We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I can't say enough positive comments.

The location is perfect overlooking the water.

The rooms and service more than met my expected.

I had a terrace and I loved it. I also loved having a fireplace in my room - just added to the ambience.

Room Tip: You can always ask for ocean view and/or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    112
    47
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
169
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I loved this place - I only wish service was better. Location: Great - Service: mediocre - Management: Careless. It is so upsetting when you pay for a 5 star Hotel and get treated terribly. We stayed Sun - Wed, and Service was extremely SLOW. Staff are either not trained appropriately or are NOT interested in making guests feel welcomed. And try not to complain to Management - They are poor in handling issues with customers. Basically you shouldn't ask or expect bar staff to take an extra step to make a customer happy. (as you should expect at any 5 star destination) - Funny thing WE still tipped well because we are expected to do so. The Pool area needed to be cleaned - towels were left the entire night every night we stayed - Offering a bad evening and morning view to guests who pay extra to have a poolside view - The patio around the pool was gritty and dirty so much that your towels turned black as soon as you put your feet up on the lounge chair.

Room Tip: I liked the pool side view rooms. It would be better if the Pool was tidied up each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback on TripAdvisor. While I am pleased that you enjoyed the room and its accompanying vistas, I am disappointed to read of your general disappointment. Surpassing guest expectations in all aspects of ones stay are of paramount importance to us. I have shared your feedback with various departments that will take action to insure that future guests do not have a similar experience. When you choose to return to our seaside resort it would be my pleasure to personally oversee your stay and experience.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here in the summer of 2013. We drove down from San Francisco/Napa to visit family in San Diego and booked our room through Jetsetter.com. They were having a special on California hotels so we figured we got a good deal, even though our room was more than 3x the price of our Napa hotel room.

After a long day on the road we pulled into L'Auberge at around midnight. The valet guy was really nice and helped us with our bags. I felt bad that he had to wear the terrible Panama Jack hat and uniform that they made the valets and porters wear. When we walked into the lobby we couldn't believe how loud it was. The bar and lobby were SO crowded. There were a lot of older men trying to pick up older women that were trying desperately to look like younger women. There were a lot of over-privileged teenagers. It was like they were filming the Real Housewives of Del Mar mixed with The Hills. Everyone was staring and judging everyone else. My husband and I looked at each other like, "Where are we right now??"

After some confusion with the manager about our reservation, we were checked in and given directions to our room. They were the wrong directions because we ended up on the complete opposite end of the hotel. When we went back we were told, with no apology, "Oh I said left. I meant right." We finally found our room and the porter was there waiting with our luggage which was nice. He showed us around and left. I was surprised by the older design style of the rooms. It definitely felt like they geared everything towards older people, like a throwback to hollywood/south beach glamour, but in a beachy (again) Panama Jack type of way. Not bad or anything, just a little outdated and not our style. There was dust and other peoples hair in our bathroom, which was kind of gross but whatever, I've stayed in worse. You would think for the price, though, you would get an immaculate hotel room at the very least. The decks were nice, even though one was looking over a parking lot and the other the (very pretty) pool, which played loud music until about 11pm-12am every night, and gave us a good show of a fight between an over-privileged teenage couple.

Our door key stopped working our 2nd day there and after many trips up and down from our room to the front desk, we were told we would need a porter to accompany us to our room every time, in order to let us in, if they were available. This was not convenient at all and didn't get fixed until the day before we checked out, even though we contacted them many times.

The only good experience we had at this hotel was with the valets and porters. We obviously won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No better location, steps to the Pacific or Del Mar Village, walk to everything. Recently renovated, rooms are beach cottage clean, common areas are modern.
Staff is amazing - valet, front desk, pool, dining etc.
It would be tough to not enjoy this place - I paid last minute premium rates and it was worth every penny!
If you are from NYC (for example) lifestyle might take a few days for you to unwind - you're in SoCal/Del Mar, it's going to look young and pretty to you, just like you see on TV.
5 Star!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your enthusiastic feedback regarding L’Auberge Del Mar. I am pleased to read that we have earned your loyalty and are your first choice each time your travels take you to Southern California. I look forward to welcoming you back L’Auberge Del Mar each and every time your travels take you our seaside town.

Kind Regards,


Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you don't like crowds, arrive in September when the race season is over, tourist have gone home and you can enjoy the village and beach to yourself.

If you enjoy a scene, this IS the place to be in the summer. Pop on a tiny dress and heels and head down to the lobby. The beautiful upscale lobby meets an open air deck with steps down to an al fresco bar, fireplace and lounge space. The restaurant is farm to table fresh and the cocktails are unique. The crowd is fun! The service here is excellent and the rooms are spacious.

Bring some aspirin. You'll need it for the morning.

Room Tip: Request ocean view or off the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your review providing details and insights for future visitors to L’Auberge Del Mar. I appreciate your thoughtful review and concern to advise fellow travelers of the tips, locations and moments that made your stay so memorable and special. You are absolutely correct that L’Auberge is the place to be in Del Mar! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The property is nice but the wait staff is sub par. The first words our of all of our staff was sorry it took so long to get to you. At first we were understanding but came to realize this was an excuse they all used. Takes forever to get food and a drink.

I agree with others that say if you are expecting good service do not stay here... You will be disappointed. They really do not care about your stay but remind you this is their character.

Very disappointed - overpriced and underserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay with us. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. Providing warm unmatched service is the foundation of our resort and I am deeply concerned to read that you did not experience this while dining with us. Should you choose to return it would be my pleasure to personally oversee your visit and extend the signature warm service that is the hallmark of our resort.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding. Upon arrival there was mix up regarding our reservation, and they really went above and beyond on a sold out night to find us a room (we stayed in the timeshares which are amazing! - View of the ocean perfect). The next night we were in our room. Although small, it was quiet, comfy bed, and well presented. It was a great location for a wedding and really enjoyed the night! I'm a San Diego native, so staying in a hotel in my own city was a bit weird, but I loved waking up, grabbing brunch at Jake's and then walking down the beach. Such a great way to feel like you are in Hawaii without going! I love San Diego, and Del Mar is some of the best of it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.