We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, phenomenal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, phenomenal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We did not actually stay overnight at this resort...after struggling with the inconsistent reviews, we opted to stay at the Grand Del Mar instead. But I made it my mission to check out the L'auberge in person to see for myself if this is the place to stay on our next trip back to Del Mar.

It is indeed a very pretty property in the heart of the Del Mar action. Tons of restaurants, boutiques, and the beach - all within in very easy walking distance. We had appetizers and drinks in L'auberge's beautiful and super comfy lobby lounge and enjoyed spectacular ocean and sunset views, along with accommodating service during our visit.

If location, location, location is what does it for you, this seems like a fantastic place to stay. There was a large, loud wedding party during the timeframe of our visit, and there was a lot of hustle and bustle...while the decor was tranquil and serene, the atmosphere was definitely the opposite.

With the fairly minimal price difference, I am glad we opted for the Grand this time around (rest and relaxation were at the top of our agenda). Next time, I think we will stay at the L'auberge and see what being in the middle of the action is really like!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    112
    47
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
169
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manorville, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well I will put a spin on the few who have negative words........ We first arrived and were treated wonderfully, our early ck in request was accommodated, however I wanted a water view and management was so very accommodating, he was concerned about our early ck but ocean was important to me, he changed our room let us stay in the first room until ours was ready, and valet took care of moving us, getting our new keys and settling us in. The valet service is wonderful, brought us back and forth from delmar race track, within minutes of our asking. The pool service is so attentive we were never in need of anything, and they checked on us frequently. There were several parties being held, one more beautiful then the next, we were right above the one wedding, and the noise was very faint, no disturbance whatsoever. There was music in the lobby which drew a very large crowd all very crowd which made for a fun filled evening. The staff at this lovely boutique hotel made our stay most memorable. Many great restaurants to walk to, the beach outside your door a short walk, and a lovely friendly accommodating staff. We could not have asked for more. We will be returning. Thank you

Room Tip: Room with ocean view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing this glowing feedback. Providing personalized service from the heart is not only of paramount importance here at L’Auberge Del Mar, but is woven into the fabric of each and every associate. I am pleased to read that the service you experienced was both anticipatory and sincere. Thank you for sharing and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,


Brooks Crawford
Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overbooked when arrived,( not the room we booked from photo from internet) for our 38th anniversary,put in claustrophobic small room with musty,urine smells throughout,Yuk!..(dogs allowed)....upgraded to a suite next day but is was not so "Sweet", view was a parking lot of a post office with trucks with slight view of ocean still with smells!!!!!!!!......did not get my floral toiletries as promised as i am allergic to citrus,after being depressed i talked to management again and got my first night taken off the bill for all the aggravation and finally received my floral products the last day!....also was over charged in spa and mini bar.....will not be returning to this" Unlovely" place!!!!!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel like "The Grand Hotel"in Del Mar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great locatioin, friendly staff. Plus they have a car charger for electric cars! Wonderful access to the track and the beach. The room could use a slight makeover for carpet and pant but otherwise it was in very good shape and the bed was very comfy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here many times, great location, great staff & great hotel. The location is great - easy walk to the beach & access to other things in the local area. Did i say the rooms & beds especially are wonderful?

Room Tip: the rooms in the center have a nice balcony, but the pool noise can be bothersome at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you can afford it you HAVE to stay here. Relaxing, luxurious & beautiful!
We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the ocean. The room was fantastic. Staff were friendly and helpful - especially the valet service. A bunch of great guys!

I have never slept in a more comfortable bed - pillows were amazing.

Del Mar is a beautiful and relaxing village - great location close to La Jolla and San Diego but a lot more peaceful. The beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel down the hill. Plenty of restaurants all within walking distance. The racetrack is about a mile down the road and a fun way to spend an afternoon during the season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Prez. Suite: partial view of ocean, including white water, 1/2 the cost of a comparable room at La Valencia in La Jolla, 2 bathrooms. I highly recommend. Spa is good, location is great. Del Mar Plaza is wonderful. Lots of restaurants. Walk to beach, P.O., restaurants, shops, library, and more. Great staff, low-key but very stylish place. Ocean view from lobby. Very open design. This place was very relaxing but still had a nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Resort Operations Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback! I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the upgrade and the spectacular vistas it offers. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I hope to host you again at our spectacular home by the sea.

Kind Regards,

Resort Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.