We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Solitude and Healing Waters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miracle Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Miracle Manor to your Saves list
Miracle Manor
12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Desert Solitude and Healing Waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I've been coming to Miracle Manor several times a year for the past seven years. Miracle manor is a semi-rejuvenated old 50's motel with a 21st Century design aesthetic. I like the hot mineral water pools, the simple comfort of the rooms, the excellent massage treatments, comfortable bed and linens, and the healthy continental breakfast. The view over the valley and of the mountains are incredible. One should understand that this is not a full service hotel, but a small facility designed for quiet personal retreats. I always leave feeling rested and relaxed.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
34
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Well, the place is unique and the managers of the inn kindly refunded our deposit when we asked to leave early. Problems? Super hard, I mean really, really hard bed. No blinds/shades on windows and lights left on outside shine in all night long. Neighborhood noise was intrusive from about 5-10 pm. Nice pool and hot pool. Just too tired to enjoy......

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

This was our second stay at Miracle Manor. It's a little on the pricey side, but last year it was well worth it. This time, to our surprise, even though we stayed for four nights with the kitchen unit included, there was zero room service. Not even the garbage bags in the kitchen were replaced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This was my third amazing trip to Miracle Manor Retreat, but this time I brought my mom. This was her first trip to California, and of course the desert. We got rooms 5 and 6, which have a full kitchen between them and made our stay better than perfect. This is a place to relax, enjoy the scenery, take amazing pictures and of course unwind in the thermal waters while catching up on your reading. I assure you that you wont want to leave...and you'll come back, like us! Across the street is Cabot's Trading Post, a museum and gift shop and an amazing place to take pictures. Miracle Manor Retreat offers a continental breakfast...with hard-boiled eggs, a wide selection of amazing organic breads, jams and yogurts, with fresh seasonal fruit and the refreshing cucumber water. There are so many options...you'll have a very late lunch. We've loved this place so much that we bought a bed very similar to the custom made one in the rooms, due to the convenience of under bed storage and how it elongates the room. The managers Greg and Chery are amazing, very friendly and welcoming. The best thing about this place, well other than the pool, simplicity and decor is the location, only 1 hr and 50 minute drive from Pasadena to feel like you are in a different state, due to the change of scenery and weather. There is no noise other that the sounds of nature...what's better than that!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We arrived at the hotel with an itinerary of things to see and do nearby. Once we stepped into the mineral waters of the pool, however, we canceled every plan we had just to relax in the warm waters. Something about this place lets you clear your mind and enjoy doing absolutely nothing: perhaps it's the intimate setting, the minimalist styling, or the stunning view of the desert that makes you feel like you're far away from reality.

The rooms are gorgeous: no TVs, clocks, or radios, just a beautiful view of the desert. The staff is very friendly, and our massage was delightful. Their complimentary breakfast included a selection of fresh, organic foods, which was a nice touch.

We left the Manor feeling refreshed and rejuvenated, and with tons of beautiful photographs. Be sure to pack a camera!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Miracle Manor was just what I needed. Conference by day in nearby Palm Springs, relaxing and revitalization at Miracle Minor each evening. Miracle Manor is peaceful, no hustle and bustle here. Take a dip in the mineral pool before bed and again before the amazing natural foods breakfast which comes free with your stay. Also sit by the pool at night enjoying the delightful breeze along with the twinkling stars and you will find yourself promising to return here. One confession, skip the conference one day and go to Joshua Tree National Forest, once back at Miracle Manor take a dip in the mineral pool and you know you made the right choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Miracle Manor was a wonderful get away experience. The once mid-century motel has been transformed into a very simple yet extremely rich Zhen like space where I felt encouraged to relax, reflect and be healthful. Outside each room is a small sitting area and ready access to both the mineral pool and hot tub. From the Manors location at the edge of town the view is inspiring. The atmosphere is peaceful and quiet, yet the manager is friendly, helpful and very available. She offered advice and directions to area attractions and put on an amazing complimentary whole foods breakfast each morning that really set us up for a day of hiking and site seeing. After a day in the desert the tranquility of the Manor was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miracle Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miracle Manor

Address: 12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miracle Manor Retreat is a six-room 50s era spa motel that sits atop Miracle Hill. The Miracle lies in the aquifer some 400 feet below the surface – the source of geothermal mineral waters. Innovatively restored by its owners, artist April Greiman and architect Michael Rotondi, the Manor’s highly detailed simplicity invites reflection, renewal and rejuvenation with two therapeutic geothermal pools, customized spa treatments, peaceful aesthetic and seamless embrace of its desert surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Miracle Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miracle Manor Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Miracle Manor Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miracle Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.