We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Del Mar! Of course!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Beach & Breakfast Package
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Del Mar! Of course!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great hotel, super friendly staff, low keyed and yet totally hip and cool for the nighttime crowd. Beds very comfortable and rooms are quiet! Third floor/top are best rooms with balconies. Mini cupcakes at check in/out!

The lobby lounge is trendy and cool, very friendly staff and not an ostentatious crowd in sight.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit from the delicious cupcakes to our signature warm service. Each member of the L’Auberge Del Mar team looks forward to welcoming you back and serving you the next time that your travels take you to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    150
    59
    37
    28
See reviews for
110
214
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just back from long weekend. Loved the vibe here and the amenities. Staff was perfect - accommodating at all times. Loved decor of entire hotel especially our room. Saturday afternoon wedding was fun to watch and didn't disturb our afternoon at the pool. Beds were so comfy too. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Check everything out in the room first, for us, nothing worked, the hotel staff can go to room 316 right now and find the cushions on the balcony chairs still missing, Keurig coffee pot not working. The first night of our honeymoon, we called to have the fireplace fixed, good grief, I had to get upset the next day with the front desk staff, they blew us off for a romantic honeymoon night. To be fair, the place has a dream location, nice walk to the beach, 1540 has great meals, loved the Lobster Benedict for Breakfast. Close by is "Miltons", which you "gotta do" if you are staying there. A very romantic location, and would be great if they can fix these annoyances and the staff could care a little more about the guests.

Room Tip: Check everything out in the room first, for us, nothing worked.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem like they are fairly typical in the industry in this area.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've visited the San Diego area often and have never stayed in beautiful Del Mar, so we thought it was about time. Based on the reviews here plus location, we decided on L'Auberge. We think we made a great decision. Also based on the reviews, we reserved an ocean view room and are glad we did. The location is terrific - close to the beach, restaurants, downtown.

The view and the balcony were lovely. The rooms are fairly small, but they're very nicely, tastefully appointed. They said they don't have turndown service, but asked if I would like new towels. They brought up the towels and basically did turndown service - a little odd. A very service oriented hotel - everyone has a great attitude, very pleasant.

The one downside - we were there for Saturday and Sunday nights and there was a wedding on each night. They hold the reception on the rooftop terrace between the north and south wings, which are where the higher priced, ocean view rooms are. It was so close, we felt like "Wedding Crashers". The Bob Seger wedding reception music blared til 11 pm. I think they should have alerted guests when making a reservation so we could have made choice, and make it up to the guests.

Room Tip: The ocean views are well worth the extra price. The south side rooms are a little cooler, the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location if the condos weren't in front of it. Great rooms if they weren't so small and expensive. Great service with no butts. Great spa but it's really small and not very well appointed. Pretty good food - but when you're paying $500 a night Great should have a period after it not a butt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful, romantic hotel with awesome ocean views. The staff is very attentive and personable. We just loved the seaside vibe. Our room was cozy and well appointed and I slept like a baby in the bed. We walked down the path to the ocean and went to Jake's for dinner. Our meal there was so-so. We wish we would have dined at the hotel. We did return for drinks at the hotel bar and had fun there. Our bartender was great and there were a lot of interesting characters to chat with. We did enjoy breakfast in the morning on the terrace. Very tasty. We can't wait to return and enjoy this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Director of Resort Operations at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review of L'Auberge! I will share with the staff that you enjoyed their service. I'm glad you had the chance to eat at the Waterfall Terrace for breakfast...next time you'll have to try Kitchen 1540; it's fabulous! We look forward to your return.
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch after a massage in the day spa. The sun was beating down on us, but they had run out of umbrellas. Finally, another table finished so we were able to get their umbrella.

The food was really good. I had the crab cake sandwich; delish! The shoestring fries were obviously of the frozen variety. My companions raved about their food, too. My dessert was so so, but my companions finished theirs off.

Very nice! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Director of Resort Operations at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, Suzie! I'm sorry you had to wait a bit for your umbrella, but I'm glad you enjoyed your crabcake sandwich...it's one of my favorites!
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Mar
0.7 mi away
Clarion Del Mar Inn
Clarion Del Mar Inn
#1 of 7 in Del Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
10.0 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
7.7 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#3 of 25 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
7.8 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Del Mar
#3 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.