We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Great location, pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was our first stay at L'Auberge and from the mixed reviews, we weren't sure what to expect. I would rate them slightly below the Montage or Four Seasons, but a solid 4 stars. The property is pretty. The lobby and terrace restaurant are gorgeous, especially the view. The rooms are also nice. The location was great - near lots of restaurants and close to the beach. However, they aren't beach front, if that's what you're looking for.

Pool is on the smaller side, but service there was excellent, as was the food. We stayed Sat-Tues and the pool was packed on the weekend, but fairly empty on the weekdays (which was awesome).

Other pros:
Service was great, from the valet to the front desk. They offer nice touches like mini cupcakes at check-in (I love stuff like that and it's memorable!).

Other cons:
Noise - seems they have a lot of weddings here, so it gets crowded on weekends with loud guests roaming the hall and loud music. Our room was on the first floor, close to the rooftop wedding venue. Most of the sound was drowned out with the tv on, but I would've preferred quiet, since we were here to "get away." Thankfully, the music has to stop by 11pm, so at least it doesn't go all night.
No room service after 10pm - the menu in the room said they offer late night dining, but when we called, we learned it was discontinued.

All in all, I would stay here again, but not during the summer. We visited in October, which I assume was their off peak time. There are some properties that don't feel full, even when they are - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: First floor room have cute terraces, request a room away from train tracks (thankfully we were in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and feedback! Providing warm, personalized service is a hallmark of our resort and I am especially pleased to read that you felt this commitment during your stay. In fact, it is this very commitment combined with our spectacular location that makes L’Auberge Del Mar a top choice for couples looking to tie the knot. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    112
    46
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
169
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Came here with a group of girls for a bachelorette weekend.

The property is beautiful and overlooks the ocean. When you arrive in the lobby, you are treated to a breathtaking wall to wall view.

Bride-to-be enjoyed a hot stone massage that she reported to be heavenly.

The room was very comfortable, and we were excited to have an ocean view from our balcony. We had four girls crammed into two double beds, not queen beds, but we found that the extra plush bedding and overall coziness of the room made up for the small size of the beds.

We spent a day at the outdoor bar, which is next to the pool but not actually poolside as there is a gate separating the pool area from the bar. Originally we had envisioned lounging at the pool in our bikinis and drinking Martinis, but we found that having the bar separated from the pool suited us better as we preferred not to be around kids, and during our stay the pool was pretty much the kids' play ground.

The bartenders were a lot of fun and took good care of us. The food & drinks were top notch.

The beach, bars, shopping, and restaurants surround this property making this the perfect spot for girls not wanting to choose a designated driver!

Also, I highly recommend eating at the "Waterfall Terrace" on site for breakfast. The Lobster Benny is delicious and you can't beat that view!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had a great stay with my wife and my new 3 month old. Took a one night trip (my baby's first trip to San Diego) and couldn't have been happier on how it went. Called ahead to make sure there would be a crib and mini-fridge in the room, and the staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived there were two wedding parties arriving at the same time. There was almost no wait at all with the valet or the check-in processes. Thank you for making this trip such a good one!

Room Tip: Just talk to the reservation agent and ask their option! They work there and know the rooms better t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved the hotel's environmentally-friendly soaps. They smelled great and made my skin feel great!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Decided to stay here instead of the Marriott Del Mar for a conference. What a great choice. Beautiful rooms, wonderful view, close walk to the beach, shops and restaurants in Del Mar. The restaurant was a little pricey but considering the hotel and location it par for the course. Bed and Breakfast package included $40 breakfast credit and valet parking fee. Beds were a little soft.

Green Features: They have recycle trash cans in the room. Very nice.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My mother, infant daughter and i stayed here for a girls trip and had a wonderful time. The staff was always very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. we had a fabulous room with a view and even though most of the hotel was occupied by a business group, we still felt well taken care of. Will definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity! Pricey but worth it!

Room Tip: we loved having a patio with view of the courtyard and ocean!
See more room tips
Green Features: I love that the restaurants serve organic food and beverages!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We did not actually stay overnight at this resort...after struggling with the inconsistent reviews, we opted to stay at the Grand Del Mar instead. But I made it my mission to check out the L'auberge in person to see for myself if this is the place to stay on our next trip back to Del Mar.

It is indeed a very pretty property in the heart of the Del Mar action. Tons of restaurants, boutiques, and the beach - all within in very easy walking distance. We had appetizers and drinks in L'auberge's beautiful and super comfy lobby lounge and enjoyed spectacular ocean and sunset views, along with accommodating service during our visit.

If location, location, location is what does it for you, this seems like a fantastic place to stay. There was a large, loud wedding party during the timeframe of our visit, and there was a lot of hustle and bustle...while the decor was tranquil and serene, the atmosphere was definitely the opposite.

With the fairly minimal price difference, I am glad we opted for the Grand this time around (rest and relaxation were at the top of our agenda). Next time, I think we will stay at the L'auberge and see what being in the middle of the action is really like!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorville, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well I will put a spin on the few who have negative words........ We first arrived and were treated wonderfully, our early ck in request was accommodated, however I wanted a water view and management was so very accommodating, he was concerned about our early ck but ocean was important to me, he changed our room let us stay in the first room until ours was ready, and valet took care of moving us, getting our new keys and settling us in. The valet service is wonderful, brought us back and forth from delmar race track, within minutes of our asking. The pool service is so attentive we were never in need of anything, and they checked on us frequently. There were several parties being held, one more beautiful then the next, we were right above the one wedding, and the noise was very faint, no disturbance whatsoever. There was music in the lobby which drew a very large crowd all very crowd which made for a fun filled evening. The staff at this lovely boutique hotel made our stay most memorable. Many great restaurants to walk to, the beach outside your door a short walk, and a lovely friendly accommodating staff. We could not have asked for more. We will be returning. Thank you

Room Tip: Room with ocean view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this glowing feedback. Providing personalized service from the heart is not only of paramount importance here at L’Auberge Del Mar, but is woven into the fabric of each and every associate. I am pleased to read that the service you experienced was both anticipatory and sincere. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Brooks Crawford
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.