We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miracle Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Miracle Manor to your Saves list
Miracle Manor
12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
always changing
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Maybe a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

It was the first stop on a classic road trip. My friend had flown into SD from DC and we drove until 2am to get there. So our real first impression was after a good sleep headed down to find coffee. We were in the room with twin beds. We were the only ones there since it was midweek. It felt like we had rented the whole resort so it was a pretty good deal. The second night the little foam cushion bed seemed a bit less comfortable... but maybe it was just the springs grinding the stress out of tight muscles. The massage was awesome. Loved it. My friend and I hadn't seen each other in months so we had lots to catch up on.

I don't think the room with the little twin beds would be comfortable for more than a couple of nights. Aesthetically very pleasing, but very tight fit with all the furniture. I swear some hip modern bunk beds in there would have been great... or to use it as the massage studio it was built to be.

The manager was interesting. He helped us out with some maps and provided a nice spread at breakfast. We took a little advantage of the situation and helped ourselves to breakfast for lunch too... but we couldn't get out of our robes and swimsuits.

  • Liked — The pools were wonderful. Very clean. Nice to have the windscreen and separate hotter pool.
  • Disliked — Can't say.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
35
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

I was looking for a private, quiet time in the desert, to unplug from a particularly stressful project, and Miracle Manor hit the spot. It's not your typical hotel but should be thought of as a retreat as much as a hotel. For example, room clean-up and linen pick-up doesn't come unless you request it, in an effort to provide more solitude.

The decor is quite minimal, but not shabby. Contrary to what another reviewer wrote, my room did have an air conditioner, but there's no carpet (nice clean floor instead), and no conventional closet (minimalist designed hanging bar and hangers). It's not opulent, but tidy and elegant, which is what some people are looking for.

The service from the proprietor was excellent. The included breakfast she provided was great; nice breads and spreads, fruit, fancy cereals, tea, etc. She also made a lunch and dinner - available if you request ahead of time - and they were superb as well. Very fresh and 'clean'.

  • Liked — Quiet isolation.
  • Disliked — A little pricey.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Miracle Manor is a lovely hidden spot and an excellent place to relax and get away. The rooms are clean and simple. The staff is super friendly and helpful, but very hands-off (Julie was great!). The pool and the water are totally amazing. If you're looking for a quiet, easy retreat I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMac70
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This is a great place to relax. The massage is one of the best I've ever had. The place is a clean mix of 60's modern and post modern with very nice sheets, soaps, robes, etc. The pool is the high point, the spring water in it, the hot pool and on tap is sublime.

  • Liked — It's a great place to relax.
  • Disliked — You have to drive to neighboring palm springs for high end dining, not that big of a deal.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

There are some good things about Miracle Manor, but I don't want to go back. The spring-fed pools were relaxing, if a bit bug-filled. (The pool guy was scheduled for the following day.) The manager was friendly and made a nice breakfast. I liked the lack of housekeeping interruptions, but you aren't going to get your room cleaned or your trash emptied on a regular basis. (Contrary to the review below, there is in fact a housekeeper. I saw her cleaning a vacated room.) The room is very light during the daytime, even with the blinds drawn, but at night the lamps provided barely light the place up well enough to read. Also, my room's air conditioning operated at two settings: cold (regardless of what temperature the thermostat was on) and off. With no blanket on the bed, this was not only wasteful but uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Miracle Manor is an older property that was purchased by new owners -- 11 years (or so) ago -- and remodeled. Many reviews -- especially the ones referenced on their website -- are quite positive.

After staying there I have to assume that ANY positive review of this property must have been written years ago. If this place was ever great there are very few traces of that left.

To wit:

Our room -- though well-photographed on the website -- was incredibly tiny and dingy. There were no closets and a dingy bathroom, all in a poor state of repair. The bathroom door was crumbing, the bathroom windows were stuck open, and dim lighting that is nearly worthless.

Service: perhaps the worst I've ever seen at any hotel (including my travels to Eastern Europe while it was still Communist). Lowlights would include:

1. During our nearly week-long stay, no one EVER emptied the garbage from either the kitchen or the room.

2. It was nearly impossible to get clean towels. The dirty ones were never collected from the room and the hotel supply by the pool and hot tub was seldom resupplied.

3. There appears to be NO housekeeping staff; during our entire stay the room was never cleaned, the sheets were never changed, and the bed was never made.

4. The manager of the property seems to be unaware that he is working in a business that demands a certain level of customer service. Any requests always seemed like an imposition.

As though that weren't enough, the property is situated in an area that doesn't feel safe. A large vacant lot next door is littered with shattered beer bottles. There is significant helicopter traffic overhead; twice during our stay there were police helicopters flying overhead with searchlights.

Another evening, as we approached the hotel entrance, a group of youths were tagging the entrance with spray-painted graffiti.

On the last night of our stay a rear gate -- which, we were told, is always locked for security -- suddenly popped open as we were soaking in the tub, and a couple walked directly into the pool/hot tub area. This was at 10 p.m. and they were lost, since the hotel address does NOT correspond to the actual hotel entrance.

I don't consider myself picky, as I frequently stay at hot springs resorts that have almost NO amenities. The difference is that -- in those cases -- I get what I pay for because the rates match the quality of the facility.

In the case of Miracle Manor, they are charging a room rate that is at least double what is appropriate given the quality of the property and the service provided. Their rates are at the top of the market for this area, but the property is second-rate.

In short, Miracle Manor is completely overrated and thoroughly disappointing; they'll never get a repeat visit from either me or anyone I know. All this, of course, is IMHO...

  • Liked — The weather in Desert Hot Springs...
  • Disliked — The complete lack of basic housekeeping services: trash removal, basic cleaning, fresh linens...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Want to relax and unwind in lovely, natural, and harmonious atmosphere? Then Miracle Manor is for you. There’s no hype here, just stirring mountain views from a truly fabulous mineral water pool kept at two temps for in-between dipping. Back-friendly mattresses with all-natural bedding promote deep sleep. The a/c units work great quietly and the rooms are simple, lovely, and functional. Miracle Manor is not a snobby, high-end resort. It’s down to earth and aesthetic in a low-key way, and it has a lot of heart. Bring a book or your laptop (wifi connection in the room is excellent) but leave behind your dogs, kids, noise, ambitions, and worries. For me it was bliss.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miracle Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miracle Manor

Address: 12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miracle Manor Retreat is a six-room 50s era spa motel that sits atop Miracle Hill. The Miracle lies in the aquifer some 400 feet below the surface – the source of geothermal mineral waters. Innovatively restored by its owners, artist April Greiman and architect Michael Rotondi, the Manor’s highly detailed simplicity invites reflection, renewal and rejuvenation with two therapeutic geothermal pools, customized spa treatments, peaceful aesthetic and seamless embrace of its desert surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Miracle Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miracle Manor Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Miracle Manor Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miracle Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.