We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some work needs to be done...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2222 Girard St., Delano, CA 93215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Delano
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Some work needs to be done...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We have visited lots of HIE in California and this one does not meet their usual standard.
Our check-in by an unexperienced receptionist was clumsy. Our room, although quite spacious, was smelly and not very clean. The noise level from the freeway was high.
The public areas are scruffy. The carpets in the hallway were very dirty and their colors have faded. The elevator definitely needs to be upgraded. The vending machine did not work.
On a positive note: the breakfast was good and the breakfast room was big and pleasant.
Only after a revamp would I consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear 4kiwis2011,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

We sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on the level of cleanliness and truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with our public areas and room condition. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
10
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

stayed at the hotel on a regular basis for business, staff real helpful, rooms nice and clean, Direct TV in rooms, a/c blows real cold air, very good water pressure in the shower, would recommend to stay at if in the area,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
514 helpful votes 514 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is really a good choice. Had never been in that town before so we took a chance. Nice place, nice friendly people and a GREAT breakfast. We even used the laundry which was also very nice, although a bit pricey. Place seemed rather new. WiFi worked perfect. I would not hesitate to stay here again, in fact I hope I do go back someday. Great job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is my third hotel in this town. This is the best one yet.

First off the negatives: walls between rooms are thin. My wake up alarm was my neighbor's TV in the morning. No biggie, since I had to get up early. Room wasn't quite ready. It appears the housekeeper walked in our room unannounced - come to find out she was fixing the drapes in the room. No biggie here either - just a misunderstanding on their part. It's forgiveable. You can hear the trains pass by, but it wasn't a deal breaker.

Now the positives: the king sized bed. That mattress was so comfortable, I immediately took a mid-afternoon nap. Haha. The room had a frig, a microwave, an arm chair and ottoman, in room wifi, a desk and chair, and a couple of night stands. The bathroom was huge, although the bathtub drain was slow (forgot to report this to the front desk). The breakfast was ok.

I didn't use the pool or the fitness center, or at least I think there was a fitness center.

Location is perfect - next to a liquor store, a pizza place, and just down the street from a couple of gas stations, a K-Mart, and a few fast food establishments. It's just off the 99 freeway for easy access. Most places are within walking distance.

I will book this place again when I visit family in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My stay at this hotel was great except for Wednesday night when a group of noisy guys came home at 1:30 in the morning. Apparently they didn't feel the need to have any common curtesy by allowing anyone else to sleep. I called the front desk and the clerk came right down and spoke with the offenders but it didn't help much. They continued to party until 3 a.m.

Other than that experience, the hotel was very accommodating. The hot breakfast was good but the selection was pretty much the same each day with the exception of either bacon or sausage. None the less, it was still pretty good. This hotel also had complementary cookies in the afternoon and ice tea. That was a nice surprise.

The pool & spa seemed to be at the right temperature and there was a small gym onsite. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were delighted with this motel and found it clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Just off the freeway (and away from any traffic noise), with helpful staff and good air conditioning (which is needed in Delano).

There is a great Pizzeria/Sports Bar just across the road and you can charge your meal directly to your room.

Breakfast is included in the tariff and it is better than most and served in a spacious dining room. With gym, business centre and various other amenities, this motel presents excellent value in today's competitive marketplace.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights while exploring Sequoia etc. Clean rooms, although smelled very strongly of the upholstery/carpet cleaner. Wifi worked well, the TV selection was excellent, pizza place across the parking lot highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99

Address: 2222 Girard St., Delano, CA 93215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Delano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Delano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Delano Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Delano, CA and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99 Hotel Delano
Holiday Inn Delano
Delano Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Delano Hwy 99, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.