We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Auberge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Valet Parking
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming Auberge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We went to l"Auberge Del Mar on our wedding night. It was perfect. We were welcomed by friendly people and they made sure we had the best service. We wanted a special place to stay for that special night, so we tried to stayed away from big chain hotels. Best decision. The room was clean and charming. We had a view on the pool and on the ocean. I know they offer a great selection of food, but we didn't eat there since the Auberge is located right next to many other restaurants. It is downtown Del Mar, but very quiet. The price itself is not cheap, but you get what you pay for; no disappointment there.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    134
    53
    33
    26
See reviews for
90
195
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

L'Auberge exceeded our expectations in many ways. This was mostly due to the incredibly friendly staff from the valet attendants to the front desk and wait staff by the pool and at the Waterfall Terrace. The food was delicious and they were great about making substitutions to fit our kids' palates. The pool is a bit small, but we never felt like we couldn't get lounge chairs together or an umbrella. We also enjoyed watching sunsets from the upper balcony and pool area. The one slightly negative is that the drinks served from the outdoor bar were small and not very tasty. They always seemed to be out of glassware, and only had a few beers to choose from. The hotel is very conveniently located to the charming downtown of Del Mar where we could walk to casual dining spots like Starbucks and Smashburer, but also fine dining. One of our favorites was Sbicca right across the street! Our connecting rooms were spacious, beds cozy and bathrooms were well appointed. Quick walk to the beach, and the hotel supplies comfy beach chairs to bring along. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We loved our room which was right by the pool. Nice view of the ocean (partial) and quick walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. There is nothing more rewarding than to hear about a successful stay at our seaside destination. As hospitality professionals, this is our ultimate goal. Whenever your travels take you back to southern California, we would be delighted to welcome you back to L’Auberge Del Mar.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No surprises here and you certainly get what you pay for. Fantastic and cheerful service, wonderful views, easy beach access, lovely room. Traveled with family, connecting rooms were spacious and we loved the pool. Casual elegance at its best.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting this review and choosing L’Auberge Del Mar. I am pleased to hear that our beachside accommodations, and more importantly our cheerful service, made for a relaxing vacation experience. Our staff looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel before and we decided to spend Christmas with my family last year. Simple review is this hotel is great, everything is done beautifully and with a certain old world charm. Top Tip - walk down to the gorgeous Del Mar Beach with a take away coffee every morning!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your raving review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and our beautiful location. I look forward to welcoming you back to L’Auberge Del Mar in the near future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to say I really liked this place as it hit the perfect holiday weekend chill out and bliss. Arrived on Valentine's Day so of course it was a little Kray Kray in the lobby but nothing to get upset about. The hotel service was a dream from the porters, reception and house keeping - always smiling and generous with the warmth. The patio dining was a different story being slow, simple and uninspired. I loved our room which was a ground floor patio facing the street. It was pure California living with a great private patio with warm morning sun. The bed and linens are beyond comfortable and the furnishings well keep. One word sums this swell joint: SuperCool. Will be back to this south coast gem!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent experience. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable Valentine’s weekend at our intimate, seaside boutique resort supplemented by your warm encounters with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to L’Auberge Del Mar when your travels bring you back to San Diego.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If the view doesn't make you want to permanently live there, the staff will. The bellmen will greet you as you pull up, announce your entrance to the front desk, and then guide you to the front desk. The girl at the front desk with a beautiful braid welcomed me by name as I walked up. Nice touch. She explained the property and then the bellman whisked us away to our beautiful room. He filled up our ice bucket before leaving too. It's the details that make this place so special. During our stay, we opted for other dining options, but the little restaurant outside has a beautiful view.

The hotel is a block from the beach and in the center of town so the location is perfect. There are so many dining options in the area to explore. Just ask the front desk staff where to go. The girl with the braid was very knowledgable about the area.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and will most definitely be back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you were not only satisfied with our seaside location, but more importantly our staff. We strive to create a unique, memorable experience at L’Auberge Del Mar and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a wedding here - ceremony in the park overlooking the ocean and dinner on the rooftop of the hotel. Wedding family stayed in the hotel and were very pleased by room accommodations, staff helpfulness and tasty food. We were impressed by the staff during dinner on the rooftop and finding a place to park. What a view! Dancing was held later in a room on the bottom floor, decor seemed neglected from the grandeur of the lobby and outdoors. Valet parking available, probably an overnight parking fee.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, General Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.