We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch

Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch
1670 Coast Blvd, Del Mar, CA 92014
+1 858-755-9345
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 82 Restaurants in Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Description: The Poseidon Restaurant in Del Mar embodies the Southern California lifestyle, blending the ambiance of the beach scene with a relaxed and informal dining atmosphere.
Vista, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dine on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place has been around for quite a while so there are locals mixed in with the tourist crowd. Very open with every seat having a view of the ocean. If you want to just catch a few cocktails, the bar has a view also. Food is good - standard menu, something for everyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    136
    44
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Recently enjoyed dinner at the Poseidon.. Food and service very good and we had a great table outside 'on the beach'
This place gets really busy- reservations are a must and the valet parking area gets full early on.
Although- judging by previous reviews - the standard of food and service is not consistent we look forward to eating here again on our next trip as the beachside seating is wonderful.

Try the cocktails and book a table outside

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beach view in Del Mar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The setting for this restaurant is beautiful. It is right on the beach in Del Mar. We were there for a light meal in the afternoon. The place was packed with many people eating and drinking. The food was slightly above average as was the service. I think this restaurant is depending upon the atmosphere and the location. We had wine, the brie appetizer, Caesar salad, and the sliders. The food was alright but with no extra effort shown in the presentation or in the quality. The server was alright in the beginning but we asked him for several things, he promised he would bring them, but they never showed up. Again, this is one of those places with a gorgeous view and setting that does not have service or food to match.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“DON'T ORDER CIOPPINO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Luckily our happy hour bar food was good because our main course was horrible and TINY for $31. My husband and I both craving a nice spicy fresh seafood stew but it tasted like tomato sauce out of a can. Go for the view but that's it. Oh, and we had reservations and were told we would be called at 5 (we were in bar at 4) and finally at 5:20 my husband had to go up and ask about table and very nonchalantly the young, inexperienced and obviously uncaring hostess, said "oh ok I can seat you now".

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, bad service & mediocre food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

First off, there's no parking. We were there on a week night and even their valet was full. We had a reservation for 8pm. We got sat at 8:30. The beach and location is beautiful. It would be hard not to love Del Mar area beach. Our server was slow, and I'm quite confident she didn't care about anything. It took an eternity to get our food. Then when we got it, it was incredibly uninteresting. Imagine drinking an entire vat of lukewarm water. That kind of describes the food. The shrimp, crap meat, salmon, and side extras were lame, and doused in butter. A restaurant of this caliber baptizing their entrees in butter is a pretty cheap ploy to find favor with the guest. It was like barely warm tasteless food, oozing in butter. Our hotel recommended Jakes, next door to Posiedon, and we should have listened. If you want a patio drink, stop by, but I can't really recommend this place for much. If you need an outdoor, patio, sunset joint, just go to Georges, Eddie V, or pretty much anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch also viewed

 

Been to Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon Restaurant-On The Bch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.