We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great retreat...but will it change?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   67425 Two Bunch Palms Trail, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Laguna Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still a great retreat...but will it change?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We hadn't been here in a couple of years and were pleased to see that it was mostly the same great getaway it's always been. We've always appreciated the down-to-earth and laid back feel. Not snooty or elitist like some spa resorts can be. The spa and spa services are awesome (with some unique offerings) and they have some of the best therapists anywhere. The front desk and resort staff right down to the house- and grounds-keeping staff are also very helpful and friendly. With a little planning ahead you wouldn't have to leave the property your whole stay.

I recommend getting a larger room with the kitchenette and refrigerator so you can stock some snacks and do some of your own meals. The restaurant is very nice but it can add up fast. I'd recommend the restaurant for lunch and dinner - but I can't recommend the breakfast. Breakfast used to be a nice buffet but is now a menu service and the meal was mediocre at best (we sent one of our entrees back). Their liquor license came through on July 21. The rooms are pretty nice and very comfortable - a little worn around the edges maybe but everything has always worked fine.

We could tell that the staff (especially the spa staff) are pretty nervous about the recent change in ownership. There is concern about whether the character of the resort will change and whether the current staff will fit in with the new owner's strategy. Apparently there is an outside consultant evaluating everything - and everyone.... I really hope it doesn't change. The main reasons we come are for the quality of the spa staff and treatments, and for the relaxed and non-pretentiousness of the place. We have been turned off by other spa resorts that cater to a richer clientele and therefore put on airs. We are ordinary folks and have always felt welcome here.

Note that the website home page sports a SpaFinder logo for recognition they received in 2008 - but the resort does not accept SpaFinder certificates or gift cards. I think that's a little misleading so double-check on what they honor beforehand so you don't get surprised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    49
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
116
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Mirada, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This place was a great find and deal in groupon. My fiancée and I had already agreed that we should make this a routine to come and get away from the kids in a bi-yearly basis.
Our room was excellent...we just needed some decent pest control. Keep your food in the fridge and your bags off the floor. We were informed that they had pest control come but they need someone else to come.
The tubs were stained and the toilet seats were chipped, and some of the towels were unraveling which was awkward to see.
The best part was the mineral pool. The no kid policy and being able to lounge in the pool without being splashed or noisy kids was a big plus as we left ours at home and did not want to deal with kids.
This was definitely a great place, the food was limited but very tasty. I can't wait to see how great this place is after the planned renovations.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you want to relax in a quiet special place, this is it.
No kids, no noise, no distractions. Nothing to do but relax in the most special mineral pool ever (no smells), get amazing massages and chill out.
Some of the rooms are very old (this was Al Capone's hideout), but over the years new rooms have been built. Still, the new owners plan on doing a lot of improvements. Just go there knowing that it isn't the "ritz", but it is very special.

Details: all of the rooms are a little different. Some by the Grotto still have original antique furniture that have issues. But you may find this part of the charm of the place. Newer rooms further from the Grotto are more modern and better equiped, but they are a stroll from the pool.

The on site dining is very good, but on this last visit it was not as outstanding as in the past. Fruit was not ripe (should not have been served) and the breakfast was just ok. They used to have a buffet that rocked - hope they bring that back.

Room Tip: I suggest you find a room by the Grotto, but they are smaller. If you want a suite it will be by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just returned from second visit in four months. It's fantastic. QUIET. You arrive to NO CELL PHONE and WHISPER. They had me at no cell phone. I am somebody who has enormous difficulty relaxing. I became a vegetable five minutes after check in. This place isn't "luxy", but it's nurturant. The atmosphere immediately detoxes you even without the amazing treatments. It's ideal for spa lover and haters! My husband, who is anti-spa as humanely possible, lives to return. When he walked in from his Watsu with Kim, he said "Hon, I just had the most incredible experience of my life." Kim for Watsu, Beth for salt scrub. We didn't do lots of other treatments because we fell in love with those. I'll branch out next time.

My only fear is that new management will change the place and make it another overpriced, overdone spa. What makes this place so unique is its uniqueness! The only downside from my POV is that the restaurant needs work. Food is okay, not great. I admit to one other fear, that posting this will mean it'll be harder to get a room next time.

Room Tip: We now consider 13 "ours." We've had it twice and love it. It's a suite with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

As a "regular" guest of Two Bunch Palms having visited a couple of dozen times or more in the past 12 years, I've had a lot of experience with Two Bunch. My husband and I just visited this past weekend for 3 nights; our first visit since TBP has been under its new ownership. Despite the resort being sold out, we still found it to be quiet despite the pools (hot and cold) and common areas having lots of people in them. The staff was friendly and professional as always; dinner (which we took to our spa suite) was perfectly cooked as always, and our facials and swedish massages absolutely delightful and relaxing. We look forward to continued room improvements and our next visit!

Room Tip: If you want a room within close proximity to the mineral pools and cold pool and spa, select a regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great place to stay if you need a relaxing quiet place to unwind. Staff was very attentive and friendly and room was very conviently located near all the amenities that the resort has to offer. We stayed 2 days and left very refreshed and invigorated . Would definitely stay again. The grounds are well maintained.

Room Tip: We stayed in 16a which had a small kitchenette with microwave refridge and sink
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I loved it. The grounds are beautiful. It's adult only, and very quiet. They have free yoga in the morning. The lake is so pretty with ducks, pretty fish, and tutles. The trees are beautiful, feels like walking through a magical forest. Lots of fruit trees. The hot pool is open 24/7. I rented a 1 bedroom villa by the lake. It was big, cozy, clean, teh bed was comfortable, had a fridge, 2 tvs, private backyard. I will definitly be coming back. The new owners do not yet have a liquor license, but you can bring your own alcohol. Vons is around the corner. Order the duck at the restaurant. It tasted so fresh, I wondered if they got one from their lake:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 67425 Two Bunch Palms Trail, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the cradle of time deep within the Coachella Valley Desert, the waters of health ascend through the geological fault at Miracle Hill and descend downward to nurture the oasis that is the legendary Two Bunch Palms Spa Resort. This 600 year old life-sustaining hot artesian mineral well was prized by Native American tribes and archeological digs have uncovered historical village sites adjacent to the naturally occurring spring. This healing refuge has withstood the test of time and continues to be a retreat from the world where people shed their everyday burdens and enjoy the experience.Throughout the years, many celebrities have come to Two Bunch Palms Spa Resort to shed the trappings of their fame while donning the simple life in our Two Bunch robe. Enticed by the magical allure of mineral waters, natural beauty and therapeutic relaxation, many have come to make their spiritual mark on Two Bunch Palms Spa Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Bunch Palms Resort & Spa
Two Bunch Palms Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Two Bunch Palms Resort And Spa
Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Bunch Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.