We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion Del Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Del Mar Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Del Mar Inn to your Saves list
Clarion Del Mar Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, Utah
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clarion Del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at this Clarion on Friday, 21 Mar 2014. It is conviently located near Old Del Mar, and has wide and easily accessible parking spaces, which are most desirable when driving a full-size SUV like mine. The staff is cordial and efficient, and the motel is very CLEAN. It is also in a very QUIET area near the ocean, so an open window allows the ocean breeze to cool the room without allowing street noise into the room.

The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. However, our room was relatively small compared to most other motels nowadays. Although, the bathroom is quite nice with plenty of room. The beds seem a bit outdated, and are not quite as comfortable as one would expect in a motel of this caliber.

This Clarion is a bit pricey, but it is located in a rather pricey area.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are similar, and there are no noisy rooms.The 3rd-floor rooms on the west side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Allen H: Thank you for compliments on our great hotel in our Sea Side Village of Del Mar. Great location & easy access to village for exploring & adventure.

Quiet, clean AND comfortable for our guests to relax & enjoy well-earned moments of peace while basking in the sun in Sunny Southern California.

Hope to have you visit into the near future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    87
    34
    14
    24
See reviews for
78
96
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel and enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has recently been renovated and is very nice. Rooms are good size, bathrooms have plenty of room. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had an awesome view of the ocean from our balcony. The pool and hot tub are great! Their is also a fridge in the room to put a few refreshments to have available to watch the sunset!

The location is OK. You can easily walk into the main spots of downtown (about 8 blocks). I will say, even though it is close to the beach, it isn't the shortest walk to the beach unless you are ok with doing a little climbing.

But if you are looking for a nice, relaxing hotel in the Del Mar area, I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear C-Rad_TwinCities: Can only guess where you’re from TwinCities... Your profile indicates you’re a seasoned traveler & Thank you for a great TripAdvisor Comment.

Many comments similar to yours are greatly appreciated due to your expertise in travel AND comparing locations & facilities for other travelers to review and decide where to stay during their next visit. We always hope they’ll stay with us!

By Plane, Train, Automobile AND Bicycle, The Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel hopes your travels are safe & adventurous.

Hope to have you return to our Sea Side Village into your future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent staff that is very friendly and helpful! Also an excellent value and very "homey".The bathroom was huge. Beautiful view of the Pacific from our 2nd floor balcony. The free and ample parking was also a big plus!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jennifer E: Please try & stay cool in Arizona; must be as beautiful as Sunny Southern California this time of year.

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, others will appreciate your compliments to better understand all we have to offer at our Boutique Hotel in our Sea Side Village of Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines area.

Have a great summer & if it gets too hot to handle in Arizona, check out our specials on TripAdvisor. – 25% & 25% off hotel rates & our new Bistro Café.

Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I will start by saying "thank you" "thank you" and "thank you" to the amazeing staff and it's management for renewing my faith in hotel stays. The front desk staff warm and friendly eager to assist in anyway they could, housekeeping staff friendly the rooms very clean, landscapeing and garden area beautiful then of course the ocean nearby. The newly renovated rooms so classy and comfortable the new addition of the Bistro an extra bonus with two girls it was convient, staff friendly great menu. If you are ever in Del Mar take a visit to the Clarion, Del Mar Inn, I gaurantee even if you don't need a room you will want to stay!! Thank You again to the wonderful people at the Del Mar Inn for the " warm hug" this single mom really needed.

Room Tip: "Moms with kids garden side corner room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dearest Kathleen M: Please allow me to reciprocate – “thank you”, “thank you” and “thank you”.

Everyone needs a hug now & then!

I’m honored to respond from all of us here at the Clarion Del Mar inn Hotel to offer a great visit AND “warm hug” as needed by all staff members.

MOREOVER, thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor Readers so they might consider needing a hug in the future.

Been viewing TV/Internet where many are being hit sooo very hard this winter. Hope you & yours are well & safe during this harsh winter season.
Sincerely yours,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome! It's so quaint and clean. Spacious rooms with the most beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean from your very own balcony. The garden around the huge pool and spa is breathtaking. Staff is so nice and helpful and the food from the cafe is yummy with specialty items on the menu. Definitely going back and I can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Brandi33: A great big shout out to Visalia, California – Home of central California Agriculture. Thank you for your great comments on TripAdvisor!

We greatly appreciate comments like yours for others to read to decide where to stay during their next visit to Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines.

All within a short walk or drive – our great location makes us sooo convenient. Don’t want to sound like a commercial; BUT, we enjoy acknowledging our hotel, location and facilities. Hope you don’t mind.

Look forward to having you visit again and again.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We use Choice Plus Privileges and chose this hotel for its location when we were traveling from Las Vegas to CA on an extended vacation. We were so pleased with the attention given to us by the hotel staff. They did not mind moving us to an ocean view and were happy to answer all questions and lend assistance. We received a discount at the quaint restaurant located next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Very nice swimming pool and hot tub. My husband also enjoyed the reading room! Fresh, clean and plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dearest Sharon N: A great “BIG” thank you for your thoughtful comments on TripAdvisor.

Everyone here works diligently AND has some fun while enjoying our visitors and guests here in sunny Southern California. AKA America’s Finest City, for our location and all the events and sights you can visit while on vacation.

We hope to have you return into the future for another great stay.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

It really is not what you would expect from Clarion. Completely remodeled, the hotel really is a boutique inn with the Clarion name. While the rooms are small they are well furnished, very very clean and well appointed. They have a bistro on site where you can purchase breakfast or supper. It will save lots of walking if all you want is a lite bite. Check it out, it will be worth your effort.

Room Tip: Third floor ocean view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silversurfer-delmar, Manager at Clarion Del Mar Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear AbacusTT: A big shout out to West Hartford. Try & stay warm out there, only five (5) more weeks of winter.

Thank you for the complements regarding our Boutique Hotel in The Sea Side Village of Del Mar.

As a seasoned traveler & top contributor on TripAdvisor, many will read your comments to determine where to stay during their next visit to Sunny San Diego. We always hope they'll decide to visit with us. All the flavors of home & next to the Ocean!

We appreciate you taking time to write such great comments about our hotel.

Hope to have you visit again & again into the future.
Sincerely,
Thomas Mackey
Clarion Del Mar Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Del Mar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Del Mar Inn

Address: 720 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Del Mar
#2 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Del Mar Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Seaside Village of Del Mar/La Jolla/Torrey Pines, the village location offers long stretches of white sandy beaches and marvelous year round weather. The relaxed picturesque village provides a welcome haven from the hustle and bustle of daily pressures. This exclusive coastal community boasts one of a kind specialty stores, art galleries, antique shops, Farmer’s Market, over 25 restaurants - cafes, ocean view seafood grottoes and fine dining. Del Mar Village, the rare and natural beauty is captivating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Del Mar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Del Mar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.