We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered by the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Del Mar

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge Del Mar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pampered by the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The L'Auberge is a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing weekend by the beach in Del Mar. We had a ground floor room with a large patio, where we enjoyed our evening meal of cheese tray, and seafood salad, both were amazing. Room service was fast and courteous, as was all the service. The staff is really helpful and friendly. It was quiet even though we faced the pool. The hotel is beautiful and there are plenty if comfy places to lounge, pool side, outdoor bar complete with fire pit. The ocean is right there to view, reminding you that you are on vacation. We took long walks on the beach every morning before breakfast. The food is outstanding, try the Meyer lemon pancakes, and the corned beef hash is mind blowing. We had massage at the spa, delightful, and enjoyed the steam room too. After that ,a stroll around Del Mar shopping. You don't need a car, everything is right there in walking distance. It is expensive though, but you do get what you pay for, and it is nice being able to walk to the beach. I 100% recommend this place, unless you are on a budget. Then you might try hotel Indigo down the street. We drove by, and it looks pretty nice from the outside, and is also on the beach. Has low prices too. But l'Auberge is the gold standard! Loved it! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We faced the pool on the ground floor, but it was not noisy. We had a peek ocean view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    113
    46
    29
    24
See reviews for
76
169
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went with a wedding group and stayed here despite the wedding being at another, grander resort hotel..because this hotel is closer to the beach, closer to restaurants and shopping. I enjoyed the hotel restaurants(great oysters) and the spa is nice but expensive. Just a few steps away seems to be Del Mar's main street with plenty of shops and restaurants. Cyclists everywhere. At night, the hotel has a very happening lobby and pool bar scene and is close to a couple of crowded bars. Sometimes just sitting in the lobby was fun people watching as there are a lot of weddings that take place in the hotel. So if you're looking for a more active vacation in Del Mar, I would highly suggest this hotel. Couple negatives. I found the decor to be a bit blah but I'm not a fan of wood and nautical theme. The room smelled a little...oceany. But the hotel and surrounding area was exciting enough for friends from the wedding resort to trek over and hang out. No free anything offered in the lobby or rooms. But several coffee shops and restaurants are across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Calif
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel is lovely and has upscale attractive features and great views. They serve tasty treats at the front desk about mid-day. Go by if you in the area. The spa is nice. The immediate area is charming and walkable with nice restaurants and cute shops. The best attraction is the beach and grassy park above the beach. You are close enough to go to San Diego, Seaworld, Legoland, The Zoo and Safari Park. The down sides are the proximity to the train tracks and the fact that they schedule weddings and other events in the public areas (beside the pool and in the lobby) which makes it awkward for the hotel guests. All in all I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room away from the train with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. The service was friendly and efficient. The room was pleasant and nicely decorated.
The structure seems somewhat dated and could use a facelift. The only elevator, for example, is less attractive than a typical freight elevator. Overall, however, it is a fun place and worth a stay.


Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

You don't often spend a full day in a hotel conference room with a view. The rest of the hotel accommodations are just fine for what this is, a well maintained, "classic" property". I stopped by the front desk roughly twice a day with different requests. Other than sometimes having to wait for someone to emerge from the office, my experiences with a number of these staff was fine. The rooms are comfortable. My bathroom was definitely above par. Getting to them is a bit of a rat's maze. I found it challenging the first time, though not thereafter; I did encounter a few people who had stayed a day or more roaming the halls in a bit of a daze. Also, those of us still foolish enough to travels Windows laptops complained of WiFi signal strength. Apples worked just fine everywhere in the facility.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, assure you get a room away from the pool and from the ocean side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

To my daughter and I - the best part of our stay was the friendly and very accommodating valet service. Really fun guys!

We stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of September, so the weather was wonderful, but a little less crowded then usual - I think.

Cons: the service at the front desk was not very friendly. For some reason, I had a number of questions to ask (about pretty petty issues). I was not rude, in fact I may have been overly "nice". I was still given a bit of an attitude, as if I was inconveniencing them! I did enjoy the little cupcakes, though - nice touch.

Rooms were a little on the small size, but ours did have a balcony, which we enjoyed!

Pros: The hotel is beautiful with an inviting open-air lobby and comfortable furniture. I really enjoyed the different "locations" around the hotel where you could sit, have a drink and visit. This includes the small pool area, the bar outside the pool with a firepit, the wood terrace (off the lobby), the lobby area as well as the lobby lounge.

Unfortunately, we paid rack rate for our visit and I do not feel the value matched the rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room and the surrounds were very nice but as other reviewers have noted when they have any large parties / wedding there is no consideration for the hotel guests and the noise level is unaccaptable felt like I was staying in a luxury frat house.
a commuter train going by every couple hours adjacent to the hotel didnt help either

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Del Mar

Address: 1540 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Auberge Del Mar 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Del Mar offers all you need to create those perfect moments...a private path to the beach, poolside cabanas, a spa to relax in, award winning dining – and that’s just on the grounds. You can meander to the shops in Del Mar, golf by the sea, watch the horse races and simply enjoy all that Southern California has to offer. We can’t wait to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your L'Auberge Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
l Auberge Hotel Del Mar
Lauberge Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.