We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel, great service, unwilling "Wedding Crashers"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Classy hotel, great service, unwilling "Wedding Crashers"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've visited the San Diego area often and have never stayed in beautiful Del Mar, so we thought it was about time. Based on the reviews here plus location, we decided on L'Auberge. We think we made a great decision. Also based on the reviews, we reserved an ocean view room and are glad we did. The location is terrific - close to the beach, restaurants, downtown.

The view and the balcony were lovely. The rooms are fairly small, but they're very nicely, tastefully appointed. They said they don't have turndown service, but asked if I would like new towels. They brought up the towels and basically did turndown service - a little odd. A very service oriented hotel - everyone has a great attitude, very pleasant.

The one downside - we were there for Saturday and Sunday nights and there was a wedding on each night. They hold the reception on the rooftop terrace between the north and south wings, which are where the higher priced, ocean view rooms are. It was so close, we felt like "Wedding Crashers". The Bob Seger wedding reception music blared til 11 pm. I think they should have alerted guests when making a reservation so we could have made choice, and make it up to the guests.

Room Tip: The ocean views are well worth the extra price. The south side rooms are a little cooler, the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    121
    50
    30
    26
See reviews for
79
180
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location if the condos weren't in front of it. Great rooms if they weren't so small and expensive. Great service with no butts. Great spa but it's really small and not very well appointed. Pretty good food - but when you're paying $500 a night Great should have a period after it not a butt.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful, romantic hotel with awesome ocean views. The staff is very attentive and personable. We just loved the seaside vibe. Our room was cozy and well appointed and I slept like a baby in the bed. We walked down the path to the ocean and went to Jake's for dinner. Our meal there was so-so. We wish we would have dined at the hotel. We did return for drinks at the hotel bar and had fun there. Our bartender was great and there were a lot of interesting characters to chat with. We did enjoy breakfast in the morning on the terrace. Very tasty. We can't wait to return and enjoy this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Director of Resort Operations at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review of L'Auberge! I will share with the staff that you enjoyed their service. I'm glad you had the chance to eat at the Waterfall Terrace for breakfast...next time you'll have to try Kitchen 1540; it's fabulous! We look forward to your return.
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch after a massage in the day spa. The sun was beating down on us, but they had run out of umbrellas. Finally, another table finished so we were able to get their umbrella.

The food was really good. I had the crab cake sandwich; delish! The shoestring fries were obviously of the frozen variety. My companions raved about their food, too. My dessert was so so, but my companions finished theirs off.

Very nice! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Director of Resort Operations at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, Suzie! I'm sorry you had to wait a bit for your umbrella, but I'm glad you enjoyed your crabcake sandwich...it's one of my favorites!
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first stay at L'Auberge and from the mixed reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. I would rate them slightly below the Montage or Four Seasons, but a solid 4 stars. The property is pretty. The lobby and terrace restaurant are gorgeous, especially the view. The rooms are also nice. The location was great - near lots of restaurants and close to the beach. However, they aren't beach front, if that's what you're looking for.

Pool is on the smaller side, but service there was excellent, as was the food. We stayed Sat-Tues and the pool was packed on the weekend, but fairly empty on the weekdays (which was awesome).

Other pros:
Service was great, from the valet to the front desk. They offer nice touches like mini cupcakes at check-in (I love stuff like that and it's memorable!).

Other cons:
Noise - seems they have a lot of weddings here, so it gets crowded on weekends with loud guests roaming the hall and loud music. Our room was on the first floor, close to the rooftop wedding venue. Most of the sound was drowned out with the tv on, but I would've preferred quiet, since we were here to "get away." Thankfully, the music has to stop by 11pm, so at least it doesn't go all night.
No room service after 10pm - the menu in the room said they offer late night dining, but when we called, we learned it was discontinued.

All in all, I would stay here again, but not during the summer. We visited in October, which I assume was their off peak time. There are some properties that don't feel full, even when they are - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: First floor room have cute terraces, request a room away from train tracks (thankfully we were in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! Providing warm, personalized service is a hallmark of our resort and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. In fact, it is this very commitment combined with our spectacular location that makes L’Auberge Del Mar a top choice for couples looking to tie the knot. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a group of girls for a bachelorette weekend.

The property is beautiful and overlooks the ocean. When you arrive in the lobby, you are treated to a breathtaking wall to wall view.

Bride-to-be enjoyed a hot stone massage that she reported to be heavenly.

The room was very comfortable, and we were excited to have an ocean view from our balcony. We had four girls crammed into two double beds, not queen beds, but we found that the extra plush bedding and overall coziness of the room made up for the small size of the beds.

We spent a day at the outdoor bar, which is next to the pool but not actually poolside as there is a gate separating the pool area from the bar. Originally we had envisioned lounging at the pool in our bikinis and drinking Martinis, but we found that having the bar separated from the pool suited us better as we preferred not to be around kids, and during our stay the pool was pretty much the kids' play ground.

The bartenders were a lot of fun and took good care of us. The food & drinks were top notch.

The beach, bars, shopping, and restaurants surround this property making this the perfect spot for girls not wanting to choose a designated driver!

Also, I highly recommend eating at the "Waterfall Terrace" on site for breakfast. The Lobster Benny is delicious and you can't beat that view!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had a great stay with my wife and my new 3 month old. Took a one night trip (my baby's first trip to San Diego) and couldn't have been happier on how it went. Called ahead to make sure there would be a crib and mini-fridge in the room, and the staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived there were two wedding parties arriving at the same time. There was almost no wait at all with the valet or the check-in processes. Thank you for making this trip such a good one!

Room Tip: Just talk to the reservation agent and ask their option! They work there and know the rooms better t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved the hotel's environmentally-friendly soaps. They smelled great and made my skin feel great!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.