We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Del Mar Motel on the Beach to your Saves list
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    14
    19
    13
See reviews for
39
45
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lander, WY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We choose to stay here so we would be steps from the beach. The rooms are cute and clean and bigger than chain hotels. Décor is nice and airy. It was nice to get a break from the chain hotel ambiance, or lack thereof. The rooms don't actually face the beach so I would advise not to pay the extra money to get a 'beach side' room because that's a misnomer. Either side of the hotel faces a parking lot and neither actually has a view. The beach is nice, location is good, staff friendly and best of all they had boogie boards for the kids to use, plus towels for the beach. There is a nice area to sit and sip wine, have dinner and barbeque that does have a beach view. Overall I would stay here again in a minute. A couple of nice restaurants are just next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is RIGHT on the beach. The room was average, had a refrigerator, bed and shower. The best amenity is the location. I walked to Starbucks about a half mile for coffee every morning. Watching the waves and surfers was fun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I felt that this should show up in the "excellent" category.
The truth is if you are considering this motel RUN, Run as fast as you can to another hotel/motelWe are experienced travellers. The photos of the rooms must be from another part of the motel. Certainly not the normal room. Arrived at 12:30pm to learn that the office was closed until sometime around 2:30pm. Closed, you are kidding me! A walk around the outside hallway allowed a view of the first floor. The rooms furniture look like it was from the early '50, at best. Small, dated and actually not up to expected standards. Called booking agent and requested a refund of prepaid rental. Sorry folks, buyer beware, just because the place appeared to be "A Dump" is not reason to expect a return of rental.

Room Tip: Run away to any other establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
274 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What an wonderful surprise to return to this hotel on the beach. The second floor ocean view was not what I had 4 years ago. This spacious room replete with a electric fireplace, refrigerator that worked great, a coffee maker and a jet tub (did not work). The room was clean the location perfect and it was quiet, very. The staff upon arrival could not have been kinder, the housekeeping was upscale meaning not one area was left unturned. The bed felt new and firm, a king.
The bathroom was spacious not like the one before that omitted a soap dish, ;) The parking was ample and free along with internet if interested and did not need miss a pool nor a restaurant. The patio was perfect for on the beach lunch, dinner or just BEing.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms on second floor facing the ocean, though the other rooms are still ample to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern cal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Clean and right on the beach which makes it 4 star in my book. We are returning in April. We had wonderful weather in December...hoping for the same in April. Nice barbecue area and deck to watch the sunset...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We found you folks quite by accident, thankfully so!!! Your location is absolutely the best, the rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We came in mid week so there was tons of room in the parking lot.
Pillows were a bit thin, the bed could have been a bit more comfortable but all in all a great stay.
Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience you had with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and our great location.
You will be glad to learn that we have ordered new pillows and bedding, thank you for the feedback.
We look forward to your next visit at the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Address: 1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Mar Motel on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.