We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67425 Two Bunch Palms Trail, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

To my surprise the grotto is just like a large spa and it smells like chlorine is used. It is essentially a man made pool which importa the hot mineral water (not as I had imagined). The updated restaurant was lovely and the food was excellent at a fair value. The massage was very good but somewhat unprofessional in that the massage therapist accepted three separate calls on her cell phone during my treatment. Lastly the place doesn't have good energy - the patrons don't interact and are very granola.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We'd like to dispel a misconception - We are a natural Grotto that is not chlorinated on any regular basis. It is a natural spring Grotto that recharges every 24 hours and returns to the ground at Two Bunch Palms. We do seek to have the purest of artesian hot mineral springs well water from our site but on occasion add trace elements of chlorine to prevent algae during hot months or busy seasons.
We apologize about the therapist. This issue has been addressed with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    49
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
116
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I spent three days here and left completely relaxed and replenished. Every spa treatment I had was excellent - beyond my expectations. The new owners are updating and transforming this resort in a positive direction. The new restaurant Essence does justice to the healing waters and scenery. Chef Tom has brought fresh healthy choices to the menu and is so knowledgeable about nutrition. Plus, the food is exceptional! The staff in the restaurant is outstanding. Two Bunch Palms is headed in the right direction! I'm so looking forward to my next visit and to sharing this gem with friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Ardis, we hope you've been able to return since. Our new rooms will be coming online in August. But if you just come for the day, we also have Twilight Thursdays for the summer. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We lived in LA for many years and went to Two Bunch for weekends on a regular basis. We always loved the place for its quiet environment, wonderful hot springs, and completely amazing massages and spa treatments. We now live on the east coast and recently returned for a four-day visit. For the most part, Two Bunch lived up to our memory of it. Everything we loved is still in place, but changes are afoot. The restaurant has been completely renovated and its menu has been updated. Our first meal was really a disaster: service and food were really unacceptable. But we spoke with the chef and every meal thereafter was more than good: really superb. The place is under new-ish management, and the staff told us big changes are coming: more rooms, updating of the old ones, a bigger and more modern spa, and so on. We can see the good business reasons for doing these things. Two Bunch Palms is a really old-fashioned sort of place. For us, that has been part of its charm. But people's expectations have changed for this sort of resort and the new owners clearly want to respond. That's fine with us, as long as what we love remains: the quiet is especially important to us (no one is supposed to speak above whisper and most people respect that) and the feeling that even when the place is full, the size of the property gives you the sense that you have all of that natural beauty and quietly efficient service to yourself. Keep all of that and the unparalleled massages, keep improving the food (maybe have room service?), update the rooms and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so glad that we were able to correct your negative experience while you were onsite. Improvements have been made and continue while keeping in mind that we are stewards of 600 year old waters amidst a lush 56 acre oasis that we will be expanding to 75 acres to maintain the park like setting of the place. All our changes are with the intention of providing our guests a true wellness experience and we hope you will return to experience the old with the new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's a Heaven on the Earth! It's quiet, nice, most beautiful place around Palm Spring area! Customer service worker are a very nice, professional.Updated restaurant look amazing, there chef Tomas preparing very healthy but unbelievable tasty food. If you need quiet, beautiful environmental, where you can meditate, relax, pray - go to Two Bunch Palms!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive experience. We look forward to always meeting and exceeding your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I have had some amazing stays here in the past. He was stressed out and really looking to our romantic getaway and to see the new changes. And changes they were! Gone is the cozy restaurant. It has been gutted and replaced by a sleek and lovely modern club look. We had great expectations but the staff is completely lost and looks out of place. Half our meals had no busboys and an overworked waitress/bartender/buslady trying to do it all and failing. The design of the restaurant looks great but is not functional. You hear the kitchen and worse see inside to a less than lovely view of dishes etc. If you are unfortunate enought to sit at the wrong table. Food is hit or miss. At $200 for two that shouldn't ever happen.Wine list is overpriced and uninspired. Also GONE is the lovely spa smell that used to float from the spa. Instead there is a nasty rosehips smell to your room soap and lotion. YUCK. People talk constantly/non stop in the mineral water pool labeled as "no talking zone" so no rest there.No towels or drinking water are set next to the mineral spa in the evening, so you get dehydrated and cold. Honestly it was not worth the $800 for our two day stay. Thank God we didn't compound it by ordering treatments. My husband was mad and frustrated. He wanted to leave first thing in the morning. Not the rest and relaxation he envisioned. I mentioned this in a letter to the management. Got a phone call and asked if we wanted to come back...really? If someone wrote to my business a letter detailing items that went wrong, I would at least offer monetary compansation..not return back...pay more and we'll try again. I also forgot to mention the moving of furniture at 1 am by my husband to find a cricket so we could sleep...a mosquito buzzing me ear at 3am and the breakfast that took over an hour to get right. Place needs a lot of work and their new prices do not reflect it. Sadly we will never tay here again and if we do 1 day only with our own food and protective earbuds in place to drown out the talking. Definitely not what it used to be.

Room Tip: I would just use the spa to soak. Maybe pay for the mud soak and stay in better and nicer value upsc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I have been visiting this venues for well over 30 years and have seen this venue change management and ownership over 5 times. My most recent experience was by far the worst check in that I have ever experienced in all of my extensive travels.

There are so many flaws in the hospitality or lack of hospitality that I will not be returning to this venue until its management or ownership changes. The crass and condescending snootiness starts at their top and pervades downhill to the unprofessional and unpleasant front office staff. The lack of towels, the constant nickle and diming, and a complete and total disrespect for the history and character of this once great hideaway has forced me to find better deals on the "right" side of the tracks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna R, Corporate Director of Brand & Communication at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
First of all, I'd like to apologize for a very delayed response to your issues. The property has gone through some growing pains and we are dedicated to creating a place that people can feel emotionally safe in so they can find their better selves. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope that one day, you can give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been coming to Two Bunch for thirty years so that says a lot already. Many managers, few changes thank goodness. But now a new owner has given the restaurant an upgrade, thrown out the old furniture ( I know you loved that Casino piece left over from Al Capone) but it is truly worth it. The blond hard wood floors the tasteful lighting - the staff and the chef extraordinary. The food was fresh, healthy and new. WE enjoyed the vegetarian pasta that did not disappoint - in fact came back the next night and ordered it again. Everything comes with a price and this place has become pricy - if you are staying a long time, bring your own food and healthy drinks, and eat sparingly at the restaurant but don't deny yourself a couple of meals just to see the view if nothing else and sit by the fire…..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rianna R, Public Relations Manager at Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this. We hope you can return this summer or afterwards so we can share more improvements with you. By the end of September, we will become the first carbon neutral resort in North America after we install a 3-acre solar farm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 67425 Two Bunch Palms Trail, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the cradle of time deep within the Coachella Valley Desert, the waters of health ascend through the geological fault at Miracle Hill and descend downward to nurture the oasis that is the legendary Two Bunch Palms Spa Resort. This 600 year old life-sustaining hot artesian mineral well was prized by Native American tribes and archeological digs have uncovered historical village sites adjacent to the naturally occurring spring. This healing refuge has withstood the test of time and continues to be a retreat from the world where people shed their everyday burdens and enjoy the experience.Throughout the years, many celebrities have come to Two Bunch Palms Spa Resort to shed the trappings of their fame while donning the simple life in our Two Bunch robe. Enticed by the magical allure of mineral waters, natural beauty and therapeutic relaxation, many have come to make their spiritual mark on Two Bunch Palms Spa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
Two Bunch Palms Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Two Bunch Palms Resort And Spa
Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.