We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Del Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Del Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we discover Del Mar and L'Auberge last year, we knew we wanted to come back and stay there.

The hotel is so nice, surely the best in Del Mar, close by the beach and so beautiful.
Our room was also really nice.

Only one bad things : it looked like the floor of the bathroom had not been clean. Of course, towels were cleans but there was hair on the floor and a dry contact lens. Also hair on the shower where you put the soap.

We arrived at 11 and the room was ready only at 4 so it had time to be perfectly clean I think.

Anyway, if I was going back to Del Mar, I would still stay at l'Auberge because I loved it but next time, I'll let them know...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    117
    47
    30
    24
See reviews for
77
175
13
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location, good service except for check in (see below) and nice place, but overall, nothing to rave about, nothing to rush back to. Nice room, but nothing special.
We booked a king room, and got sent to a double. The front desk knew it, as I was walking back to the front desk they knew immediately why, before I even said anything. This left a sour note for the stay.
Why are the hallways like saunas every time you step out of the room or off the elevator. Why doesn't room service pick up trays of food left outside people's rooms for hours.

It was an OK stay, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ahhhh Romance. We want it . We NEED it. We are bombarded by it in film,online,music and it's promise is sweet.But just how much is it worth to ya" ? Well,according to the L'auberge Del Mar it's worth pretty penny. AND you better be bringing your own game because you are essentially paying for a beachy,pretty lobby,an undersized room with a peek of the ocean (wait-is that the ocean ?) and mediocre room service.On the other hand the parking is really expensive. Wait. I sound so mean. I'm not . I just would like the premium price to come with premium...something !
Now I am not saying this place was not pretty. And soft. And dreamy. Oh it was. The people that worked there were genuinely nice & quite courteous.The restaurant was FANTASTIC (and romantic) and the overall vibe is easy going . It's still on the beach prices for an off the beach hotel.
The suite was clean,attractive and had a little balcony. The bathroom/shower was fine. The Spa facility is serene and friendly. The grounds are attractive. If the overall package was AMAZING I would be telling you to go there-NOW ! But I cannot in good faith say it was worth the cost of admission. I will take my romance elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you found the resort romantic; however, I am disappointed to read that you did not find value in your experience. We run different specials throughout the year - including romance packages. It is my sincere hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you for future romantic getaways.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely hotel in a very nice spot. More of a tourist hotel than a business one but all the same very nice with fantastic sunset views. Jimmy O's across the street is great for bar food and all the restaurants close by offer great food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about L'Auberge Del Mar. I am pleased that you enjoyed the resort and agree that the susnset views are fantastic. I look forward to sharing many more sunsets with you upon your return visit to our seaside resort in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very expensive property without anything that makes the price worth it. The room we had is very, very small with no view. The temperature in the room has been 70+ and we've been trying to get it cooler all evening. The staff is very unprofessional, we had to listen to the bartenders talk about another bartender that went on break too long, etc. etc. We checked in and had a man come into our room without knocking to check the bathroom. Just not that great of a property unless you just want to be close to the races and don't care about the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback regarding your experience with us. While I am pleased that you enjoyed staying near the races, I am disappointed to read that your stay was not a complete success. I apologize specifically for the service challenges at our living room bar and the unwelcome entrance that you shared. I can assure you that the experience you described is not to our standards and will be addressed internally. Our standard is to provide warm hospitable service at our seaside home and it is my sincere hope that you will return so that I can personally deliver this to you.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here on a business trip and was very satisfied. The hotel is just gorgeous and the ambiance is low key and extremely relaxing particularly after working a 12 hour day! There are several areas to enjoy cocktails, the service was excellent and my room was just gorgeous. I look forward to another stay when visiting California.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that L’Auberge Del Mar provided a restful place to stay while traveling for business. I look forward to welcoming you back each and every time that your professional or personal travel takes you to San Diego.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for one night as part of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! The hotel is gorgeous. Our room was great with a patio area outside that had sunloungers too.

We didn't eat in the hotel but used the bar area in the evening and had a drink by the fire pit.

It was a shame that we could only stay one night as we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the privilege of hosting you during your honeymoon! Congratulations on this special milestone and I am pleased that L’Auberge Del Mar enhanced and contributed to your celebration. Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor and I anxiously anticipate many more opportunities to serve you during future special occasions.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.