We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel Indigo. The location was great. We walked into town for meals and sightseeing. Staff was VERY attentive. Our sons loved the pools and proximity to a park so they could shoot hoops. Hotel didn't feel like boring chain; it has personality. My husband and I enjoyed waiting for the sunset by the fire pits. We would stay here again. I agree with other reviews about the flimsy quality of linens.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you and your family had thoroughly enjoyed our spacious rooms, amenities, ocean view location, excellent service and the fire place on our open terrace. We appreciate the opportunity to host your family vacation. Please come back and visit us soon. We look forward to serving you and your family in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    119
    45
    30
    17
See reviews for
81
118
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights with my adult son. The room was large and oceanfront, with a deck overlooking the pool. The kitchen area might appeal to many, but I did not use/need. I would have liked to see some sort of beverage or snack item in the room. Water bottles would have been great! The bath linens were somewhat flimsy and the lighting in the toilet/shower room was very dull. The property configuration was unusual, but once we could locate our room, it was quite convenient to park. The front desk staff was very pleasant and the gym was large, but somewhat dated and hot. The location was great and the price was decent. While I have pointed out the negatives, I would stay at this property again.. It was clean, safe and a good deal. Overall, my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are happy to hear you and your son had enjoyed our spacious and clean rooms, excellent service plus our ocean view location. I agree with you on that our bathroom lighting in some of our building two rooms are too dark. That is why we are currently going through a remodel, replacing all of our carpeted rooms with wood vinyl and upgrading our bathroom with spa shower experience. During the renovation, we will addressed the lighting issue and more light fixtures will be installed to enhance the bathroom experience. We appreciate the opportunity to host your recent stay. Please come back and visit us soon.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned from a quick overnight get-away to Del Mar and stayed at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar. We were pleasantly surprised by this property as we didn't have any real expectations since we did a bargain hunt online to find a good price.

Upon our check-in to the Hotel Indigo we were greeted by Desmond who was very pleasant. Later in the evening he even changed the channel on the lobby TV for us so we could catch the final few minutes of a basketball game that we wanted to see. Very good customer service!!

Luckily enough our room was in one of the recently renovated areas. (at least everything seemed quite new) We found our room super clean, comfortable, modern and very quiet. Very nice tile bathroom and terrific shower. The property has 2 pools, and we enjoyed a quiet hour or so reading at the main pool by the lobby area. What comfy lounge chairs!

Employee Jeff was also especially accommodating and helped us initially find our room while we were wandering around looking at our map. Very nice young man he is! The underground parking was handy and kept our truck nice and clean and our bikes safe.

Downtown Del Mar is a 10 or 15 minute walk from the property and we also went down to the beach which is fairly close as well. Del Mar is very upscale and you feel very safe on the dark streets late at night.

In the morning we took our bikes and peddled into town to enjoy a bagel and coffee at Breugger's Bagels while people watching in this beautiful coastal town. When we go back to Del Mar we would definitely stay at the Hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear your have thoroughly enjoyed our excellent service, spacious rooms and central location to the ocean and downtown Del Mar. I can agreed with you more on how great both Desmond and Jeff are. Thank you for taking the time to mention their name and the excellent customer service they have delivered. Now that you know where we are located, please come back and visit us soon.

Best Wishes,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Hotel is a nice little Oasis in Del Mar that still has some kinks to work out. Hotel is a converted Best Western and the rooms have that used to be a Motel feel to them. The public areas are very nicely appointed and the location is excellent, just a block from the beach. Some of the rooms are under construction at this time. Had a rude awakening when fire alarms went off at midnight in our block of rooms....at midnight. And there was no fire and no explanation. Really loud. This place will eventually be a great place to stay. For now, its good. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your nice experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. Please accept my sincerely apology for the midnight fire drill. After some investigation, we have learnt that another guest had a very nice and long steamy shower that it trigger the sensitive sprinkler system. I am sorry that this mishap took away from your relaxation and enjoyment of your stay. Please be confident that we will always continue to improve and will deliver an even better experience on your next visit. We look forward to serving your again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I booked a king, ocean view room at a non-peak time. I arrived 2 hours before the 4pm check in time. The clerk was very friendly and made a point of doing me a big favor by checking me in early. Unfortunately, the room had a view of a dumpster with maybe a glimpse of the ocean. Worse, it had a stale odor, a stained carpet, a tiny bathroom with an old shower curtain. After running errands, I asked for another room. A different clerk graciously showed me 2 other rooms and confirmed that I had not been given the room I reserved.The next room was an improvement - clean and with a distant but decent ocean view. There are many nice touches here but they are thrown off by some sloppy choices such as the polyester duvet cover on the otherwise pleasant bed, the spartan balcony and the tiny (but clean) bathroom area. Avoid carpeted rooms!
The public areas are very nice and the staff were all gracious, friendly and helpful.
I want this place to succeed but they need to up their game a bit. It was too expensive for a bargain beach hotel and not quite nice enough for an (inexpensive) boutique hotel. However, it was pleasant enough to give another try.

Room Tip: Avoid carpeted rooms. Make sure you get what you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your nice experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I appreciate your comments and the feedback regarding our rooms. We feel the same way as you do in regards to rooms with carpet. That is why we are currently going through a room upgrade to replace all carpet rooms with wooden floor vinyl plus replacing all bathtubs with spa shower experience. We are very excited about this renovation because it will bring all of our rooms up to the Boutique Hotel experience you have mentioned. We anticipate this upgrade project to be completed by the end of April. Please come back and visit us again. This time, we will make sure you try out one of our newly renovated rooms with ocean view.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The website for this hotel looked fabulous. Unfortunately the maintanance and cleanliness leave much to be desired! The Oceanview Deluxe two Double Bed Room, while laid out nicely, was dusty, sticky and dingy. The kitchenette is terribly equipped with paperplates, a pan and a pot, but no dishtowel, detergent, or silverware (there were a few bags of plasticware).
The pool area was dirty as well. The cushions are dirt stained and the supplied towels too small to cover the dirty cushions (i had to use three of the handtowels size towels to cover the cushion length-wise, but could not cover the width...).
The on-premise restaurant was dissappointing as well. The first evening (a Friday), we ordered a spinach salad and fish tacos, and were told that the kitchen was out of greens (no salads at all), and out of tacos. Instead we ordered the crabcakes to our room (as we did not want to wait in the noisy and dirty dining area (the table was sticky and unclean). When the crabcakes arrived, there were two patties on a plain plate (eventhough the menu said it was served on a bed of greens), no lemon, or anything else. We were somewhat disappointed (for $16 one would expect more!). the waiter was nice enough not to charge us for the order.

The next evening we thought we could give the restaurant another try - we
were able to get a Caesar Salad and Fish Tacos, but our plates were dirty (the very friendly but slow waitress promptly brought a less dirty plate that we wiped with our napkins). Back in the room we wanted desert and they were again out of every desert item on the menu, but they had a chocolate cake The silver ware wrapped in the napkins was dirty (we had to wash it before using it), and we observed the bartender sloppily rinsing out a glass and reusing it.

If cleanliness is important to you, don't stay here! For $240 per night this was a deep disappointment!
The website also makes the hotel look much closer to the beach - the oceanview is only if you gaze way over several rows of houses. Maybe I just did not look close enough....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding our poor cleanliness and restaurant service. Please accept my sincere apology for not delivering the experience you have expected. I am ashamed to hear about the concerns you have shared. These comments will be shared and addressed with my entire staff. I really want to make it up to you for not living up to our guaranteed of service and amenities. Please contact me directly at 858 356 0305 or at mtam@pacificahost.com. Please be confident that this poor experience is not our norm. Your feedback are well received. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.

Best Regards,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Quick overnight for business- and this was an economical, convenient choice. Great location, walkable to the center of Del Mar. More boutique than corporate. Comfortable, but not luxurious. A good spot for a few days of economical R&R, but I wouldn't plan a vacation around it. Room was newly remodeled and other than the Maxwell House coffee (ick, and out of place), it was really great. Breakfast was unexpectedly good and the service was even better. I was dubious as I made my way from the underground parking lot to the elevator, but it only got better from there. Oh - and management - when you pick a better coffee, can you please fix the wireless? To call it slow would be generous. If I had had a lot of work to do, I'd been fuming right now!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. We appreciate the opportunity to service you during your last visit. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms, great food and central location to Del Mar. Thank you for the suggestions on the coffee and internet. We have been working closely with Time Warner for the past year to complete the installation of fiber optics cables to the hotel. Once completed, it is in the works to increase our bandwidth and improve wireless access to the entire hotel. I know this plan does not solve the immediate need but we are definitely working toward proving a more efficient wireless access for all of our guest. I appreciate your understand and patience. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Best Wishes,
Man Lai Tam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.