We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miracle Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Miracle Manor to your Saves list
Miracle Manor
12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

Miracle Manor is a lovely hidden spot and an excellent place to relax and get away. The rooms are clean and simple. The staff is super friendly and helpful, but very hands-off (Julie was great!). The pool and the water are totally amazing. If you're looking for a quiet, easy retreat I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
34
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JMac70
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This is a great place to relax. The massage is one of the best I've ever had. The place is a clean mix of 60's modern and post modern with very nice sheets, soaps, robes, etc. The pool is the high point, the spring water in it, the hot pool and on tap is sublime.

  • Liked — It's a great place to relax.
  • Disliked — You have to drive to neighboring palm springs for high end dining, not that big of a deal.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

There are some good things about Miracle Manor, but I don't want to go back. The spring-fed pools were relaxing, if a bit bug-filled. (The pool guy was scheduled for the following day.) The manager was friendly and made a nice breakfast. I liked the lack of housekeeping interruptions, but you aren't going to get your room cleaned or your trash emptied on a regular basis. (Contrary to the review below, there is in fact a housekeeper. I saw her cleaning a vacated room.) The room is very light during the daytime, even with the blinds drawn, but at night the lamps provided barely light the place up well enough to read. Also, my room's air conditioning operated at two settings: cold (regardless of what temperature the thermostat was on) and off. With no blanket on the bed, this was not only wasteful but uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Miracle Manor is an older property that was purchased by new owners -- 11 years (or so) ago -- and remodeled. Many reviews -- especially the ones referenced on their website -- are quite positive.

After staying there I have to assume that ANY positive review of this property must have been written years ago. If this place was ever great there are very few traces of that left.

To wit:

Our room -- though well-photographed on the website -- was incredibly tiny and dingy. There were no closets and a dingy bathroom, all in a poor state of repair. The bathroom door was crumbing, the bathroom windows were stuck open, and dim lighting that is nearly worthless.

Service: perhaps the worst I've ever seen at any hotel (including my travels to Eastern Europe while it was still Communist). Lowlights would include:

1. During our nearly week-long stay, no one EVER emptied the garbage from either the kitchen or the room.

2. It was nearly impossible to get clean towels. The dirty ones were never collected from the room and the hotel supply by the pool and hot tub was seldom resupplied.

3. There appears to be NO housekeeping staff; during our entire stay the room was never cleaned, the sheets were never changed, and the bed was never made.

4. The manager of the property seems to be unaware that he is working in a business that demands a certain level of customer service. Any requests always seemed like an imposition.

As though that weren't enough, the property is situated in an area that doesn't feel safe. A large vacant lot next door is littered with shattered beer bottles. There is significant helicopter traffic overhead; twice during our stay there were police helicopters flying overhead with searchlights.

Another evening, as we approached the hotel entrance, a group of youths were tagging the entrance with spray-painted graffiti.

On the last night of our stay a rear gate -- which, we were told, is always locked for security -- suddenly popped open as we were soaking in the tub, and a couple walked directly into the pool/hot tub area. This was at 10 p.m. and they were lost, since the hotel address does NOT correspond to the actual hotel entrance.

I don't consider myself picky, as I frequently stay at hot springs resorts that have almost NO amenities. The difference is that -- in those cases -- I get what I pay for because the rates match the quality of the facility.

In the case of Miracle Manor, they are charging a room rate that is at least double what is appropriate given the quality of the property and the service provided. Their rates are at the top of the market for this area, but the property is second-rate.

In short, Miracle Manor is completely overrated and thoroughly disappointing; they'll never get a repeat visit from either me or anyone I know. All this, of course, is IMHO...

  • Liked — The weather in Desert Hot Springs...
  • Disliked — The complete lack of basic housekeeping services: trash removal, basic cleaning, fresh linens...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Want to relax and unwind in lovely, natural, and harmonious atmosphere? Then Miracle Manor is for you. There’s no hype here, just stirring mountain views from a truly fabulous mineral water pool kept at two temps for in-between dipping. Back-friendly mattresses with all-natural bedding promote deep sleep. The a/c units work great quietly and the rooms are simple, lovely, and functional. Miracle Manor is not a snobby, high-end resort. It’s down to earth and aesthetic in a low-key way, and it has a lot of heart. Bring a book or your laptop (wifi connection in the room is excellent) but leave behind your dogs, kids, noise, ambitions, and worries. For me it was bliss.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

On a recent trip to southern California, I stayed at the Miracle Manor in Desert Hot Springs. I have been to the town several times before but this was my first stay at this property. Like most places in the area it is a 50's style motel with a natural hot mineral water pool. There were several downsides to my stay; the price was slightly higher than what i usually pay at superior places, so i wasn't happy with the inferior accommodations. The room was very warm (the days were in the 90's) and there was no air-conditioning, the very thin window coverings did little to block out the lights outside my room that remained on all night making it difficult to fall asleep. The property seems to be going thru a renovation, when i asked about that i was told it was a continual process. The place seemed abit shabby. Walls were being painted and a strange contraption was built over part of the pool as an enclosure, not very scenic. Breakfast is included with the room, but that too was a disappointment, stale breads, cereal, yogurt, and a few pieces of fresh fruit were on offer. The rooms were furnished with cheap pieces of retro-style furniture, and the towels and sheets were from Kmart and seemed worn.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

This is like a motel in the 1950's, with chairs outside your door, simple furniture and pink and green towels. Some rooms have kitchenettes. We loved soaking for hours in the hot pool. We also spent a day at the nearby Two Bunch Palm spa, which was super posh and had wonderful treatments available, but it would have been way more expensive to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miracle Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miracle Manor

Address: 12589 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miracle Manor Retreat is a six-room 50s era spa motel that sits atop Miracle Hill. The Miracle lies in the aquifer some 400 feet below the surface – the source of geothermal mineral waters. Innovatively restored by its owners, artist April Greiman and architect Michael Rotondi, the Manor’s highly detailed simplicity invites reflection, renewal and rejuvenation with two therapeutic geothermal pools, customized spa treatments, peaceful aesthetic and seamless embrace of its desert surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Miracle Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miracle Manor Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Miracle Manor Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miracle Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.