We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Restaurant

Americana Restaurant
1454 Camino Del Mar, Del Mar, CA 92014-2510
858-794-6838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Americana Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 82 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th St.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We sat outside as it was cool, but sunny and were well attended to. fantastic menu here great coffee and tea, with regular refills. Tasty poached eggs and great pancakes! This is the place. Friendly, not over cooked service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    56
    23
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I tried this place for the first time a couple of weeks ago. Even though I live close by and have heard about this restaurant, I had never been here. What a great experience! We were seated outside and it was a bit chilly, so our server turned on the heat lamp for us. We wanted iced tea but they were out of iced tea. However, our server (Patrick) brewed some iced tea for us. I had the Americana omelette, my husband had a burger and we had coffee and muffins afterwards. The food was great! Patrick was very attentive and accommodating! We were very impressed by the service and food. And the location was beautiful! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were staying in Del Mar for a few days and had breakfast here twice. My daughter loved her chocolate chip waffles and I Casey's Call-poached eggs with spinach, goat cheese, potatoes and toast. It was so good!
The waitstaff is very friendly and prompt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corcoran, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Taste of the Good Life on the California Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Heading for the California coast from Rancho Santa Fe, we arrived at Del Mar just before lunch time. We walked around the center of the business district, looking for an inviting restaurant and spotted the Americana Restaurant right on the main street, Camino Del Mar.
We chose an outside table on the sidewalk where we could enjoy the local comings and goings, ordered a luncheon salad of mixed greens with grilled Salmon, cooked to perfection and big enough for the two of us to share. Menu is diverse; unusual salad ingredients, rack of lamb, crab cakes, lamb chops, grilled vegetables, and wide selection of coffees, teas, beers, wine, and specialty cocktails. Chef Randy Gruber and Manager Stephanie Williams provide an interesting menu, good food well prepared and served, and a inviting atmosphere for dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great beach day for people & dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We meet some friends at the Del Mar Doggie Beach and then headed over to the Americana for breakfast. Great place to take the puppy! The staff is very nice and the breakfasts are great! Just such a pleasant way to spend a Sunday morning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Americana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Americana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.