We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Del Mar Motel on the Beach to your Saves list
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Yuma, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We found you folks quite by accident, thankfully so!!! Your location is absolutely the best, the rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. We came in mid week so there was tons of room in the parking lot.
Pillows were a bit thin, the bed could have been a bit more comfortable but all in all a great stay.
Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience you had with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff and our great location.
You will be glad to learn that we have ordered new pillows and bedding, thank you for the feedback.
We look forward to your next visit at the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    12
    17
    13
See reviews for
33
37
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good place to stay. We chose it for location on the ocean, and it was perfect. Clean, if a little dated rooms, funny lights going on and off, but enough space and clean bathroom with good shower. I'd recommend a stay here. Nice friendly checkin. simple and easy stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are fortunate to have an amazing location right on the Beach.
We are very excited that we are currently in the process of upgrading many of our and will be upgrading the remainder in the fall.
Again, thank you for your review and feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My family stayed at in Del Mar last weekend. The timing was great as the beach was not crowded and the water was still reasonably warm. There were several other young families staying at the hotel making it more enjoyable for the kids as they were able to make new friends.

The property is literally on the beach and right next door to the Del Mar Lifeguard HQ. We have 3 young children and we were treated well by the staff and the Del Mar life guards. The hotel was able to furnish boogie boards, beach chairs and beach toys that they had accumulated over the summer. This added to our experience.

If someone wants 5-star, this is not the place. If they want a great location and good value for their $ in a simple room then I recommend the Del Mar Motel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and extremely kind words. This means so much to us and we really appreciate it. We were very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to see you again very soon on your next visit to Del Mar.

Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can't get any closer to the beach than being a nice motel that is sitting on the sand - and also has lovely patios, and balcony areas for you to sit or lounge and watch and listen to the ocean.
I loved it. Del Mar Motel is not fancy by any means. But servicable. Small TV - bed was fine, I always bring my own pillow. Bathroom is tiny - and toilets could be updated, but worked. It was a clean place to stay. And I will go back. (there is no fitness room that I know of there)

Room Tip: The WEST side I think is the best. I like being on the second floor. You can peek at the ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at Del Mar Motel on the Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, our beachy rooms and our out-door, patio and lounge areas. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new castle, in
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We are from the midwest and have visited family in So. Cal. many times. We have stayed in several areas. Before our departure for our current trip we found out our favorite beach hotel in Malibu was no longer available. Very disappointing to say the least. After searching for a location on or near the beach we took the leap of faith and booked Del Mar Motel even after reading several not so good reviews.
That choice has proved to be one of our better ones. First of all the office staff and all employees are very friendly and helpful. The wi-fi is strong and fast. The TV is old but over 60 channels. The air /heating unit appears to be brand new and works fine. Also, the micro-wave and fridge that was a source of complaints also new. That God awful train that is a problem for some is barely noticeable . We are in the middle of a 4 night stay and are in love with this place. We think it is a great value for the price. As far as being "rundown" can you say quaint? This is the escence of the charm that Southern Ca. once had.
The location speaks for itself with restaurants and shops a 10 minute walk. If you want to eat in, a major super market for supplies is a few minutes drive. The traffic that this area is famous for is very light in comparison here.
If you are looking for the Ca. beach experience in a relaxing atmosphere at a very reasonable price we give Del Mar Motel and the area an A+.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We certainly are fortunate to have an amazing location with incredible team members. It is refreshing to hear how we exceeded your expectations and did not miss a detail during the stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a reunion there this past weekend and we used to go there every year for it but took a few years off until this year. We have to say, we were very disappointed with the service. We had booked several rooms and in one of the rooms we had called back and asked for it to just be one night but come to find out after we got there, they were going to charge us for two nights even though we weren't going to use the extra room even though we called ahead of time. Then they had the nerve to actually rent out that room that same night so they made double the money on it?! WOW... And then they told our group that since the parking lot was full that we could park next door in their parking lot. But that wasn't really true either as all of our vehicles that did park over there received parking tickets and the hotel would do nothing about that either.. Then the last part was that we have always asked for late check out there for one room and then we all move all our stuff to that one room so that we can enjoy the beach for the start of the day but they said that they do not even allow that any longer so we asked to see if we could at least set our ices chests out on the big patio for the day since they were kicking us out of the rooms and they wouldn't even allow that. The ONLY thing nice about this hotel is the fact that it is right on the beach.. Other than that, the rooms are not the best, and the service is horrible. After all of our times to this hotel in the past and the number of rooms that we rent out, I will now personally never bring our family reunions back to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts regarding your stay with us in Sept. 2013. As General Manager, I need to know when our services or products do not meet our guests’ expectations.
In regards to a few of the items you mentioned, a) parking- we do inform our guests at time of making the reservation that we have limited complimentary parking. However, we did proved complimentary Valet service during the weekend of your visit, so I am not sure why you were directed to park in the adjunct lot; b) we occasionally can offer a late checkout, however, this particular weekend we were not able to accommodate your request due to our high occupancy.
Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.
Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just returned from a one night stay here with our four teenaged children. It was such a great weekend! The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom looks to have been recently remodeled nicely, although it did need a make mirror or more lightening around the big mirror. It didn't matter that we didn't have an ocean view as the beach is literally at your door. So nice not to have to park and drag all your stuff to the beach. They have a very nice patio area with chairs facing the beach and another one alongside the motel with picnic tables and barbecues. Definitely worth the money. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the experience you had with us at Del Mar Motel on the Beach. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great location, and our out-door, patio and lounge areas. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Address: 1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Mar Motel on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.