We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, Restful stay,,,,,,Indigo Del Mar California” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, Restful stay,,,,,,Indigo Del Mar California”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Del Mar California is a beautiful place to visit and surf. Indigo is located within walking distance to Del Mar Plaza and just blocks to the beach. Highly suggest you walk the surrounding neighborhoods and beach. Rooms are ample and overall the entire facility is the best value compared to other hotels in the area. Two pools, nice lobby and bar/restaurant area with an outdoor balcony perfect to view the sunset.

Wi-Fi was free but honestly very unstable.... glad I wasn't staying for work.

Renovations are completed and seems from past reviews were overdue. Now is the time to visit.
Not a true boutique hotel , but a great value for the price and location is priceless.

This is my second stay at Indigo and I will stay again when I visit in the future.

Room Tip: West facing the ocean......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your fabulous experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable and restful stay. We are almost done with all the room improvements. There are just few little things to finish up and all of our rooms with be freshly equipped with new wooden floors and spa shower experience. We truly appreciate your understanding and consideration during our renovation period. Please come back and visit us soon. We look forward to serving you in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    145
    56
    35
    18
See reviews for
95
148
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The entry lobby is beautiful and overlooks the pool and ocean view. They are remodeling the rooms, we saw plenty of old bath tubs by the dumpster but our room was nicely done and a very comfortable shower with lots of hot water pressure. The pools were well kept up and loved the jacuzzi. Beds were comfortable and linens were fine. Hope they change size of towels around the pool but only complaint. We will be coming back often. Friendly personnel, good food and quiet, what more could we ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed our spacious rooms, the amenities we offered plus our ocean view location. We are almost done with our building one upgrades; replacing all carpeted rooms with wooded vinyl flooring and changing out all tubs to spa shower experience. These upgrades will ensure each and everyone of our rooms are set up to be as enjoyable as the one you have stayed in. Thank you for your feedback on our pool towels. New purchases have been made for upgraded pool towels. By your next visit, we will have newer and larger pool towels awaiting for your next dip in our swimming pools. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were sorely disappointed in this hotel. The only 'boutique' thing about it was the lobby decorations. The beds were just ok, the bath towels were old, the bath fixtures were flimsy (we needed to screw in the sink plug and the faucet handle). The kitchen supples were 1 paper plate, 4 paper bowls and some plastics ware. They included coffee..Maxwell House and a powdered creamer (nasty). The lobby was nice but it didn't carry through to the room. We had an "ocean view" room and had to strain to see the ocean.
It was overpriced. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with other Trip Advisor readers. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoyed our rooms and the amenities that was provided. We are currently going through a renovation to upgrade our rooms to be brighter by replacing all our carpets with wooden floor vinyl and replacing all tubs with spa shower experience. I understand our current renovation does not make up for your lack of boutique hotel experience during your recent stay. However, I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Del Mar. Please contact me directly and I will personally make sure you will receive the boutique experience you deserve. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Because you will get a room overlooking a dumpster of household garbage and bags of dog feces. The defensive front desk will tell you "..well, we are renovating..". He will give you a "duh?" On why they cannot at least put a top or screen on the dumpster that is the view from room 437. You cannot see the ocean from this $220 per nite room. Don't count on a kitchenette, unless you bring your own silverware, plates and utensils. They had three previously opened plastic utensil bags and four styrofoam plates and not a knife in the room. The bed linens looked like they had sat in a dryer for days, completely wrinkled and crumpled. Very grimy, dirty place

Room Tip: Skip this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with other readers. Please accept my sincere apology for not delivering the experience you deserved. We are currently going through room upgrade; replacing all carpet with wooden floor vinyl and installing spa shower experience in our guest rooms. I am so sorry that you had to be inconvenienced by the parking of our dumpster. We will definitely share our concern with Waste Management and see if they have a cover for it. I do agree that the trees by the ocean cliff neighborhood do require some trimming. I will share those concerns with the city so we can open up the ocean view from our balconies. In another month, we will have our renovation completed. I hope you will give us another chance to deliver the boutique experience we are capable of. Thank you!

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel Indigo. The location was great. We walked into town for meals and sightseeing. Staff was VERY attentive. Our sons loved the pools and proximity to a park so they could shoot hoops. Hotel didn't feel like boring chain; it has personality. My husband and I enjoyed waiting for the sunset by the fire pits. We would stay here again. I agree with other reviews about the flimsy quality of linens.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you and your family had thoroughly enjoyed our spacious rooms, amenities, ocean view location, excellent service and the fire place on our open terrace. We appreciate the opportunity to host your family vacation. Please come back and visit us soon. We look forward to serving you and your family in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my adult son. The room was large and oceanfront, with a deck overlooking the pool. The kitchen area might appeal to many, but I did not use/need. I would have liked to see some sort of beverage or snack item in the room. Water bottles would have been great! The bath linens were somewhat flimsy and the lighting in the toilet/shower room was very dull. The property configuration was unusual, but once we could locate our room, it was quite convenient to park. The front desk staff was very pleasant and the gym was large, but somewhat dated and hot. The location was great and the price was decent. While I have pointed out the negatives, I would stay at this property again.. It was clean, safe and a good deal. Overall, my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are happy to hear you and your son had enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms, excellent service plus our ocean view location. I agree with you on that our bathroom lighting in some of our building two rooms are too dark. That is why we are currently going through a remodel, replacing all of our carpeted rooms with wood vinyl and upgrading our bathroom with spa shower experience. During the renovation, we will addressed the lighting issue and more light fixtures will be installed to enhance the bathroom experience. We appreciate the opportunity to host your recent stay. Please come back and visit us soon.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned from a quick overnight get-away to Del Mar and stayed at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar. We were pleasantly surprised by this property as we didn't have any real expectations since we did a bargain hunt online to find a good price.

Upon our check-in to the Hotel Indigo we were greeted by Desmond who was very pleasant. Later in the evening he even changed the channel on the lobby TV for us so we could catch the final few minutes of a basketball game that we wanted to see. Very good customer service!!

Luckily enough our room was in one of the recently renovated areas. (at least everything seemed quite new) We found our room super clean, comfortable, modern and very quiet. Very nice tile bathroom and terrific shower. The property has 2 pools, and we enjoyed a quiet hour or so reading at the main pool by the lobby area. What comfy lounge chairs!

Employee Jeff was also especially accommodating and helped us initially find our room while we were wandering around looking at our map. Very nice young man he is! The underground parking was handy and kept our truck nice and clean and our bikes safe.

Downtown Del Mar is a 10 or 15 minute walk from the property and we also went down to the beach which is fairly close as well. Del Mar is very upscale and you feel very safe on the dark streets late at night.

In the morning we took our bikes and peddled into town to enjoy a bagel and coffee at Breugger's Bagels while people watching in this beautiful coastal town. When we go back to Del Mar we would definitely stay at the Hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear your have thoroughly enjoyed our excellent service, spacious rooms and central location to the ocean and downtown Del Mar. I can agreed with you more on how great both Desmond and Jeff are. Thank you for taking the time to mention their name and the excellent customer service they have delivered. Now that you know where we are located, please come back and visit us soon.

Best Wishes,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Clarion Del Mar Inn
#1 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.3 mi away
Les Artistes
Les Artistes
#6 of 7 in Del Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
San Diego Marriott Del Mar
#53 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Auberge Del Mar
L'Auberge Del Mar
#3 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#4 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.