forgot to mention Cinna, you are the host with most.
Y and Peter

Room Tip: The suites have an amazing view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Areolas Spa and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areolas Spa and Resort

Address: 11740 Mesquite Ave, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Areolas is a clothing optional, hot springs fed, boutique spa and resort for adult couples and women. Based on tantric traditions, Areolas has been designed to take you away from your hectic life, an escape to enhance the intimate relationship with your partner or yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Areolas Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Areolas Spa And Resort Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Areolas Spa and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.