We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOOOO Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“SOOOOO Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Love the rooms, Bleu Bar, lobby lounge, accessibility to beach and Del Mar shops...all complemented by welcoming, friendly, engaged associates. Oh, also the spa. L'Auberge Del Mar is a perpetual "bucket list" travel experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    112
    47
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
169
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is an amazing property and a beautiful setting! If you love Small and Intimate Boutique hotels, then this is the place for you! We stayed here for a long weekend with my son and we had a great time.

Pro's
-Amazing views of the Pacific from the Lobby and Pool area as well as some rooms
-Hip and intimate vibe, when we checked in Thursday night the bar area was hopping and there was a musician strumming away
-Great food and service
-Love the location to the main strip of Del Mar for shopping, restaurants
-Short walk away from a great park right on the Beach
-Rooms, while small, are tastefully appointed with nice bathrooms

Cons
-Only con is the standard room is pretty small. We were traveling with 3 and the staff was gracious enough to upgrade us to a suite for a very reasonable charge.

I will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing L’Auberge Del Mar and for sharing your delight on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your review providing so many details and insights to advise fellow travelers of the tips, locations and moments that made your stay so memorable and special. Exceeding each and every guest’s expectations is at the heart and soul of who we are and we look forward to once again exceeding your expectations on a future visit.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great hotel, super friendly staff, low keyed and yet totally hip and cool for the nighttime crowd. Beds very comfortable and rooms are quiet! Third floor/top are best rooms with balconies. Mini cupcakes at check in/out!

The lobby lounge is trendy and cool, very friendly staff and not an ostentatious crowd in sight.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the delicious cupcakes to our signature warm service. Each member of the L’Auberge Del Mar team looks forward to welcoming you back and serving you the next time that your travels take you to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from long weekend. Loved the vibe here and the amenities. Staff was perfect - accommodating at all times. Loved decor of entire hotel especially our room. Saturday afternoon wedding was fun to watch and didn't disturb our afternoon at the pool. Beds were so comfy too. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mira Loma, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Check everything out in the room first, for us, nothing worked, the hotel staff can go to room 316 right now and find the cushions on the balcony chairs still missing, Keurig coffee pot not working. The first night of our honeymoon, we called to have the fireplace fixed, good grief, I had to get upset the next day with the front desk staff, they blew us off for a romantic honeymoon night. To be fair, the place has a dream location, nice walk to the beach, 1540 has great meals, loved the Lobster Benedict for Breakfast. Close by is "Miltons", which you "gotta do" if you are staying there. A very romantic location, and would be great if they can fix these annoyances and the staff could care a little more about the guests.

Room Tip: Check everything out in the room first, for us, nothing worked.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem like they are fairly typical in the industry in this area.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've visited the San Diego area often and have never stayed in beautiful Del Mar, so we thought it was about time. Based on the reviews here plus location, we decided on L'Auberge. We think we made a great decision. Also based on the reviews, we reserved an ocean view room and are glad we did. The location is terrific - close to the beach, restaurants, downtown.

The view and the balcony were lovely. The rooms are fairly small, but they're very nicely, tastefully appointed. They said they don't have turndown service, but asked if I would like new towels. They brought up the towels and basically did turndown service - a little odd. A very service oriented hotel - everyone has a great attitude, very pleasant.

The one downside - we were there for Saturday and Sunday nights and there was a wedding on each night. They hold the reception on the rooftop terrace between the north and south wings, which are where the higher priced, ocean view rooms are. It was so close, we felt like "Wedding Crashers". The Bob Seger wedding reception music blared til 11 pm. I think they should have alerted guests when making a reservation so we could have made choice, and make it up to the guests.

Room Tip: The ocean views are well worth the extra price. The south side rooms are a little cooler, the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location if the condos weren't in front of it. Great rooms if they weren't so small and expensive. Great service with no butts. Great spa but it's really small and not very well appointed. Pretty good food - but when you're paying $500 a night Great should have a period after it not a butt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.