We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grotto at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa

The Grotto at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
67-425 Two Bunch Palms Trail, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
800-472-4334
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The GrottoGrotto FB 2 300x199 The GrottoThroughout history, cultures have been drawn to water. The practice commonly known as ‘taking of the waters’ refers to thousands of years of social, medicinal & spiritual rituals created to experience the preventative, therapeutic, and restorative benefits of water. It is in these same rituals that we find the root of Spa.*The mineral waters found in The Grotto are first cooled and then they cascade into the two carved pool areas – one at 104 degrees and the larger at 99 degrees. It is one of the few mineral springs with no sulfurous odor, simply a woodsy scent. A canopy of trees filters the desert sun, but opens to the shimmer of moonlight, the sparkle of stars and the occasional nighttime flyover by our resident guardian white owls. The Grotto experienced at midnight is a heavenly delight, a thoroughly romantic indulgence.Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa was named “Best for Mineral Springs” each year 2004 through 2010 by the readers of Spa Finder Magazine.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I LOVE this place. I haven't been able to go since they don't allow children and I just had one. I miss it. I'd go often over the last 20 years. I love the grotto, dinning room and pond full of ducks and turtles. The last time I went we stayed in a casita with a private spa. It's romantic, secluded and so beautiful. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Al Capone knew a thing or two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a small discrete restaurant in a great setting. If you have time spend a few nights on the property and enjoy a massage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyheigue, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hidden elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Never have done the spa thing there, but a great favorite for our "special occasion" dinners. You need to make reservations in advance or you won't get past the gated entry. After all this was reputed to be Al Capone's desert hangout, so just anyone can't get in!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Have been coming for years and was shocked to discover what a dump this resort had become in every sense of the word. Our room was dark & dingy, the resort restaurant food inedible and the management very agressive, rude and utterly unhelpful. Best to strike this resort off your list. Even if they offered a free stay we would not take it!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Now owned by the bank and running on fumes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This place used to be a favorite of mine. I've been going there for 10 years and enjoyed it very much. Now, however, it is in foreclosure and the service, food, and experience is terrible. The bank has hired someone to run the place and as often happens in this situation they have lost many of their good staff and replaced them with what seems to be the least expensive, least trained staff they could find. They have kept prices high and reduced the quality of their product significantly. Save your money and hope someone buys 2 Bunch Palms and restores it to its former standards when it was a lovely place.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grotto at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa also viewed

Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 

Been to The Grotto at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grotto at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.