We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute beachy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Del Mar Motel on the Beach to your Saves list
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cute beachy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Cute beachy hotel. Right on the water, with chase lounges protected by a glass wall. No blowing sand. Front desk person was friendly and helpful. Rooms very spacious, love the new floor in our room! I would recommend this place and will return often!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience you had with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, our beachy rooms and our out-door, patio and lounge areas. We are also pleased to hear
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    14
    17
    13
See reviews for
38
42
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We booked the Del Mar Motel based on my sister's recommendation, who is a local. We were not disappointed! It is what it is - a beach motel. The location is perfect and the restaurants near by and next door are very good. We took advantage of having a barbecue at sunset and their facilities were perfect. It was also nice to borrow beach towels and chairs available at the front desk.They have remodeled their rooms and were very pleasant. Being an owner of a motel myself, I have only one comment. Your housekeeping staff should wipe the top of the wainscoting in the bathroom and behind the bathroom door but otherwise clean and comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience you had with us and for the 5 star review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, location and our hotel in general.

In regards to your feedback regarding the one housekeeping area, we have since addressed this matter with our housekeeping team and have stepped up with their game.

Again, we appreciate your review and feedback. See you on your next visit to Del Mar.

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The best part of this hotel is LOCATION right off the Del Mar Beach, but good things do not end there. Walking distance to the main street (camino ) to get ice cream, Starbucks coffee, restaurants or our favorite place called Seagrove Park to see the sunset.
Also located right next to the life guard HQ building, so when we were at the beach, this hotel was located between two flags of "no game/no surf" area marked by life guards so that we were able to lay down or swim w/o interruption. ( but if u want to do badminton, soccer , or surf , it us still close enough to go from the hotel).

Most of all, the front desk people were very friendly, and we could borrow ( for free) beach towels, parasol, n beach chairs until sun set, perfect for someone like us who came to California from East coast without beach gears.

Do not rent the room online, however. We talked on the phone and made our reservation so that we will get the room with the ocean view.

One drawback for someone can be ( certainly not for us) the small shower room ( but very clean) and no elevator to the second floor which did not bother us at all . And that traded off with the comfy cushioned chairs, tables, & bbq facilities.

We went to Ralph's grocery store and stored the food in the fridge in the room. There are very nice and pricy restaurants called Poseidon and Jakes next door for fine dining.

I did not want to share this info , and keep our discovery secret , but oh well, this is a must-stay-hotel in san diego.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words and the 5 star rating. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to Del Mar..

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nice older style property on the Beach. Clean , good to see an older place that has been keep up and location on the beach is sweet. Would definitely stay again. Rooms Closer to ocean are nicer in terms of noise. Walking to Del Mar center is easy in car crazy Cali.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

When I reached Del Mar, I felt like I was on some exotic island. THe accomodations were great and the catered food was delicious. I could not believe how well accomodated the guest rooms were, TV in bathroom and balcony! WHat more could anyone want!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
international
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

San Diego is an expensive place to vacation and Del Mar is pricier than most areas. If you can't afford a 4 or 5 star hotel, you really want to be on the beach, and/or you have a pet, this is a real winner. My husband and I are locals and have stayed here in a pinch when we had our house fumigated, and yesterday night when we were evacuated due to a fire. We called in a panic, with our treasured belongings and 3 cats in tow, and Carmelo the receptionist made us feel right at home. We even got early check in, and a great rate. True, the beds are not the comfiest, but where else can you be right on the beach in Del Mar for $109? Some of the rooms are ajoining so you can have the kids next door. Jakes and Poseidon are right next door and these are 2 of the best restaurants around. There is a nice patio area with a BBQ and deck chairs for watching the sunset. If you are on a budget, this is the best deal around, period but if you are expecting a 5 star hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Address: 1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Mar Motel on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.