We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort with Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort with Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in January a double room and had a peaceful and relaxing 3 nights there.

Rooms: They are not huge but of adequate size and with nice sized balconies. They offer a pick yourself pillow selection and the beds have very high threat counts and nice down comforters. They are very luxurious. The amenities inside the rooms are top notch--the bathroom and shower was marble with a spacious rain shower. The rooms have Keurigs, wi-fi, and nice in room products.

Service: Really top notch! Any call we place was promptly answered and all staff was happy to help with directions or any questions. The valet service was prompt as well although it does cost $28/day in addition to the room price.

Food: There are so many great restaurants from causal quaint to gourmet and fancy within walking distance. We had drinks at the bar which were great but didn't dine at the restaurant on site.

Views: Beautiful grounds with beach views and very close access to the beach.

Spa: Ahhhhh.....Very wonderful options on the spa menu with excellent therapists. We went to the spa 3 times, facials, massages and body treatments all of which were top notch.

With Kids:
I would recommend this resort for couples and families as well. I didn't travel this time with my kids (ages 12 and 8) but they would have loved it. The place is child friendly and the location would be great for a family trip. The menu does have many selections for kids and the staff was patients and helpful for those who did have children with them. There is nice pool and jacuzzi as well which kiddos would love.

If you can afford this resort, it won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view. Even the basic rooms have patios and some have better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    112
    47
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
169
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here in mid December- and had a great romantic weekend- even though it was raining. The hotel is very romantic- great cozy rooms with fireplaces! Ocean views! Great location- able to walk to DelMar shops and restaurants. The lobby bar is a great social scene at night- and we loved the outdoor dining and bar areas too. Great service too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here at the end of race season (September) and the prices were around $500 a night, so the property had a lot of living up to do. The location was perfect and everything we wanted to do was in walking distance - beach, restaurants, shopping, etc... The social scene buzzing around the hotel was fun and added to the upscale atmosphere instead of detracting. The rooms were small, and the view was not great, the social atmosphere kept going late into the evening though I doubt it's quite that busy every weekend. If you enjoy staying at a luxury boutique hotel this one is a must.

Room Tip: If possible time your stay and choose a shoulder season (not August/September).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have been here for lunch and dinner many times but while on vacation in the area I finally had a chance to stay here and experience the property. Rooms were of average size but with updated small bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and inviting. There were two weddings, on sight, while I was there but both did not distract from the overall facilities. Great location with a direct path to the ocean. Lots of shopping and restaurants also in the general area. If you want to participate in the Del Mar Racetrack, this is the perfect hotel location.

Room Tip: My room was 240S. Perfect view of the ocean from this room but the only draw back is that if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Stacey. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at L’Auberge Del Mar. Indeed, the city of Del Mar is very inviting and provides a great deal of activities such as shopping, dining, and going to the beach. The private footpath to Del Mar Beach is a great place for pictures as well as taking in the view from every angle. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

L'Auberge is a near-perfect hotel experience ... Gorgeously decorated, perfectly situated in the charming beach town, attended to by some of the most caring, personable staff I've encountered. Even on a cold day when the pool and hot tub were not on the agenda, wine by the lobby fireplace made a vivid memory - although expensive. The only flaw was our choice of a noisy, viewless room, and a few random hairs left in the shower. Will go back with my hubby instead of the family next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so happy you had the chance to enjoy our enchanting fireplace with some wine and good company. Our Lobby is a wonderful place to relax, listen to some live music and enjoy the ocean view. Next time you visit us, we would be happy to ensure you have a great room with a balcony to sit on, wrapped in our designer robes to enjoy the view and your wine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff is extremely accomodating and professional. The location is conveniently located to shops across the street. The rooms were clean and the grounds manicured. Walking distance from the beach was also a plus. My only complaint was the bar. I ordered a scotch on the rocks with a menu price of $17. When I got the bill for $19, I asked why the extra $2 charge and was told, that was the charge for the rocks! Unbelievable. Restaurant 1540 was one of the best dining experiences (outdoor cabana) that my wife and I have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeland, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I were pleased to be able to stay at L'Auberge in Del Mar during our anniversary
celebration.
First impression is the cordial and efficient valet crew that made everything flow smoothly to the excellent staff at the front desk who had our reservations at hand.
Rooms were elegant and the amenities were what we expected of a four star hotel on the beach.
The restaurant was excellent and the staff was personable, efficient and the food was plentiful and well prepared.
A great experience all around for us.

Room Tip: North wing was quiet and the ocean view, though limited, was welcome and soothing. The balcony offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Anniversary’s are such special moment in our lives and at L’Auberge Del Mar we take great care to make sure you have a memorable experience. We are honored that you chose to stay at our boutique hotel for your special Anniversary. Our staff is specially trained to seamlessly make your stay effortless, flowing from one area of the hotel to another. Again, we thank you so much for choosing L’Auberge Del Mar and we can’t wait to serve you again for you next special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.