We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great American Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Restaurant

Americana Restaurant
1454 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2510
858-794-6838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Americana Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 81 Restaurants in Del Mar
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th St.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great American Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The cafe was walking distance from our hotel. Service was fine. Food was very good. Portions were huge; consider sharing. We filled up on a traditional breakfast then headed down the hill to the beach to walk off the calories!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fresh and Tasty! Good size portions for the $. Friendly servers. Pleasant outdoor and side walk seating. Fun for people watching. Plenty of umbrellas to shade the sun. Dog friendly. I was able to substitute the bagel for gluten free bread with my "Bagel and Lox".

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Could be 4 star with real service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Fine food and ambience but service is so uneven...
Had to beg for coffee several times. Manager was not very friendly and staff were too busy chatting to make me want to come back...

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Family style restaurant in ritzy area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went here for Valentines Day. Was not what we expected. The service was very good and most of the food was good and cooked very well. Only two things were not as I would have preferred. My steak ordered medium rare was in fact medium rare, but only half. The only half was medium+. I also ordered a spicy bloody mary. It was very weak and not spicy at all. Overall it was a decent dinner, but not a good place for Valentines day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great Saturday breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just a short wait on a Saturday, the menu had a lot of variety of standard breakfast items, but also unusual offerings. I had multi-grain pancakes with coconut, whip cream, and caramelized pineapple on top. The waiters move efficiently around all of the tables crowded in. There is a lot of seating outside as well.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Americana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.