We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Del Mar Motel on the Beach to your Saves list
Del Mar Motel on the Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I couldn't believe the amazing price we paid for a hotel on the beach in the height of summer! There are no frills about this place, but who needs them when I can walk out my door right to the sand. Poseidon restaurant and Jakes are right next door for great meals and you're a short walk away from downtown Del Mar.
The rooms were quiet, which I was a little worried about with the train so close, but I couldn't hear a thing! Air conditioning and a comfy king size bed = slept like an angel.
This was a great find for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    12
    17
    13
See reviews for
33
37
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location was great. But, the motel could be so much more. Coffee maker in the room. But no continental breakfast. And, parking in Del Mar is impossible. So, bring groceries, or plan to eat out 3 meals a day. There was construction going on 10 feet from our room door so, 8am the equipment and workers started. There is no Ocean view from the room . The photo's posted are from the front patio. There is a TV but no cable. So, bring a book. Pray for good weather and sunshine. My friend is from Arizona so she did not mind June gloom and 60 degree, Book your trip for later in the summer to be assured of sunshine so you can enjoy the beach. The desk clerk should have told us there was construction going on when we booked the room. The room was just okay, dark.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter. Upstairs rooms may be sunnier. Bring a cooler with breakfast fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a no frills room on the beach then this is the best place to stay in Del Mar. The rooms are nothing fancy, but the location is the best. Free valet parking. Just park your car for the weekend and walk to the beach, shops and restaurants!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's a 70's-era motel, in decent shape - but it's the location that justifies the price here - right on the beach, in the heart of fabulous Del Mar.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach end are more expensive - but if you love the sound of the ocean, might be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the motel because our usual hotel in La Jolla was undergoing construction. My husband and I went to Del Mar for a long weekend to celebrate our one year anniversary. We arrived at the motel and were happy to see that there was plenty of parking. The location was absolutely perfect since you are right on the beach and very close to Del Mar restaurants and shops. The room was fine for our taste as we are not picky. The bathroom was pretty small but neither of us spent a long time getting ready so it was not an issue. If you have more than 2 people, it might be cramped. We loved having an AC unit in the room but it was very loud. There was also construction right outside our room which caused a lot of noise in the morning and afternoon. The train does run by the hotel too and the first time I remember hearing it in the morning was 7am. We noticed that at night parking does become an issue. One night when we got back from dinner we got the very last parking spot at it was only 7:30pm.

My biggest complaint about it here was the smoking area is located on the sundeck where all the chairs are right in front of the ocean. It was the perfect spot to curl up with a book and not getting sandy or worry about wind but it was often interrupted by groups of smokers.

We had a great trip and I would stay here again but only if the hotel we like in La Jolla had no openings. You definitely pay for the location which is worth it but just depends on what you value most. I would rather have a nicer, quiet room and drive to Del Mar than pay to be located on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here for the sound of the ocean and views of dolphins and surfers. The hotel is near dog beach so happy dogs walk by all day. We were there on a very foggy day and it was still a great place to watch the waves and people playing on the beach. We parked the car and had no use for it all weekend, parks, good restaurants, both waterfront and in town, are a short walk away. The room itself is very simple. This is a motel not a resort. If you want luxury go somewhere else. We went all out and took the oceanfront room which was worth the price. There is a walled in porch where all guests can watch the beach without the wind and guests were enjoying bbq, and meals al fresco drinks and just relaxing. It has a very relaxed happy feel to it.

Room Tip: The two top floor beachfront rooms have views from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green valley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family really enjoys staying at the Del Mar Motel mostly because it is right on the beach. You can get up early and go walking along the ocean. You can listen to the waves at night lull you to sleep. The rooms are very adequate. Nice having a frig and micro, especially for longer stays. It is close to restaurants and offers parking. Never missed a sunset from the deck.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Del Mar Motel on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Address: 1702 Coast Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Del Mar Motel on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is our quaint boutique hotel located on the beautiful beach of Del Mar. With views so spectacular you’ll never want to leave.Relax and enjoy the soothing sounds of the Pacific Ocean from one of our 43-newly renovated guestrooms. Relish the breathtaking views from our newly enhanced beachfront sun deck, picnic & barbeque areas, where the rolling waves beckon you to the white sandy beach of Del Mar. Create unforgettable moments with a walk along the beach at sunset or an early morning jog with the waves at your feet.There’s nothing like the sound of the ocean to lull you to sleep, and there’s no better way to escape life’s challenges than a retreat to the Del Mar Motel on the Beach.Our Friendly Staff is Ready to Assist You! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Del Mar Motel on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Motel On The Beach Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Del Mar Motel on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.