We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious grounds, easy freeway access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego/Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014-1901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience the Track!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spacious grounds, easy freeway access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

This hotel is typical of "older" hotels with lovely, spacious grounds. There was a small patio off our room overlooking the jacuzzi, which is fine as long as there's no one in the jacuzzi. The terrace area off the lobby was wonderful, relaxing. The large, spacious bar and lobby were very nice. The rooms could use a freshening up, with more modern bedspreads, wall coverings. There was no "close-up" mirror in the bathroom, which would be a nice, added feature. All staff personnel were friendly and extremely helpful. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    179
    96
    43
    27
See reviews for
156
117
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

I was booked at this hotel for two nights because my cousin was getting married at the nearby racetrack. As previous posters have mentioned, yes, you should still drive to the racetrack despite it's close proximity. The fairgrounds are immense and it would still be quite a walk to go on foot. Nonetheless, our stay was peaceful and enjoyable. The bartender at the lounge in the lobby was very personable -of course, all of the guests headed there for afterparty drinks after the reception! The front desk was always friendly too. Our room was clean and quiet. Other posters have complained of their view, and we too did have a parking lot view. However, you can request a room poolside if that sort of thing concerns you and you will even get a small balcony in addition to a great view of the pool. I also took advantage of the private Club Lounge access by asking for it after I booked. Since the "Club Rooms" were all booked at that point they were able to give us access for only $15 extra/day. The Lounge features a complimentary hot breakfast buffet every morning and complimentary happy hour and hors d'oevres in the evenings. Totally worth it! (and included for HHonors Gold and Platinum members I believe). It is also true that there isn't much within walking distance so it's better when you have a car to stay here. Only a Denny's and some strip malls are in walking distance. That didn't concern me so much, as we had a rental.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This hotel was great for the price (very low on priceline for weekend) - clean, great lobby and leisure area, nice large pool, and the rooms are A+.

Downsides: TV only picked up network digital channels in HD - all other channels were analog and the other digital channels did not work. Not sure if this is the way it is or just my room, but only one night stay so I didn't bother calling front desk.

What REALLY NEEDS TO GO is the $14 charge for parking! I can understand when the Del Mar races or the Fair are going on, but during a non-descript weekend in october???? COME-ON HILTON....the parking lot was at best 10% full. Total ripoff and beware if you plan to go here - especially on priceline - the doubletree up the street is just as nice and doesn't charge for parking.

Unless they get rid of the parking charge I probably won't go here again...its a shame, but I am price sensitive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

When we arrived in Del Mar, my husband and I looked at each other and although we were scheduled to stay elsewhere, we knew we would not be disappointed in this hotel. We had stayed here for the past two years and felt comfortable returning. My husband made the reservation in person one week prior to check in and requested adjoining rooms for my children, ages 11 and 14. We checked in on a Sunday-knowing in advance that there was a soccer tournament staying on the property. For the past two years they have been at this hotel. As an outside guest, it seems that the families "take over" the pool and outdoor areas and make it difficult to "fit in"-however, they were checking out the next day. The front desk assured us that this would be the case and adjusted some of the bookings so that they could accommodate us.
The next week we checked in about two hours early-only one of our rooms was ready. This was fine with us, truthfully, we just expected them to hold our bags. We were able to settle into the one room and were given a food/beverage credit (to our surprise) for the room we had to wait for. The valet / bell / shuttle service will take you to the track or anywhere else within a certain radius of the property. They are efficient, pleasant, and friendly-even remembered us from years past. The bar/wait staff in the lounge is great, pool, lounge,etc. extremely comfortable.
Our rooms (facing the pool, not the highway) were clean, spacious, comfortable, and quiet. We would definitely recommend this hotel. Glad we are "creatures of habit" - we could've stayed elsewhere but the Hilton was a wonderful part of our 3 week vacation!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Doesn't look like a Hilton from the outside. Right next to the highway and backs up to Denny's and a gas station. The only positives- good staff in restaurant and good food, and a great pool.

The negatives- wierd experience with staff. Had to put my own bags in first shuttle. Second shuttle driver complained about his job and other guests the whole time. Room was not really clean with smudges on mirrors and last guests' items left in room. Balcony furniture was so filthy I had to clean it myself before I could even sit down. Lady in executive lounge at night was extraordinarily rude- maybe even evil. Watch for hidden charges on your bill. And don't expect any courtesy at all from the front desk staff- especially if you very presence interrupts their personal conversations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

While this Hilton is not your usual posh high rise Hilton, it is still a nice property at a great value in a nice little seaside town. The breakfast and evening reception in the diamond's member club was delicious. The pool area was enjoyable. The staff was helpful and attentive while maid service was spot on. We were very pleased with our stay. Not much is within walking distance but plenty within a short drive. Tip: utilize the hotel's shuttle service and have a meal either in room or restaurant. The chef prepared a delicious meal for us one evening when we didn't feel like venturing out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Arrived at the Del Mar Hilton after a long drive only to be told our room was not ready. Check in is supposed to be at 3:00 we arrived at 3:20 and the young man at the front desk only stated that they have until 4:00 to get our room ready. We returned at 4:20 room still not ready, and again not even an apology. In my opionion the front desk is the first impression of the service a hotel has to offer. Self parking costs $14.00 a day and valet is $16.00 a day. Not even a covered lot yet high parking fees. I chose to self park. The card key did not work on the gate so I had to go back to the front desk to get it fixed, again, no apology. Internet is $9.99 for a 24 hr period. Doesn't the Hilton realize we are in a recession, yet they are gouging their patrons and not even with a smile. I will say the rooms are spacious and clean.
Will I stay here again? probably not.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in one of our 257 vibrant, yet sophisticated guest rooms, while taking advantage of our 17,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile indoor meeting and banquet space, outdoor heated swimming pool, first-rate fitness center and world-class local farm-and-sea cuisine at our very own coastalKITCHEN restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.