We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and cozy, staff not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“cute and cozy, staff not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 4 days there with a group of 25 for a family vacation. Great location, beautiful rooms and grounds. Food selection a bit poor and served at different times. Walking distance to some good eats and drinks. Beach is just a drive away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing the fantastic vacation you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with all the Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear you and your party enjoyed our beautiful spacious rooms and the walking distance location to shops, restaurants and beach. Sounds like you and your party did not get to experience the full extent of our menu offering due to the multiple buy-out events we were hosting in our restaurant during your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience but am glad to know you and your party was able to enjoy the array of restaurants located in Del Mar Village. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Please come visit us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    116
    40
    27
    17
See reviews for
81
112
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I traveled 32 hours from Wisconsin to stay at the hotel Indigo in Del Mar for a beach vacation. The hotel over exceeded our expectations in every manner. Arnon at the front desk was very helpful and thorough in answering all and any of the million questions we had. The room was gorgeous and well kept up. The pools and hot tub were perfect. Jason served us breakfast a couple days and he was amazing; certainly one of the best parts of the stay. He was very friendly, professional, kind, helpful, and always had a smile on his face. Keep him around...give him a raise!! Overall we were all extremely impresses and will definitely be back! Thank you for a great experience.
--Jamee Lynn & the Wisconsin girls.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing the fantastic vacation you had at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with all the Trip Advisor readers. We are so happy to hear you and your party thoroughly enjoyed our accommodations, location and service. I can’t agree with you more on how awesome both Arnon and Jason are. They are a joy to work with and more importantly, they are truly passionate about servicing our guests. Please come back and visit us soon. Your Hotel Indigo Del Mar experience awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having stayed at Indigo properties in New York City and in Sarasota we had been attracted to the brand and so when we planned a stay in the San Diego area we chose the Indigo, expecting the same "magical" experience we got at the other properties. The hotel in Del Mar is really a step down and is priced at a level where one would expect more. We had booked an Executive King. Echoing comments in the previous review, there were inadequate electrical outlets. The shower was a bit odd of a shape......narrow......probably due to a quite small bath room.......too much wasted space in the living area and not enough space in the rather cramped bathroom.....the bathroom was poorly designed as to storage, shower, toilet spacing. One oddity was that the king bed had a bed stand and lamp on one side of the bed but nothing on the other. The carpeting was a little past its prime. One had the feeling that this hotel had been built to be something else and then was later converted to an Indigo,
although I don't know the facts of that matter. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but my wife did so on a couple of occasions and said the kitchen was spartan......only one person attending and he was overworked......causing slow service. The staff was friendly enough but not particularly enthusiastic. There was no single terrible quality to this property but the "whole" picture was a mediocre property posing as and priced as something "special".
I believe they're asking too much in the way of pricing for an average motel. We certainly would not re visit the property under the conditions offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I am sorry to hear that our room deco and set up did not meet your expectation. Our hotel is a conversion from a previous 20 year old Best Western to Hotel Indigo one year ago. The in-room designs do reflect some of the previous layout and that is the main reason for the smaller bathrooms in some rooms while they are very spacious in another room. We would love to expand and redesign some of the room layouts but structurally some floor plans cannot be changed. I guess that is what adds character and uniqueness to our building. I appreciate the feedback on our need to deliver a more memorable Hotel Indigo Del Mar experience. We will definitely take the feedback to heart and continue improving our service and quality. I truly appreciate your feedback. I hope you will give us another chance in the near future so we can show you that we are as good as any other Hotel Indigo in the Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Based on the location and the description, we thought this would be more of a resort hotel. We were wrong. Upon arrival, the staff was really nice and we liked the lobby. The good impression stopped there. As we entering our room. we noticed that in addition to being very dark (we were assigned to the lower level), there were no slippers, no bathrobe, no makeup mirror, and not enough outlets at the vanity (two outlets and one was occupied by the coffee maker.) The wall was paper thin; you can literally hear every conversation, footstep and knock from the next door. There was no safe for the valuables, and although there was a microwave, there was no fridge. The bathroom was so tiny that every time I turned around, I hit my elbow in the shower. Overall we appreciated the friendly staff, yet we were disappointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisor readers. I am sorry to hear that our room deco and amenity offering did not meet your expectation. We do have 8 different room types with many spacious suites and larger bathrooms that offer private ocean view balconies. These rooms might be more suited to what you are seeking for on your stay. I apologize if we ever misled the amenities we offer but I am glad to hear we delivered the friendly service you expected. Hopefully you will give us another chance to show you the true Del Mar experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the sea, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We’re locals just trying to get away for the weekend, so although this area is very familiar to us, the hotel was not. For the most part, we were pleasantly surprised. It clearly has been remodeled from an older and lesser property, which is exposed in the weirdly narrow steps and slightly uneven halls. Some of the rooms are tiny. We were first taken to 314, which is a cute little King room on the road side. It was just too small for us, and the window was directly in front of the bed so that passers-by could peer in easily. Since I don’t like having curtains drawn all the time, we asked to be moved. Marissa and Richard at the front desk were very nice about this. We moved to room 205, which is a few doors down from the fire pit area. It was less charming but much larger, and though the window offered a view of the garages next door, there was much more privacy. The beds are surprisingly comfortable. The freezer in the mini refrigerator had defrosted, I guess, and my husband had to mop up water after he dared to open it. We used it for the abundant leftovers after having a late dinner at the restaurant. Apparently they were trying out a new bar and food menu, and this might have caused delays in the kitchen. Also, while it was empty when we arrived at the hotel, just before we came in for dinner, they got slammed and our drinks and food took forever. The bartender/waiter could not have been more apologetic. When the food and drinks did arrive, they were well worth the wait—the best calamari I’ve ever had in the tacos—light and tender. The sweet potato fries were perfectly hot and crisp, and the burger was huge. We had received a complimentary hummus appetizer and a chocolate mousse dessert for our troubles as well. I would highly recommend the restaurant—they are working hard to provide unique and delicious dishes, and the portions were huge. I would return to the hotel to watch the sunset at the fire pit.
It’s really not far at all to the beach if you go directly down the driveway to the train tracks. It can take a little agility to scale the cliff, or you can run along the train tracks like the locals do. A short drive to 15th street or Torry Pines will bring you to a beach with parking.
I loved the Aveda shampoo and conditioner. (That’s one of the little treats that makes this more of a boutique hotel.) I agree that the décor isn’t the most chic, but they tried to make this less motel-like.
Rooms vary a LOT. If you can get a good deal on one of the suites with a view, you’ll love the hotel. Those rooms were too pricey the weekend that we were there. Don’t expect perfection here, and you’ll probably enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Avoid small rooms by the road although they are somewhat better decorated than those with pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisory readers. Please accept an extra gratitude from all of us for being our neighbor and taking the time to try us out. We truly value our locals and your “staycation” means the world to us. I am so happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed our beautiful location, friendly service and especially the delicious drinks and food at our Ocean View Bar and Grill. We have about 8 different room types on property and I am glad we were able to find one that accommodated your needs. On your next visit, please try our second floor king suites. They are extremely spacious plus each is designed with an ocean view balcony. Thank you for your understanding and patience during your dinner service. We are constantly improving our service and quality. Your feedback on the great service but slow food delivery time will be shared with my team. The most important part is that the food was great and was well worth the wait. My chefs take great pride in preparing each of their dishes. Thank you for recognizing their passion and pride. We have our next live music event scheduled for next Friday 4/19/13 from 6:30 pm to 9:30 pm. Please come and join us for a night of Jazz music, good food and great drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've been to another Hotel Indigo and was expecting a clean, trendy hotel. While the lobby was trendy the rooms are small and old with tacky decor. The provided internet is so slow checking email is difficult to do let alone stream a movie. My boyfriend needed to work from the room which proved to be impossible because of the slow internet and lack of desk space. Our room faced a walkway and was very loud whenever anybody walked by. The room had no tub, no lights connected to the light switch (we fumbled in the near dark looking for a light to turn on) and we didn't even receive maid service every day. The bed was comfortable, but that's the only positive I can give this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisory readers. I am sorry to hear our internet service plus the room type and location did not meet your expectation. We are aware of our internet issue and a solution is in place to resolve this challenge. It’s such a ashamed that we were not able to show you and your boyfriend the many different room types we have at the hotel. Besides the standard room you stayed in, we have many large spacious rooms located around the hotel with balconies and ocean view. I hope you can give us another chance so that we can truly show you and your boyfriend the real Del Mar experience. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I started visiting this hotel in 1983 when it was the Stratford Inn. It gradually declined until I stopped about 10 years ago. This time I saw that it had been sold and remodeled and it looked great and the price was right. We were not disappointed. Everything is redone at high quality. Nice touches like an ipad built into the bathroom wall for music and a steam bath in the shower.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the section near the hot tub. If you want an ocean view, ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man Lai T, General Manager at Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar with other Trip Advisory readers. We are so happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our new remodel especially on our “Spa Shower Experience”. Along with you, many guests have found our new Spa Shower Experience rooms to be very enjoyable and loved the ability to listen to their favorite music while relaxing in the steam shower. We are very excited about joining IHG and becoming one of their 50 premier upscale boutique hotels in the United States. We are extremely grateful for your loyalty to our location. We look forward to servicing you again in the very near future. Please come back and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar

Address: 710 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014 (Formerly Stratford Inn of Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratford Inn Of Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Best Western Stratford Hotel
Best Western Del Mar
Del Mar Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.