We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Ponte Vecchio

Trattoria Ponte Vecchio
2334 Carmel Valley Rd, Ste A, Del Mar, CA 92014-3754
858-259-9063
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 81 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very close to Del Mar / Torrey pines beach. Nice cozy place.. Waiter was really nice and took all our suggestions gracefully.. We ordered tomato soup , pasta and ended with the Cannoli. Everything was good and would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our dining experience was second to none! Excellent flavors, traditional dishes, and very precisely prepared and presented. Yummy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A nice little bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We read good reviews and tried it. It looked like something one would find in Italy - cozy, warm and comfortable. Service was OK (our waiter was a little stiff), but the food delivered. The pasta was very good and everything we tasted, we really enjoyed. We will return for sure.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, TX
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Annual Visit to Trattoria Ponte Vecchio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We come to San Diego the same week in September almost every year and we always have dinner at Trattoria Ponte Vecchio. We discovered it some years ago on Restaurant.com. Alas, they no longer have to get customers that way so no discount. The atmosphere and service are always good. I always order exactly the same thing. I start with the gorgonzola/pear salad. But my favorite thing is the pumpkin ravioli with butter sage sauce. I have never seen this anywhere else and not sure whether it is a seasonal dish but it is wonderful. Very flavorful and light.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“getaway from torrey pines lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A quick 3.5 mile drive from the lodge that did not involve driving into Del Mar or La Jolla brings you to a quaint restaurant that serves very solid food..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Ponte Vecchio also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Ponte Vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.