We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOOOO Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SOOOOO Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Love the rooms, Bleu Bar, lobby lounge, accessibility to beach and Del Mar shops...all complemented by welcoming, friendly, engaged associates. Oh, also the spa. L'Auberge Del Mar is a perpetual "bucket list" travel experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is an amazing property and a beautiful setting! If you love Small and Intimate Boutique hotels, then this is the place for you! We stayed here for a long weekend with my son and we had a great time.

Pro's
-Amazing views of the Pacific from the Lobby and Pool area as well as some rooms
-Hip and intimate vibe, when we checked in Thursday night the bar area was hopping and there was a musician strumming away
-Great food and service
-Love the location to the main strip of Del Mar for shopping, restaurants
-Short walk away from a great park right on the Beach
-Rooms, while small, are tastefully appointed with nice bathrooms

Cons
-Only con is the standard room is pretty small. We were traveling with 3 and the staff was gracious enough to upgrade us to a suite for a very reasonable charge.

I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmq70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing L’Auberge Del Mar and for sharing your delight on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your review providing so many details and insights to advise fellow travelers of the tips, locations and moments that made your stay so memorable and special. Exceeding each and every guest’s expectations is at the heart and soul of who we are and we look forward to once again exceeding your expectations on a future visit.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, super friendly staff, low keyed and yet totally hip and cool for the nighttime crowd. Beds very comfortable and rooms are quiet! Third floor/top are best rooms with balconies. Mini cupcakes at check in/out!

The lobby lounge is trendy and cool, very friendly staff and not an ostentatious crowd in sight.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sdlibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the delicious cupcakes to our signature warm service. Each member of the L’Auberge Del Mar team looks forward to welcoming you back and serving you the next time that your travels take you to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just back from long weekend. Loved the vibe here and the amenities. Staff was perfect - accommodating at all times. Loved decor of entire hotel especially our room. Saturday afternoon wedding was fun to watch and didn't disturb our afternoon at the pool. Beds were so comfy too. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Check everything out in the room first, for us, nothing worked, the hotel staff can go to room 316 right now and find the cushions on the balcony chairs still missing, Keurig coffee pot not working. The first night of our honeymoon, we called to have the fireplace fixed, good grief, I had to get upset the next day with the front desk staff, they blew us off for a romantic honeymoon night. To be fair, the place has a dream location, nice walk to the beach, 1540 has great meals, loved the Lobster Benedict for Breakfast. Close by is "Miltons", which you "gotta do" if you are staying there. A very romantic location, and would be great if they can fix these annoyances and the staff could care a little more about the guests.

Room Tip: Check everything out in the room first, for us, nothing worked.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem like they are fairly typical in the industry in this area.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've visited the San Diego area often and have never stayed in beautiful Del Mar, so we thought it was about time. Based on the reviews here plus location, we decided on L'Auberge. We think we made a great decision. Also based on the reviews, we reserved an ocean view room and are glad we did. The location is terrific - close to the beach, restaurants, downtown.

The view and the balcony were lovely. The rooms are fairly small, but they're very nicely, tastefully appointed. They said they don't have turndown service, but asked if I would like new towels. They brought up the towels and basically did turndown service - a little odd. A very service oriented hotel - everyone has a great attitude, very pleasant.

The one downside - we were there for Saturday and Sunday nights and there was a wedding on each night. They hold the reception on the rooftop terrace between the north and south wings, which are where the higher priced, ocean view rooms are. It was so close, we felt like "Wedding Crashers". The Bob Seger wedding reception music blared til 11 pm. I think they should have alerted guests when making a reservation so we could have made choice, and make it up to the guests.

Room Tip: The ocean views are well worth the extra price. The south side rooms are a little cooler, the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location if the condos weren't in front of it. Great rooms if they weren't so small and expensive. Great service with no butts. Great spa but it's really small and not very well appointed. Pretty good food - but when you're paying $500 a night Great should have a period after it not a butt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowdown20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
7.7 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Del Mar Inn Hotel
Del Mar Inn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
7.8 mi away
Grande Colonial La Jolla
10.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing