We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Mexican Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Agave
1555 Camino del Mar, Suite 322, Del Mar, CA 92014
(858) 793-0758
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Agave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Del Mar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Food was very good. I had filet mignon stuffed with goat cheese and my husband had filet medallions in a brown mushroom tequila sauce. Both of us LOVED our entrees. We would of liked better service from our waiter. However, the other service people made up for the fact our waiter could never be found. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We came here for lunch on Father's Day. The food was truly mediocre. The 3 sauces presented with the chips were bland and boring. The chicken mole enchilada was unremarkable. I had the Passion margarita ($12!) and the house margarita, and liked the house better. I had high expectations for a $12 margarita, but was disappointed. The service was good. THE big draw of this restaurant is truly the location, with its beautiful ocean view. If you're looking for good Mexican food on the coast, I'd recommend En Fuego, just south down the street, or El Calleon, up in Encinitas. Maybe if you're just dying to enjoy the view, then come to the bar and order a house margarita. Then go somewhere else to eat. This location has seen the turnover of many a restaurant in the last ten years. Will be interesting to see if El Agave makes it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Happy hour on the Plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

El Agave, the well known restaurant in Old Town, recently opened a new eatery in Del Mar at the Plaza. I have been to happy hour there twice, and it is a great deal. The lobster burritos are excellent as are all the happy hour choices. I had Mexican draft beer for three dollars. The view overlooking the coast are wonderful. Happy hour is 4-6 Monday through Friday.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Del Mar Restaurant SUCKS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

What a shame - expensive location, fantastic opportunity, horrible service at lunch and even worse at dinner! I have eaten at the downtown location and loved it - but the Del Mar location is a total disaster!!! The poor owner is looking down the barrel of financial ruin. What a shame to waste a great opportunity! The hostesses are totally incompetent with no sense of service or the business, the waiters are sweat hogs from the chaos and incompetence of the manager - who is clueless. Come on - Del Mar wants a high end mexican Resteaunt - but Taco Bell is looking muy BUENO compared to this disaster!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.