We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marshall, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Someone is cleaning in this hotel at every hour of the day. Not in an intrusive way, but if you pay attention you can constantly see someone dusting, wiping, straightening, etc.

I LOVE this place. Hands down my most favorite hotel. The rooms are so relaxing and high end. They also feel very private and romantic. This would be a lovely hotel to stay at for a honeymoon or romantic get-away.

Breakfast is pricey (probably $60 for two people at a minimum), but it is of an amazing quality. Fresh squeezed orange juice and extremely good coffee. Attention to detail doesn't end with just the rooms but also extends to the food, the views, etc.

If I ever get a chance to stay here again I will jump at the chance!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at L’Auberge Del Mar. We take great pride in having a pristine property that guests can enjoy and rooms that are exceptionally clean. We hope you travel to San Diego soon and please be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    112
    46
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
169
13
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Going to Del Mar is always a treat especially if you get to stay and enjoy the town in the beautiful L'Auberge. We enjoyed everything about this hotel, even the train whisking by in the AM. The staff was fabulous and we had a wonderful time celebrating a friends birthday. We had a corner room that had the most fabulous view. We enjoy the smaller boutique hotels and this is one of them!

Room Tip: Corner room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just returned from my third stay at this hotel. Although the location is excellent, the rooms are noisy and dark. The first night of my recent stay was a Sunday night and the hotel was not nearly full. We were given a room next to a conference room on 2nd floor. We had noise from both the conference room (at 6 AM when they were setting up for a meeting) and from the service closet that was adjacent to our room. We extended our stay to an additional night and asked to be moved. We were given rooms that were also near service closets. We finally were given the option of a quieter room and took it. This was a Monday night with very few guests. The front desk had the chance to make us really happy with an upgrade (we had booked through AMEX and therefore qualified for a room upgrade) but they made no effort to understand what we were looking for. The hotel has a great location and is well-appointed, but it is not the class of service that I've experienced at The Peninsula in Beverly Hills, nor the Beverly Hills Hotel. This is a 3 star hotel in a great location. The restaurant staff was also very average; wanting to hasten every tables' food order, it seemed, so the waitress could be done with it. There is no "glue" at this hotel. They need a General Manager walking around, speaking to guests, and giving the place some heart and soul to make it memorable.

Room Tip: We ordered breakfast in the restaurant and the coffee was cold. Toast was also cold when it arrived...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Front Office Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your repeat business to our hotel. It is great to know that you consider our property as your premier destination and you expect outstanding service when you stay in Del Mar. We aim to keep our guests happy with extraordinary service, quiet rooms and a location that is second to none. I am very sorry to hear that you were placed in a room that was located close to where a meeting was taking place. We do our best to ensure that our guests are placed in quiet rooms, especially when there are events taking place in the various conference and ballrooms we have in our hotel. I’m also sorry you were not able to be upgraded when you checked in. Our hotel is a popular destination during the week and unfortunately many times those premier rooms with a view of the ocean are booked in advance and we may not be able to upgrade guests due to availability. I appreciate you taking the time to allow us to continue to earn your business and we will look closely at the opportunities you have presented to us. We will use your review to assist us in our ongoing training of our associates. Thank you again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to our home by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was one ofthe best vacations I've ever done.

The hotel is beautifull, great staff and great rooms, really good food, and the properties are excellent.

Del Mar is a really nice place to relax, walk on the beach, play with my kid on the parks and gardens!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAubergeDelMar, Manager at L'Auberge Del Mar, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your family vacation here at L'Auberge Del Mar. The boutique city of Del Mar is a great place for kids to be adventurous at Seagrove park, the many gardens, and of course, the beach! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel was excellent and the staff was very helpful. I would stay here again. I like smaller hotels and the location near the beach was excellent. We did have a wedding reception outside of our room which was somewhat of a bummer. If you are looking for a quiet weekend, you might ask about weddings receptions for the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a great place, close to the sea - although not as close as they try to make it appear through their pictures. Staff is friendly and service minded. Food is pretty good too. However, one thing to keep in mind is what room you are given - I was in 202, which is in a corner, next to a service door, just above a restaurant - and facing away from the sea (basically it has no view at all). While I was there, plenty of noise from both the service door and the restaurant, with employess handling glass bottles (crushing) at 4:30am... I was very tired from a lot of work and could therefore live with it, however, if I had been there for pleasure and relaxing, the story would have been completely different. So, be a little careful in terms of what room you are given.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The L'Augerge is a five star hotel on the water with small cozy feel. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The inner rooms have a view of the pool and the ocean with a lovely balcony. Great outdoor bar and fireplace to watch the sunset. Romantic place to spend with someone special.

The beds are comfortable and the room is quiet for great sleep. Lovely marble bathroom with glass showers and elegant ocean feel. They have an excellent wine selection and white glove service. The one downside is the gym. It's small and has no windows in the basement of the hotel.

The hotel is walking distance to shops and great restaurants in town and very close to Torrey Pines if you are a golfer. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.