We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Bad Business Support” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton San Diego/Del Mar to your Saves list
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014-1901   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“Good Hotel, Bad Business Support”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I enjoyed a spacious room on the quiet courtyard. I didn't enjoy the $18/day parking fee or the $10/day room internet fee. I needed to print a couple of hardcopies in the business center, but it was so non-functional, I finally had to email them to the desk clerk, who printed them out at the front desk.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, get a room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We love receiving feedback from our guests. It helps us improve our overall operation. In regards to parking, yes there is a daily charge. We keep consistent with the Del Mar area as parking is limited. For internet we do have a complimentary option that works just great for surfing the internet and checking emails. I apologize for the trouble with the printer in the business center. We have corrected the issue your experienced.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely, Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    184
    100
    43
    27
See reviews for
162
119
48
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Del Mar for a long weekend. The hotel staff was great. The rooms were nice size and very clean. If you are a Hilton Honors member they have a nice breakfast and snacks and discounted drinks in the eve with water and soda all day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Seawolf1963!

Thanks for the great review. I am thrilled your enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back in Del Mar again soon. Thank you for being a loyal Hilton Honors member.

Sincerely,

Justin Foster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Hilton in Del Mar was a great get-away. The hotel itself is up to Hilton's high standards--the room was large with all the amenities. The restaurant looked more like a bar area, but the dinner was excellent. Included breakfast buffet was more than adequate--we ate very well. Our package included in-room wireless, which made the stay very easy for keeping in touch. One of the best amenities was the free shuttle into town or attractions. We went out to a wonderful local restaurant (the consierge made the reservation for us) and were dropped orr and picked up by the shuttle, so we enjoyed a bottle of wine with dinner. Very nice indeed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Oldandwiser,

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. We enjoy the honest feedback and it helps us improve. Glad you ate well with us and in Del Mar. A lot of great food in the area. We look forward to you future return.

Sincerely,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Beautiful hotel with wonderful furnishings and a well trained staff. Rooms are very comfortable with luxurious beds and the luxury bedding to go with them. Rooms are clean and airy with blackout curtains for those who wanted to sleep late. Bathrooms are well stocked with fluffy towels and amenities. They are well-lit and have a fan to help with the humidity of the hot water - something I think all bathrooms should have. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with a wonderful assortment of fruits, meats, bacon and sausage and they will cook eggs to your liking if you prefer. The waitress who served us couldn't have been more helpful. Everyone we experienced of the staff from the bell man who helped us with our luggage (and stayed to supply another luggage rack, ice, and info about the hotel) to the front desk people are well trained and started our stay and ended it with smiles and welcome. I definitely will return and have nothing but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor followers. We are excited to learn how much you enjoyed your time with us and that our team took great care of you. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very clean and well appointed - we booked a club room on the third floor (facing the freeway but we all slept just fine). The hotel must have been recently renovated - everything looks and feels pretty new. I came with a friend and her 2 children. Despite having just one room, we weren't cramped for space at all. The breakfast in the Club lounge/room was better than expected. The outside spaces, from the firepits to the pool, were very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Avoid wing that faces freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin F, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for the great review and feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time especially our newly updated hotel. We are thrilled with the changes as well.

We hope to see you back in Del Mar again real soon.

Sincerely,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great hotel and great amenities. Too bad they charge $18 to park in a huge parking lot with no shortage of room for cars. Lot also not convenient to rooms.Kind of taints the overall experience. In general very nice but they should ditch the parking fee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. I am glad that the staff treated you well. Thank you for your feedback on the parking. Parking is very limited outside of the hotel and on many days there are limited amounts of spaces when we have large groups in the hotel.

We thank you for your business!

Best,


Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Oak, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The room was nice although a long walk from the lobby. There aren't a lot of elevators, but I don't mind using stairs so no big deal. There is a big pool/spa area in a central courtyard, very nice with good landscaping.

The hotel is very clean and well kept.

Bar service is expensive but service was good. Didn't go to the restaurant. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to nearby restaurants which was very handy. The Fish Market restaurant is in easy walking distance. So is a Denny's.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be nice and clean and that you had a nice stay with us. Yes, the hotel is spread out, but the good news is that you can drive around to your room location. It gives the hotel the opportunity to have a large internal pool and courtyard space which so many guests love!

We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Best,

Eric Paul I General Manager
HILTON SAN DIEGO / DEL MAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton San Diego/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego/Del Mar

Address: 15575 Jimmy Durante Blvd., Del Mar, CA 92014-1901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Del Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Del Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego/Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in one of our 257 vibrant, yet sophisticated guest rooms, while taking advantage of our 17,000 sq. Ft. Of versatile indoor meeting and banquet space, outdoor heated swimming pool, first-rate fitness center and world-class local farm-and-sea cuisine at our very own coastalKITCHEN restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton San Diego/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar Hotel Del Mar
Hilton Del Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton San Diego/Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.