We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unsurpassed Meal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Restaurant & Bar

Market Restaurant & Bar
3702 Via De La Valle, Del Mar, CA 92014-4255
858-523-0007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: American, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: El Camino Real
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An Unsurpassed Meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have never had a better meal in the San Diego area. The food and service were perfect. This is somewhat of a power scene but without the pretense. Our friends left her 18 year old Corolla in the lot with a Rolls Royce. Valet parking is complimentary. Those who complain of the prices should be aware of this before going. Bar cocktails were terrific; my husband is in the liquor and restaurant business on the east coast and the drinks had his full approval. I cannot recommend a specific dish because everything was wonderful. I used to sneer at fusion cooking because so few chefs could pull it off. No More!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    23
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Outstanding in every way....food, service, waitstaff...amazing. Flavors come alive in each bite without competing with each other. My favorite restaurant in San Diego area by far.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in San Diego.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my second visit to Market. The first was several years ago and we only ate at the sushi bar (separate menu than the main dining room), and it was surprisingly good but very crowded. This time we went a bit earlier in the evening and ordered off of the traditional menu. To start, the service was outstanding - very high ratio of staff to patrons. The food ranged from very good to outstanding as well, particularly the short ribs. The watermelon amuse buche was fun/creative, and the scallop/lobster ravioli dish was quite good as well. While there are a few other restaurants I would say are of this quality in San Diego, that list is not long. It is pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Del Mar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were on vacation and needed a great place to eat for our anniversary. We found this restaurant online and I'm so glad we went. Appetizer- corn chowder was amazing. Dinner- Beef tenderloin was perfect and the potatoes were awesome. I would go here again next time we come back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in SD area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I am all eating at all the top restaurants in the SD area so it is pretty easy for me to compare between restaurants since I am eating on a daily basis

Based on total food quality and service, this has to be one of the beat restaurants in the SD area. Their blue cheese souffle is memorable. Too bad it doesn't have a view or it would be all LA good

Unpretentious and serving really fresh local food

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Market Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.